We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with exceptional food. You must go there!”

Osteria San Martino
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Pettenasco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We looked for a restaurant to try during our stay on Lake Orta and turned up on a Saturday night without a booking. They were full so we booked for the next night. We were so glad we did. The menu was small but exciting and both our starters were lovely. Bruschetta and Prosseco were presented whilst we chose our food and both were delicious also. We both had duck. It was cooked just as we liked it and was melt in the mouth. The wine list was large and all reasonably priced and the recommendation given to us was just perfect. The restaurant is small, intimate and perfectly formed. The staff lovely even though our Italian is limited. Can you tell we loved it? We really did. Go out of your way to go here!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Trogsprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

A genuine place out of the tourist bustle of Orta San Giulio. Very friendly service and fabulous food with excellent balance among all ingredients. Generous portions, try the tartare di fassona if you end up here! Only minus the price, a bit on the high side.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank p3III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

A gem in a small village above lake Orta. Small family run but the food and service where fabulous. Not a large menu but sufficient for all needs. Will definitely visit again

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Billwelch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. It had wonderful food and a lovely atmosphere. It's a little hidden away but definitely worth the trip to get there. We shared a platter of appetizers and then each had pasta and shared a dessert. We would have had more, but it was just too late to eat anymore!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob_Fiona23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed at a campsite in the neighborhood and where looking for a place to eat (at 22u30).
Searching on TripAdvisor led us to this place. We had to look for a bit, it was like a hidden gem.

We had a warm welcome, and where offered sparkling wine.
We had a starter, a main (1kg steak was superb!) and dessert. It was great from start to finish.
Staff was great, very friendly.
All off this made our evening great!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stefke00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria San Martino also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Pettenasco, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Osteria San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing