We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent educational history”

The Royal Mint Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Mint Experience is the only place in the world where you can watch the United Kingdom's coins being made. Go behind the scenes to follow the journey of a coin from a blank to a bank in our 45-minute Guided Factory Experience. After your Factory Experience, wander at your own pace through the Interactive Exhibition, discovering the incredible processes needed to make a coin. Come face to face with British monarchs over the past 1,000 years. Get up close to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic medals, and listen to the stories of those whose bravery has been rewarded with the UK's gallantry and service medals.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Fascinating history of our coinage over 1000 years made so interesting by the excellent
knowledge of the guide Matt who really knew his facts. He must have done the tour many times but still came across as enthusiastic about his subject. Pre booked tour time and we only had 8 in our party.Well worth the cost. One very minor comment. In the display of medals, there was one for the fire brigade and prison service long service and good conduct medals, but not one for the police. Although the Queens Gallantry Medal was there

2  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello Alan T,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our attraction, we are thrilled that you had such a great visit! In regards to your enquiry, the medal section contains a selection of the many medals we make but if you would like more information about specific medals please contact us via experience@royalmint.com

Many thanks, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 101 reviews
"royal mint"
in 409 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 139 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 83 reviews
"car park"
in 39 reviews
"viewing area"
in 17 reviews
"all ages"
in 47 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 19 reviews
"whole experience"
in 28 reviews
"take home"
in 14 reviews
"coin making"
in 43 reviews
"pound coins"
in 40 reviews
"rainy day"
in 18 reviews
"olympic medals"
in 39 reviews
"coin collector"
in 38 reviews
"other countries"
in 36 reviews
"factory floor"
in 34 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I visited on a weekday afternoon with my wife and our four year old on the way on holiday further into Wales, to which this was an ideal pit stop to break up the journey.
A visit will take around 1-1.5 hours including the guided tour. Very informative and we had a great guide. The opportunity to strike your own coin is brilliant. For obvious reasons it’s all very secure and therefore what you can see and experience is limited, but you still get a good look at how the Royal Mint makes coins and some interesting facts and figures.
My only real criticism would be the cost, at £13.50 per adult it’s not great value for money and the gift shop is extortionate charging £10 for a 50p or £4 for a 10p!

2  Thank Jöhnnŷ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback as means to improve the attraction for future guests, Many Thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Having read the Official Webb Site '"explore the sites,sounds and smells of new coins hot of the press" this is not accualy true. Read the site info again and you can relate to what you accualy see which is a very small part of the process - the blank coins being struck. The Tour Guide was very good and the Exhibition Area and other facilities good but have to mark on what we went to see - the coin making experience.

1  Thank poolescrippyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback which we can use to better the attraction for future visitors. Many thanks, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Bought my parents' tickets for Christmas present as had no idea what to get them. It was a lovely family trip there, my sister in law and her young children also came with us. Well laid out, great shop and the tour was very interesting. Well worth an afternoon visit or for school trips. Be aware that they are quite strict with a no photo policy in certain areas.

Thank Lindy0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello Lindy,

We are so pleased that you and your family had a "Mint" visit to the Royal Mint Experience! Thank you for taking the time to post a review, please spread the word and keep up to date with us on Facebook (/theroyalmintexperience) and Twitter (@RoyalMintExp). Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Very good guided tour, lots of information and we got to see the machinery at work as well as some good exhibition areas explaining the processes. There is an impressive collection of coins and medals that have been struck at the mint. Large carpark, nice food and drink in the coffee shop and of course a well stocked gift shop.

Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony W, General Manager at The Royal Mint Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello Sylvia,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit! Please spread the word and in the meantime follow us on Facebook (/theroyalmintexperience) and Twitter (@RoyalMintExp). Many thanks, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Mint Experience also viewed

 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Royal Mint Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing