We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa do Adro de Parada(Sabrosa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Casa Deus(Sabrosa)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
46
21
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
21
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomtapasfantastic viewsupper terraceolive treesswimming poolstaff were very helpfulstayed here for nightsmain buildingdouro valleysmall villagemeatcherrychallengeportugueseaccommodationrecommendation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

I booked here for a weekend in late April (2018), to spend a special weekend with my wife and my 3 years old son. It was my wife's birthday, so I was looking for a nice place. Most of the hotels on the riverside had no vacancies, so I had to move my search a bit up to the mountains. And I don'r regret it! The Quinta Manhas d'Ouro is a little nice hotel on the outskirts of the small village of Provesende, in the middle of vineyards, olive trees and orchards (cherry trees were in bloom). The views from the upper terrace are wonderful, although you can't actually see the river Douro, you can guess it at the bottom of the narrow valley full of vineyards.
The hotel itself is a modern building, not an ancient Portuguese manor house as the name might suggest. But that's not a problem. They have only a few rooms, maybe 7-8, so the place never looks crowded or too noisy. It's quiet and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. For example, they baked a special cake for my wife's birthday.
The hotel is close to Pinhao and Sabrosa but you'll need a car to go there, so they offer a dinner service. You can choose your dinner from a "tapas" menu, which includes typical Portuguese meals, cheese, ham, sausages (we had an assorted dish of "tapas", and everything was OK), or you can go for a daily menu wich usually includes a meat option, a fresh fish option and of course, "bacalhau" (salted codfish). We tried the baked codfish, with potatoes and vegetables, and was good. The list of wines is limited but again, good and affordable (the most expensive choice was a 16€ bottle from the winery just next door).
The room was comfortable. Parhaps a bit crowded if you ask for and auxiliary bed, as we did for our son, but not too much.
There's a nice garden and a swimming pool. The pool looked big enough and clean, but unfortunately it was too cold to enjoy them those days.
Definitely, we had a nice stay, and a good choice for discovering the Douro Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank José María C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

It is hard to rate this lodging. There are many great things about it but some things would prevent me from staying here again. First, getting there is quite a challenge. The town of Provesende is pretty isolated (10km from anywhere) and the only way to get there is on steep winding roads. In fact, getting up the steep driveway of the quinta can be quite a challenge if it is a wet and stormy day. There is one restaurant nearby but that needs to be reserved a day ahead of time. Luckily, the Quinta will serve dinner if you reserve four hours ahead and does have snacks available without a reservation ahead of time. We arrived in the middle of a storm and were happy just to get there in one piece. Once you get up the steep driveway, there is plenty of level parking. We were also very happy to be able to get food and not have to go out into the awful weather again.

The building is modern, clean, and streamlined. There is an elevator, very slow but perfect for getting your luggage upstairs where the rooms are. The room we had was fairly minimalist with a tiny desk, low bed with small bedside tables, and a huge built in wardrobe with lots of enclosed storage. It was also quite dark. Lighting was dim and there was only one good light from a lamp on each side of the bed. Charging devices was tricky. I had to unplug my lamp so it got really dark. My husband strung an extension cord across his side of the room. TV was small and awkwardly placed high on a wall. We are not sure if the strange colors came from this placement or the stormy weather.

Breakfast was good with meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, and lots of pastry and bread products.

It is a truly beautiful area and the view from the patio and upper level terrace are awesome. Again, because of terrible weather we were unable to relax outside and enjoy that aspect of the quinta. Oddly there are no handles on the entrance doors - just keys in the lock which must be turned to get in and out

I am glad we stayed here though two nights was plenty. Needing an hour on those roads just to get dinner and return is a real negative. I would not want to drive those roads in the darkness and the rain made it difficult enough in the light. Brighter weather might have provided a brighter opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhãs D, Proprietário at Quinta Manhas D"Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Solomon5,

In advance, thank you very much for your stay with us and your important review that hels us to improve some issues you mentioned.

In fact, Douro region is a lovely place to visit and your up and down field is one of your main caracteristic. This caracteristic give him the beautifull landscapes that you have the opportunity to see even with bad weather. Unfortunatelly we can control the weather and believe that for us is difficult to work with this conditions but we try to give our guests the best experience with any circumstances.

About our restaurant, the guests don´t need 4 hours in advance to reserve. Normally we need 1 hour in advance to choose if it was from our menu or if you choose our tapas you don´t need to book dinner with too many time, is quickly.

About other issues that you mentioned and that we can control, we will look with high importance and improve what isn´t right.

Once again, thank you very much for your stay and help us with your important review.

Hope to see you in a future opportunity.

Best regards.

Filipe Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This place was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our biggest disappointment was our 'standard' room. It was very cramped and really felt more like an upmarket room in a hostel. Would probably fine for a one night stay but not for longer unless you managed to book the only superior room. Luckily we were able to move to this room on our last night. It was spacious, set out on its own apart from the main building and had it's own space for relaxing outside. The terrace facing the views were available to the guests in the standard rooms but the weather was so hot it was not possible to enjoy this space as there were no umbrellas to shade under. The pool was great but again the steep steps down to get there could be a problem for some guests. A little bit more thought required to upgrade this accommodation to maximise it's potential and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glenys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Spend a night there and regret it wasn't longer.
The rooms are well soundproofed, we didn't hear any others guests.
The staff is really welcoming and speaks all together English, French, Portuguese and surely more.
Possibility to have some local wines

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edouard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights, though, on reflection, 3 nights in the area would have been sufficient.

The Quinta is very modern, very clean and spacious in the public areas.

The staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us, enabling us to eat dinner on the front terrace and on the upper terrace to take full advantage of the fantastic views of the Alto Douro as the sun went down.

Dinner was excellent and moderately priced, as was the selection of wines.

The pool area was a great place to come back to after a day of exploration.

Our room was excellent, very well equipped, though a little on the small side. Our only other minor criticism was that the shower toiletries might have been refreshed a bit more regularly.

However, for location and excellent staff, this place is very difficult to beat!!

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews