We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely team with staff being especially thoughtful for our needs.”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #20 of 22 Restaurants in Broxbourne
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Broxbourne, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Crown a special place to visit. Warm your hands by our cosy log fire, kick back and enjoy lunchtime or evening. Why not plan ahead and book a table online and enjoy some hearty pub food in our restaurant. Perfect for riverside walks along the banks of the Lee, our magnificent white country inn is well placed for exploring the countryside. Nearby Paradise Wildlife Park is a draw for the whole family.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

once again an absolute delight. staff were amazing. service has improved massively and so has the food. although it was a very busy sunny weekend and there was a slight delay in food it was worth the wait and staff were wonderful with a limited team on. the staff were lovely and polite and don't deserve the amount of complaints from customers about waiting an extra 10 minutes on an extremely busy day where the wait would be exactly the same even longer maybe in other pubs. i used to come here all the time and the new manageress has definitely begun turning the place around to reach its full potential and although a refurbish is needed the place has a beautiful rustic charm. my young son was also very happy with his food and wont stop asking for it again so we will definitely be back soon! the waitress who served us was especially helpful i believe her name was Amy (blonde hair) incase that narrows it down and kept a smile on her face even thought she was clearly rushed off her feet as was the rest of the team. id like to that the crown for a wonderful day, food and service, its a shame that it has such a bad reputation from previous managers who used to often close the kitchen on busy days as the place is really turning around and im back to be a regular customer now! thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnseldam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hiya John!

Thank so much for such a wonderful review, i cannot express how much of a difference it really makes to the team. It's also really nice to have our efforts as management noticed. We're facing an extreme uphill battle trying to turn this business around so it's wonderful to hear it's starting to make a difference!

I believe the young girl who served you was our very own star Amelia. She's still very new so i'm sure she will be thrilled to hear that she made a positive difference to your day. I will also refer your comments back to the chef's too!

We have a refurbishment scheduled for October which will make a huge difference to the venue which is really exciting for us!

Hopefully we will see you and your family again soon!

Thank you,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Whilst in a lovely setting the service here is awful. The food is overpriced and poorly cooked. Fine for a drink but that is all.

Thank spudlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Spudlie, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

I. Starting by saying that there are review on this site that are not great, however we tried it today and could t fault the food or service. Buzzy atmosphere and the desserts were yummy. Billy our server was a delight

Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hiya Carol,

Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review! This is the experience we strive for for our guests and so it's really wonderful to hear such positive feedback. In particular, Billy will appreciate it the most and so i will let him know about the brilliant job he did looking after you!

We hope to see you again soon!

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a drink after a boat trip on the nearby river. The signs and garden looked welcoming. They only had one ale out of 4 on, and there were napkins and litter strewn all over the garden. It looked like little care and attention was being paid.

The men's toilet is in a poor state and needs ripping out. It absolutely reaks. In this day and age it really doesn't have to.

I won't be returning until a complete refurbishment.

Thank VirtualOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hiya VirtualOli,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review however i would like to apolgise for the negative experience you've had with us.

I can agree entirely with what you've said, in particular the statement about the gents toilets. In October we are due a refurbishment and so all issues like this will be corrected then - unfortunately we are limited to what we can do in-house due to our overheads.

As for litter in the garden, it is cleared a minimum of 3 times per day by the team however it can be left a little later than normal if we experience a high volume of guests. There are also bins provided in the garden however it seems they are used little and often much to our frustrations. I do apologise, in light of this i am implimenting an hourly litter check alongside our already existing hourly toilet check.

If you'd like to discuss further, please email me on crownbroxbourne@vintageinn.co.uk

Many thanks and again my sincerest apologies,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Place was half empty. Ordered lunch on arrival. 20 minutes wait or so. Ordered dessert at 14.21. Was told man had gone to get his card so couldn’t take order. 25 minutes later told the manager was doing it now and SHE - it the man - would be finished soon. No apology for delay. Asked for it again 10 minutes later. Was told it was being done. It was plonked the table after 41 minutes with cutlery lying in the food and again NO Apology,

Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hiya Mary,

I've found this review to be slightly confusing for me to understand and i would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out to us at 01992 462244. I look forward to hearing from you.
Please accept my apologies until then for your negative experience with us,

Mangement Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing