We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Golden Gate Batam
Ranked #5 of 12 Nagoya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

the hotel seems to be just over a year old but is already quite run down in my opinion. The only saving grace was that it is very close to DC mall and price is reasonable.

However, some things upset me:
1) I booked the deluxe king bedroom, but was given the superior room instead (a downsize apparently) by the daytime receptionist. Had a feeling it was not the correct room and asked the night time receptionist and she confirmed it. Absolutely no apology from the night time receptionist, she just informed me that i will be given a refund for the price difference and thats it.
2) I booked 2 rooms, and both rooms smelt really bad. My relatives called room service for some air refresher but room service only arrived 30 minutes. Apparently they had to go out to buy it.
3) My toilet door could not be closed.
4) Breakfast buffet was bad. Selection was v v limited. Food was barely topped up. Breakfast was from 7am-10am. But by 730am most of the main dishes were almost gone or gone (just left with gravy). By 745am, I guess you can look forward to toast - thats it.
5) Service by the receptionist was very poor. When I asked the receptionist a question, she looked irritated and answered me while checking her phone. I think this is one of the worst service by a hotel receptionist that i have ever experienced before. When we checked out, daytime receptionist refunded the price difference in my room but DID NOT apologise. A simple sorry would be nice.
6) The room walls are very thin. I could hear noises from the room beside and people who walk down the hallway.
7) People smoke in the hotel lobby and breakfast area (which is airconditioned by the way). We had to eat our breakfast very fast because the smell of smoke was overwhelming.
8) Bed too hard for my liking (understandable since it is a budget hotel)

Just to note:
If you take the taxi from the hotel to nearby places eg. harbour bay or nagoya mall, minimum price is 40,000Rp. Further distances more ex. Taxis do not use meter. And we saw the bellboy getting a token of money from the taxi driver.

Overall, I dont think I will stay here anymore. Rooms are not great. Food variety and quantity insufficient. Service overall is terrible.

Room Tip: Check that the receptionist gave you the correct room that you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vampress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

had to bunk in here for the night as we were running out of hotels... the rooms are very clean not to huge just nice bed and shower facilities... the odd thin is me and my friends took two seperate room both duluxe but one was more cheaper then the other when asked why... it is because one had a window the other did not!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faizalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Comfort hotel with budgets price.
If you are regular traveller to the island... this maybe the the hotel you looking for.
With DC Mall at the back no other place you looking for..
But is your first time travelling to the island it might bit to far to anywhere. .
But not the problem due the taxi is plenty here..
The hotel mighty far from centre nagoya of batam...as if regular to the island it might not a problem to you. .

The room maybe quite small.. but the cleanness and the new modern day stylish above them all...
With daily breakfast morning you can start you day with refreshing for businesses or holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavkNazae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Ilham I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013
Thank JustitiaSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
0 km away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 28 in Nagoya
360 reviews
0 km away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
0 km away
Nagoya Hill Hotel
Nagoya Hill Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nagoya
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Allium Batam Hotel
Allium Batam Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nagoya
455 reviews
0 km away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nagoya
234 reviews
0 km away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Gate Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Gate Batam

Address: Duyung Street 01 | Komplek Ruko Golden Gate Blok F 1-3, Batu Selicin, Lubuk Baja, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nagoya
Price Range: $26 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Golden Gate Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Gate Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Gate Batam Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing