We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon Cruise to Mapledurham Watermill”
Review of Mapledurham House

Mapledurham House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mapledurham House is an Elizabethan mansion on the edge of the Oxfordshire/Berkshire borders. Bordered by the river Thames, it is a most beautiful and unspoilt part of South Oxfordshire. Together with the last working watermill on the river Thames and the newly installed Archimedes screw turbine, Mapledurham is well worth a visit. Open from Easter until the end of October on Sundays and Bank Holidays (not August Bank Holiday)
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Our group of 70 took an afternoon river cruise from Caversham and visited Mapledurham Watermill and Church. We were greeted by the Miller, Corey and his wife Jane. We had a tour of the church, working mill and Archimedes screw led by Corey who gave us an interesting and amusing insight into the history and operation of the estate, church and its mill. Jane provided a superb afternoon tea with fresh scones baked using flour from the mill. Quite a number of us purchased flour to make our own bread and scones. Thames Cruises provided a great service. Definitely would recommend this package to any groups looking to organise a special trip out on the Thames. Mapledurham House is currently closed for public visits but it provides a great backcloth to the visit and should not deter visitors from visiting this beautiful spot.

Thank katieg22bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 18 reviews
"scones"
in 34 reviews
"pieces of furniture"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 4 reviews
"stately home"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 2 reviews
"flour"
in 22 reviews
"watermill"
in 26 reviews
"miller"
in 23 reviews
"faversham"
in 17 reviews
"estate"
in 22 reviews
"thames"
in 46 reviews
"church"
in 24 reviews
"tearoom"
in 10 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Super day out . Loads of ww2 vehicles and reenactment. Highly recommended and affordable day . Loads of things to do and see .check out the website

Thank Paulmillie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Shocking waste of time and money (actually could only stand it for less than an hour). It used to be ok, is now shockingly rubbish. Food wasn't anything to write home about and the music....well, haha, visited on Saturday about 2.45pm to be faced with some woman on an acoustic guitar trying desperately to string together the most appalling rendition of 'Billie Jean' to the most bemused looking audience, it was horrible! I sing better than that in the shower. If she's reading 'please don't inflict yourself on people, you struggle with the guitar and seriously cannot sing, give it up'

3  Thank SuzieVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Very pleasant visit . Estate very large pretty old house beautiful grounds, Travelled by car but you can get to it by a river trip from caversham.

1  Thank Sandie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We had a 90th Birthday afternoon tea party which was overshadowed by 105 minutes of continuous church bell ringing. It was so loud being next to the tearoom we had a job to talk over it. When making enquiries about it they said they had received permission from the House. But why did the times have to coincide with the garden opening times? The garden is only open for few hours so why not before or afterwards? Not everybody enjoys the noise of church bells & to our group it was extremely annoying. I put it down to poor Management & I won't be going back.

Thank evident32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaandrews, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good afternoon. I am so sorry that you didnt enjoy your time with us yesterday. In fact the church dont actually have to ask our permission - it is their church. They do advise when they would like to have visiting bell ringers out of courtesy. Yesterday, the gentleman in charge reported to me that he had lots of people go into the church to see the bells in action and many said how nice it was to hear them. However, I am still sorry that it marred your afternoon especially as we had arranged a tea for you that we dont normally do. I do hope you managed to enjoy that part of your day. Kind regards ~~ Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mapledurham House also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Mapledurham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing