We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid 19 Century house in French wine growing village”
Review of 15 Grand Rue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
15 Grand Rue
Ranked #1 of 1 Caux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Very nice period property situated in wine village of Caux. The house is tastefully decorated according to the period . The owners Simon and Mandy are excellent hosts and are at pains to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay. All in all a very restful repose for the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: especially recommended for those interested in wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Owner at 15 Grand Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you Thomas! We also had a fabulous time hosting you and exchanging stories! We hope to see you at 15 Grand Rue in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017

We spent last X'mas here for our family runaway trip. 15 Grand Rue is definitely a gem in Caux! A beautiful mansion, tastefully decorated with warm and friendly hosts. What else one can ask for?!

Haven't seen enough of Languedoc. Definitely will come back again!

Room Tip: Just let the hosts know what you need, they will try their best to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titaniang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Owner at 15 Grand Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you! WE had such a pleasure being your host and are super glad you had a great stay in Caux, being yuour first visit to the Languedoc! We hope to see you again here at 15 Grand Rue in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We had a wonderful short break at 15 Grand Rue. Caux is a very pretty village and the property is incredibly comfortable with beautifully decoration and furnishing. The icing on the cake is a lovely courtyard garden.

The owners' hospitality was superb and we will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Owner at 15 Grand Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We are very happy that you have had a good time staying with us, so did we! We hope to see you again soon and share more lovely time here with you at 15 Grand Rue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at 15 Grand Rue in the small village of Caux, in the Languedoc region, just 30 mins drive from the Mediterranean.
We were absolutely delighted with what we found at this charming chambres d'hotes, the minute you walk through the door into the courtyard, you know this is going to be a very special place. The house has many period features throughout and is a grand and imposing building. It has been decorated with beautiful french antiques, artwork and attention to detail throughout.

Our guest room (no 4) was very comfortable, spacious and filled with light from the floor to ceiling window, the balcony was a perfect place to sit, sip a glass of local wine and take in the beautiful surroundings, peace and quiet and the Languedocian blue skies.
The antique bed, original window and shutters, ornate corniced ceilings, antique furniture, original tiled floors, oriental rugs, wonderful artwork all add to the imposing grandeur of the place and are tastefully and beautifully presented in a package which mixes historical features with quality modern touches.

Simon and Mandy welcomed us with enthusiasm and immediately we could tell that this was more than just a nice guest house. Their personalities and friendliness make this place even more special, from the early evening aperitifs in the charming courtyard, helpful tips on wines and information on local vineyards, to their excellent breakfasts, - slightly different every day and with the addition of Mandy's freshly made cake or pastries.

Although we could wax lyrical for ages about how much we loved the building and ambience, it is truly down to the owners, Simon and Mandy, that makes the stay truly special. Their devotion and love for the property and for the business they are running is evident in the way they interact with guests to make them feel welcome. We felt more like we were staying with good friends than as guests. They were enthusiastic and knowledgable about the local area, and helped us plan excursions and with sight seeing in the local area (also assisting with restaurant bookings). To say that they were excellent hosts is an understatement. They were truly outstanding and made our stay one of the most memorable of our many and varied travels.

I cannot say enough about how special this wonderful establishment and it's fine hosts felt to us. We were both sad to leave, but we know with certainty that we will be back to visit again in the future and will be keeping in contact with our new friends.

Simon and Mandy, thank you so much for your time, energy and passion for looking after guests in such a wonderful way. We very much look forward to seeing you again in due course.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was excellent, all the rooms are really lovely, each one is decorated diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Owner at 15 Grand Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you! You are so right we have indeed made new friends - you! It was such a pleasure having you and indeed enjoyed spending the great time with you during your stay! We hope to see you here in 15 Grand Rue again! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We have stayed at 15 Grand Rue several times and have always had a lovely experience. Upon learning there were new owners when we booked our last stay, we we hoped our experience would be as wonderful.

Well fear not... the relatively new owners, Simon and Mandy, are born hosts. They are warm and gracious and welcomed us back with open arms. Grand Rue is as charming as ever, and breakfast is fantastic (w/ one of the guys running out at the crack of dawn to acquire just-from-the-oven warm bread.) The owners have a vast knowledge of wine (local wines in particular), and are always happy to share their latest discovery.

We are hoping our next trip to the south of France will be sooner, rather than later, and are looking forward to visiting our "old friends", Simon and Mandy at 15 Grand Rue.

Room Tip: All suites are terrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCNYCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Owner at 15 Grand Rue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments. We truly appreciated hosting you and wish to see you again in the very near future, I am sure there will be more great wine discovery by then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caux
6.9 km away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
6.5 km away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
73 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
50 reviews
8.2 km away
The Old Well Bed & Breakfast
12.7 km away
Saint-Sauveur
Saint-Sauveur
#1 of 4 in Saint-Thibery
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Grand Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Grand Rue

Address: 15 Grand rue, 34720 Caux, Pezenas, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas > Caux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caux
Price Range: $142 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the iron doorway of 15, Grand Rue Caux and feel yourself start to unwind in the dapple shade of the courtyard garden with the backdrop of tinkling fountain and swooping swallows. If you’re looking for peace and relaxation in elegant but informal surroundings 15, Grand Rue is for you. The house is a 19th century bourgeois “maison de maitre” which retains many of its original features. Abigail bought the house in January 2009 and set about creating a boutique Chambres d’Hotes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your 15 Grand Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing