We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
60
47
30
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
47
30
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews landing stage italian lakes only downside lovely walk dogs are allowed a lovely holiday boat trip lovely hotel lake view easy access nice pool evening meal busy road orta san guilio isola parts taxi
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

First stop on a 13 day Saga trip and could not have asked for more.
Lovely room overlooking the lake of this totally unspoilt part of the world.
Good sized outdoor swimming pool that got plenty of sun.
Rooms and public areas were immaculately kept and staff were friendly and helpful.
Buffet style breakfast with wide choice of food, evening meal varied.

Room Tip: 4 euros per day/person to ensure room with lake view and worth every euro.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank spyglass291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelapprodo, Direttore at Hotel L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you for telling so enthusiastically of your stop on the shores of Lake Orta, you certainly have been able to taste every moment to bring home a special souvenir. Your compliments and your appreciation fills our hearts.
Michela Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

L'Approdo sits on the banks of Lake Orta, but doesn't have the views of the Benedictine monastery on St Giulio Isle that some of the more expensive hotels offer.

The L'Approdo had two wings, Reception is in the more modern wing. The design is interesting (I'm being polite), all the communal areas are subterranean. Meaning the view from the restaurant where breakfast is served is of sun loungers rather than the stunning lake. We had two rooms, one was accessed by a dark corridor with no natural light, as for the other I had to ask a Receptionist to show me the way because I couldn't find it. I understand only one wing has a lift so if you need help with access make sure you're in the right one.

We had a B&B rate which included a Continental breakfast. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy and I counted at least four staff. Who all seemed busy doing nothing. I would expect tea/coffee to be served at the table in a 4 star hotel, and if you wanted anything cooked you first had to find the one and only menu....really, how hard is it to put a menu on the table (when you're serving tea and coffee)! Breakfast is served until 10.00, but nothing gets refreshed after 09.30, when the staff disappear.

That said the Reception staff were very helpful.

The rooms we're nothing special, the furnishings looked like they came from IKEA and the bathrooms were dated.

In summary, their stocking trade seemed to be coach parties. In my opinion the L'Approdo is a 3 star hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelapprodo, Direttore at Hotel L'Approdo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

It took a long time to understand your “interesting” comment …and I am polite, it seems that you have been in another place then here. Our common area are level garden to the lake side, it means restaurant, terrace and tv room, the only room a meter lower is in fact the breakfast room this cause of the 25mt. heated swimming pool surrounded by a beautiful garden with greenery and trees and to the lake side, which you can see if you look a little further the sun loungers.
We serve a buffet breakfast with different kind of breads, toasts, cheeses, mozzarella, tomatoes, fresh cream cheese, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, different type of cakes, different kind of croissants, biscuits, marmelades, honey, butter, almost four kind of cereals, almost four kind of seeds, cold milk, fresh fruit and canned fruit, we serve tea and coffee at table and a menu for plates with eggs is available on the buffet….as you said a continental breakfast, not English breakfast, we are in Italy!
It is our good habit to escort our guests to their room at arrival to put them at ease and not simply send them to their rooms, it is a special attention.
Finally we inform you of a detail that escaped to your observation, having evidently stayed at another hotel, the bathrooms have been completely renovated (piping, electrical system, tiling and sanitary fittings) during last winter.
We suggest you to better look at the photos in the internet before booking a hotel, so that you can understandif it suits your needs or not. Easy!
Michela Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

A nice modern hotel by the lake with its own little beach and a pool. By modern I mean mostly eighties-nineties design, although some of deco is newer and the bathrooms are 21th century. It's clean and as peaceful as it gets - the Orta lake is one of the most peaceful destinations in the North of Italy, but it's still a beach, and the pool is open for external visitors in the afternoon, so there are different opinions when it comes to peacefulness. The service is good as you might expect from a 4 star hotel.
The breakfast is not fully satisfying for the European traveller: the choice of teas is limited, there are almost no vegetables, sausages, or fried eggs. The typical Italian breakfast is mostly sweet, so we can say they do their best to please the foreigners.
We spent our honeymoon at the hotel which provided a flawless experience until the very last night when they hosted a very loud wedding by the pool which has practically ruined our sleep and wrecked our nerves. Some of the wedding guests were still present (and drunk) at the pool during the following day which was an additional disappointment. In my opinion it was a bad decision by the management to let a loud wedding happen at the premises when they had a house full of guests who came to relax. They didn't excuse before or after - a little symbolic gift or a good word would have been enough not to feel so violated in our comfort. Too bad.
I intended to give 4 stars until the last night but now I give 2 as a complaint.

Room Tip: For maximum silence ask for a room which is not by the pool
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank András M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

A lovely hotel distinguished by it's fantastic lake views and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Lake Orta is smaller than it's more famous neighbours and also quieter - a good thing from our perspective.
We had a split level room with a double on a mezzanine and a sofa bed; large balcony and a really good balcony. We booked a lake view, which is really worthwhile. Only negatives - no restaurants in safe walking distance (no pavement on the busy road) so if you did not have a car (we did) you would be tied to the hotel for food. (hotel restaurant is good and not too pricey). We would have liked a proper fridge, had to empty the mini bar to make way for our own drinks. And the wifi is free but punishingly slow, mobile data much quicker. Otherwise, for the price, thumbs up - this is a 'proper' 4 star and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for the mountain/lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Fabulous time. Quiet relaxing friendly hotel, restaurant and poolside bar, excellent Ideal if you want to stop the world and get off. Amazing scenery. Couldn't fault. If you want busy this is not for you. Ferry to other villages is a must.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank paula t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews