We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,519)
Filter reviews
4,519 results
Traveller rating
1,992
1,494
636
242
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,992
1,494
636
242
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge private beach paranga restaurant indoor pool al fresco diamond resorts building work pre dinner drinks bars and clubs st julians busy area party area night life hotel restaurants bay street large hotel sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 4,519 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Our holiday started really badly, the apparent we had booked was not what it professed to be! With no suitable accommodation and 2 children in tow, we retreated to a bar. I had stayed at the hotel 12 years ago while on business and remembered it was good. I spoke with the reception manager who assured me he could help with a room for the family.

We were overwhelmed by the welcome we received, we ate on the BBQ terrace the first evening and the staff were wonderful especially with our eldest son who has autism.

We enjoyed many, many happy hours by the pool, the staff there were wonderful too, bringing us food and drinks and really looking after us.

We also enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast at the hotel each day, as well as dinners in Sea Biscuit and Perangu. Concierge also helped us to book a couple of great excursions and taxis to Valetta for a day trip as well.

This holiday could well have been a total disaster but thanks to the staff at the hotel it was one of the most memorable and enjoyable holidays we have had as a family!

One tip - make sure you make use of the progressive dining card, we forgot until the penultimate day and we could have saved several euros each night on our meals.

If I had one tiny complaint to make it would be the "challenge" in getting coffee at breakfast in the morning, often ordered but seldom arrived! - other than that a perfect stay all round!

Room tip: The rooms overlooking the main courtyard are excellent
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

Thank you very much for your delightful words concerning our staff and the service they offered, it is a true pleasure for us to see that we made such a positive contribution to your experience for you and your family. All of this especially considering the poor start you had to your stay.

We are also glad that we were able to assist you in discovering and exploring the islands. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here back in April for a short break I on the Island. The staff couldn't have made us feel any more relaxed and welcomed if they tried. The welcome was fantastic and they recognised and acknowledged our IHG status. We had a beautiful suite which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The club lounge was amazing and well equipped and the staff in here are so so efficient. My only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank poppiesbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We thank you for your positive rating and insights into the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I'm writing this whole packing to go home tomorrow. The InterCon Malta is wonderful. The staff are sweet, beautiful people who can't do enough for you. Yes it's in a busy area full of nightlife but this hotel is a big beautiful oasis in the middle of it. With regard to construction, I can see 2 cranes over the bay and that's it. No building work in the hotel, no dust, no noise, no nothing. The food is fantastic and the private beach is a great way to spend a lazy afternoon. Malta is a fantastic island with so much to offer and I'm so sad to be heading home. If you're considering the Intercontinental Malta then GET IT BOOKED!

Thank you to all the staff who worked so hard to make our stay one to remember forever x

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank emma_norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We thank you for your positive rating and insights into the hotel. in particular we are delighted that you found the hotel so relaxing and comfortable during your time here, and that you enjoyed the area. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

the location is amazing right in the lights and glamour of malta and by night you can party
or if you want the hotel is so high go to the top and relax in peace and tranquility looking over malta to the sea but by day its a sun heaven and there private beach and food is amazing there 5 star service is amazing the hotel staff are so kind and helpful they will do any thing to help so king i loved staying there for my birthday they arranged for a special treat on the roof top and every day fresh fruit and wine thank you to the loverly malta hotel THE INTERCONTINENTAL MALTA

Room tip: all rooms are perfect
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Moon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the variety of choice and activities that are available in the area surrounding the hotel whether during the night or day. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your birthday so fully and the amenities we offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Well firstly Malta is a very friendly country, the hotel continues this tradition. We found all of the staff & managers very approachable, willing to help & friendly.

The rooms are clean, spacious & fairly modern.

The pool area is well kept, although the sun beds are far to close to each other & the pool is far to small for the size of the hotel.

The above is in contrast to the private beach where space & peace are a plenty. Once again all staff are engaging, however there are some missed revenue streams for the hotel, proactive bar service around the sun beds was a little hit & miss.

The beach restaurant which was reasonably price & very good, all helped by the alfresco beach tables, making this a perfect night.

In summary, overall the stay was very good. The staff were great. The pool needs to be bigger. The food was very good. The private beach well looked after.

We go again which is the best feedback we can give.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DoryLongLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at InterContinental Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay.

Thank you for your lovely comments concerning the service your received from all levels of our staff. Also that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities throughout the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are very glad to hear you mention it.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews