We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely treat”
Review of B&B In Piazza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B In Piazza
Ranked #7 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed here with my wife on our anniversary in July 2015.

The B&B is located right in the centre of lovely Monteriggioni. We have visited Monteriggioni many times before and always wanted to stay some time so we got our opportunity this time.

We had a lovely room overlooking the beautiful square (well, church, walls and countryside behind). The room was large and very comfortable with a four-poster bed and excellent value for money.

We ate in Il Pozzo restaurant in the square and had a very nice meal. Breakfast at the B&B was standard Italian breakfast fare and we left in the morning delighted with our stay.

The lady who checked us in was very helpful and helped with suggestions of things to see and places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking square and four poster bed...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed as a couple in Monteriggione at Il Chianti June of this year.
Looking to perhaps book there again 2016 we realised that we hadn`t submitted a review and reading the existing ones were surprised that there were a number of negatives, totally contrary to our experience.
Firstly it would be wise to understand that this is a small B&B with the entrance tucked away in a side "alley" beside the square. That said our room had a tremendous view over the entire square.
We were welcome by the lovely Frederica and although our stay was for only one night we didn`t encounter an allegedly "Mr Angry" manager.
On the contrary Fredrica`s attention to every detail left us wishing that we were staying for a night or two longer., sadly an option not open to us at that time.
If you are expecting a "Hilton 5 star" experience then our suggestion would be to look up the nearest 5 star.
If, however, you wish to have a warm welcome, a great stay and a comfortable room Frederica, we are sure, will provide beyond expectation.
Monteriggione can be fully explored in a short day but you may come away with a pair of rather dashing shoes or, alternatively, super knitwear.
Good eating places, an excellent bar/shop and lots of places to visit within comfortable driving distance.
It`s difficult to recommend any establishment as all our expectations differ.
Suffice to say that Il Chianti is on the top of our list for a second visit.....and for more than one night next time!

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank JANETLskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We found the perfect place to rest on the Via Francigena walk route in Tuscany.
We had a very comfortable spacious and spotless room with beautiful views of the hills. Our hostess was excellent and very friendly. There was a large selection of food for lovely breakfast. We Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Ever since my first visit to Monteriggioni, I had wanted to stay at the B&B In Piazza, so I was very happy when our booking unexpectedly worked out after all. I had contacted the place over a month before we were about to pass through the area and had been informed that it was booked out. About a week before our stay, however, we received an e-mail saying that there was indeed a room available, so we had to change our bookings which was a bit annoying. During our stay, we remarked that we were apparently the only guests. Did not seem to add up with the previous claim that it was booked out...

Anyway, we really liked this B&B, it was by far the most pleasant experience we had during our trip to Italy. The rooms are not only spacious, well-appointed and impeccably clean, they are also comfortable and boast lovely views. We looked out over the roofs towards the walls surrounding the town, so we could see the stars at night. Very lovely and romantic.

We also thought the owner, Federica, was absolutely lovely, very friendly and always trying to be of assistance. However, again we must mention a certain lack of organisation from her part which meant that we missed out on a guided tour the next day which we had been told we would be able to participate in for free. Federica told us she would sign us up for the tour and we just had to be there the next day. It turned out that she had not registered us at all, though, so we were quite disappointed.

Another point of criticism would be the breakfast which was served in the neighbouring restaurant. The coffee was very good and served promptly. However, the only food option were cakes and croissants, and we could only pick one slice/piece each, which was not at all sufficient. Breakfasts tend to be not very copious in Italy pensions, but a bit more care should given to the breakfast anyway if the accommodation is advertised as a "Bed & Breakfast".

Still, all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at In Piazza and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in two rooms: my husband and I had a room with a marvelous view of the castle walls and the surrounding Tuscan countryside, while our children had the huge triple room with a view of the piazza. Both rooms were very well furnished and the beds were utterly comfortable; the bathrooms were very clean and spacious. The triple room was actually a studio apartment, with a built in kitchen and pantry hidden inside what we thought was a huge armoire. The sights and sounds from our corner room were so enjoyable - chirping birds woke us up every morning and when we opened the window we watched them flying about the castle walls. We stayed here in May and the weather was cool and pleasant.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, from the first email inquiry I made up to the last day of our stay. When I inquired where we could do our laundry, our landlady said that she could do it for us for a very minimal fee! This is fantastic service indeed!
Breakfasts were served in a dining room that made one feel so at home. The restaurants in Monteriggioni served superb food! We particularly savored the dishes in the Osteria-Bar-Enoteca "Il Feudo" situated beside the inn.
The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Monteriggioni, a very charming walled medieval village which is locally referred to as the castle. We walked around the small town, enjoying the undulating Tuscan countryside, and taking in its history. We imagined what it was like when soldiers in suits of armor clanked up and down the inn's stairwells which showed signs of use through the centuries.
Should we plan another trip to Tuscany, we plan to come back here and have this as our base as we drive to the neighboring cities. This is definitely a better place to stay, rather than in the big cities which are crowded and noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
5 km away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
974 reviews
1.5 km away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
579 reviews
7.3 km away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel I Platani
Hotel I Platani
#2 of 14 in Monteriggioni
194 reviews
4 km away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
207 reviews
7.9 km away
Casalgallo
Casalgallo
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B In Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B In Piazza

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 1, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $133 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the medieval fortress of Moteriggioni, 5 en-suite rooms in a quite and panoramic position overlooking the town and surrounding countryside. Ideal place to relax in the middle-aged atmosphere of the fortress and to discover the central part of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B In Piazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing