We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
197
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentswild boarlocal villagenature walktented campbird walkdam wallbird watchingtwo nightsvillage tourhot water bottlesbird lifeoverlooking the lakeincluded in the pricedifferent speciesrecharge your batteriesevening walk
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

After first reading about Chhatra Sagar, when planning our indian trip, we wanted to build it into our itinerary and we weren't disappointed. Im so glad that Sanjay (at Bespoke India Travel) persuaded us to stay there for two nights, not just one, too. After two weeks of hectic touring, the peace of Chhatra Sagar proved a wonderful placed to relax and recharge our batteries. Apparently in the middle of nowhere, the situation of the luxury tents, overlooking the man-made lake is superb. You can lie in your, very comfortable, bed, or sit outside your tent and watch the sun come up, the variety of birds milling around, or spotting the deer and peacocks on the far shore.
Nandy, one of the two brothers who own the camp, took us on two evening walks around the lake, accompanied by his two fox terriers, and pointed out loads of birds, which we were able to view clearly through the binoculars they gave us or through the camera which one of the staff carried and set up on a tripod at every sighting.
At the end of the walk, you will have already read, I'm sure, drinks and nibbles have been set up for you to enjoy whilst you have a seat and watch the sun go down. With fellow guests from all over the world, it was an enjoyably social time. A G & T has never tasted better!
The village walk, where we were accompanied by Harsh, was fascinating. It was so interesting to learn about the Indian traditions, history, politics etc that Harsh was happy to talk about. Plus, it was lovely to be able to see local, rural people going about their everyday lives. Wonderful photo opportunities, too.
Whilst everything you need is on hand, and service is first class, the tents and general areas are in character and the camp does not try to be opulent or lavish. Rather, Nandy and Harsh look after you as though you really are welcome guests, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The fact that there is no tipping, that all food and drink is included and that you do not have to choose what to eat (meals are superb!), means that in a day or two you can really relax and allow the pace of life to slow down a little. A memorable stay!

Room Tip: The views from tents up top are good, but I was happy to be nearer the general seating and dining areas.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

All in all, this was a delightful 2 day stop as part of our Golden Triangle tour and offered something completely different.

Perched along the top of a dam, 11 luxury tents with nothing to spoil the view, Chhatra Sagar is truly unique and gives you a chance to re-charge your batteries before the next onslaught to the senses.

Two brothers and their families run this place, ably assisted by their wives & families who tend to work behind the scenes. We were met and generally looked after by their cousin, Raj, who was the perfect host.

We were told on arrival that Chhatra Sagar had a strict 'no tipping' policy which in a way you have to commend, but I must add the staff here, whether they were doing their best to be on their best behaviour or not, were probably the least smiley of anywhere we stayed.

We always commented on the fact of how friendly and happy all the staff were in most of our hotels, but the all male waiters we met were very proficient, but there was little in the way of any chat or a genuine smile.

Saying that, we loved all the pre dinner drinks by the fire, the tea they brought you to your tents in the morning, the fresh homemade food, it all worked seamlessly.

Raj organised our morning farmland walk that also took in the local village & school - and this was the highlight of our stay. It gave us a fascinating insight into a life that has changed little over the years and in which farmers, villagers and the children all seemed very content and you couldn't help but envy the simple honesty and routines of their daily life.

My only niggle - how lovely it would have been if they'd put a pool in for everyone to cool off and relax.

Other than that, Chhatra Sagar is well worth a stopover, for the views, the food and feeling you are in the heart of India.

Room Tip: All the tents are amazing
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Such a class act – even the beaten earth has beautiful, peacock patterns on it. Tents, food, service all amazingly good. Views lovely. But...I'm life-threateningly allergic to bee and wasp stings. Checked in advance that there wouldn't be an issue but was greeted with the news that there were 15 or 16 large swarms around the property – "And they have a secret way of communicating, so if a person is stun once, all the bees come to sting him." Thanks, guys – I'd be dead, despite my Epipen. Great village walk (didn't dare to do the bush and bird walk) but I can't come back.

Room Tip: All the tents are fabulous
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KateRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Luxurious tented camp on a dam. But there is so much more to Chatra Sagar! Lovely family Nandy , Raj and Haj and their wives meet your every need. The brothers escort you on bird watching walks or jeep safaris to local farmland and village. Meanwhile their wives work hard behind the scenes producing the most delicious food that you will have in India . The camp is an oasis of calm after frenetic visits to the big cities. Our first chance to truly relax. Tea/ coffee arrives at your tent before breakfast from 8am on the terrace. The jeep safari leaves at 9.30 returning about 12.00. You will see aniseed and cumin amongst other crops and the farmers wives may invite you to have a go at scything. You may meet the farmer and learn how he farms the land and the history of the area. We progressed to the village and visited the school, silversmith and carpenter. The kids love having their photos taken and practising their" How are you?" On you. Lunch is at 1.30 then siesta until the 16.45 bird walk. We went on successive afternoons and saw many different species each time. The sundowner at the end was very welcome. Supper is at 8pm with plenty of time for an aperitif first. There is no choice of food but it is of a large variety and plentiful- something for everyone. The tents are lovely and spacious with all mod cons. I can't fault this place and we were very sad to leave. Unusually there was a no tipping policy at all, even at checkout. I can't praise this place enough, the owners are generous and warm hearted and a pleasure to be around.

Room Tip: All tents are well placed for maximum view of the dam and its bird life.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hepzibah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

This is a beautify setting.
Living for a coupe of days in a luxurious tent was a delight.
The views across the reservoir were stunning and peaceful.
The bird population and parrots in the tree next to the breakfast room were amazing. At the waters edge there are dozen of duck, geese and kingfishers.
The beds were soft. There is lots of room in the tent, they have a fan so you can keep cool and the bath room is fantastic - walk-in open shower, basin, and changing area all lined with solid slate.
The package was all inclusive so food is a set menu for each meal but there is ample selection of different foods all cooked to a high standard. At breakfast you can request eggs cooked to choice.
Cocktails either before or after are high quality brands.
My favorite moment was afternoon tea outside the tent next to the reservoir followed shortly afterwards by sundowner cocktails.
The organised excursions to the village, farm area and schools wave an insight into the way the village was run - I particularly liked the school especially seeing the children studiously working on the maths, science and english.
Would definitely include this as a stop on the itinerary.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure they are able to cater for the special needs and food right from the start.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank InspiredReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews