We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
64
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs italian countryside bed and breakfast home cooked views bologna peace farmhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We loved this place. The room was lovely, the views were splendid and the meals were superb. We were there on a quest for family records, and Valeria was most helpful in guiding us through the local bureaucracy, We would certainly go back again, and would love to take our son.

Room tip: Garden room has beautiful views but the wifi is not so good there. I would choose the large upstairs room (which was offered to us).
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Fantastic place in the beautiful hills south of Bologna. Ideal to switch off completely from daily stress routine. Quiet and peaceful in any regard. It's obvoius that the building has been renovated with love to detail and passion to make it such a little treasure. The host, Valeria, is gorgeous, extremely friendly and very helpful. The renovated rooms in the rather historic, rural building are comfortable, very clean and equipped with new bath rooms. Don't expect a huge "mainstream" hotel breakfast buffet. Valeria serves some local specialties and fresh eggs from the chicken running completely free around in the vicinity of the building. We enjoyed the simple but good breakfast. We are sure we will go there again when we need to calm down from our daily routine.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaelsT6958OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valeria v, Proprietario at La Piana dei Castagni, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you so much.I wait you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Valeria's wonderful accommodation. Our room looked out over the most beautiful view and the garden. Fresh eggs for breakfast from the chickens that wander around the house freely. So peaceful and quiet here with the most attentive hostess. Valeria's English is very good and she recommended some great places to eat and visit. Loved watching the fire flys at night, a first time experience. Heard the deer calling to each other at night. Valeria has good knowledge of the local area and beyond and the history of the area especially how the area was effected during WW11. Would love to return some day.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 257barbarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

What everyone else says! A small house high up a mountain. Spectacular views, possibly the best I have ever seen. Just stunning. My husband and I spent two nights here and received a very warm welcome from Valeria who is a friendly, generous, knowledgeable and thoughtful host. Plentiful breakfasts to set us up for the day's adventures. A comfortable bed. Good water pressure in the shower. Excellent wi-fi connection (I know, but we had the house to ourselves and played Italian songs on the ipad and lay in bed in the mornings singing them and practised speaking Italian in our sunny bedroom, looking out at the unbelievable scenery. Also useful for checking our route, looking up restaurants, etc.). Valeria didn't cook in the evenings whilst we were there as she explained it was summer season and there are plenty of good restaurants close by. She was right about that, too. We had the best meal of our entire holiday at La Fogna, about 15 minutes drive down the mountain. Again, a warm welcome on a busy night from a very charming and funny host who spoke no more English than we speak Italian. La Piana dei Castagni is a small, rural B&B at the top of a mountain, chickens wander round and lay the eggs for your breakfast. It is a long drive but worthwhile through many delightful villages with friendly, locals. Delightful.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KittyH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

The view is sublime... as close to heaven on earth as you will find. Surrounded by nature and old world architecture and foods. This may be one of your all time favorite places to visit. It is for me. The service, perks, friendly owners, local farm fresh cuisine, specialty dishes, proximity to Bologna and Florence and a too cute countryside will leave a 5 kinds of warm feelings in your tummy for weeks after you are gone. Take lots of pictures so when you get home you can wax nostalgic! You may arrive as a non italian.... BUT when you leave you will be 1 of the Family!

Room tip: Book Early! Small place! It's absolutely divine! PERFECT PLACE for a honeymoon!!!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D3270LJrobertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria V, Proprietario at La Piana dei Castagni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

thanks Robert, for the wonderful review! is a great Christmas gift! You are one of the family and know that we hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews