We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$250
View deal
Hotels.com
US$250
View deal
Agoda.com
US$205
View deal
PricelineUS$221
TravelocityUS$250
Booking.comUS$263
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
79
20
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
20
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Colona Castle is a dream realized , our 5 day stay was was sublime . all the
attention to details , personlised service and wonderfuff hosts. Thank you Michael
Nicole and David , you will most certainly see us again . The Penthouse suit was spacious , with breath taking views of the mountains , sea and lakeside . the night lights are breath taking . the calmness and positive enegery is rejuvenating and treat on its own .
The experience of staying in this magestic yet homely and personilized establishment or rather home is a treat few be blessed to experience .
This was a memory that will remain with us for ever , or rather till the next time.

Room tip: penthouse suit outstanding
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelFunA380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Jean-Francois
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Penthouse Suite and benefitted from the panoramic views and calmness it offers. We all look forward to hosting you again soon and David and the attentive staff at Colona Castle wish you the very best to keep safe and happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

The Colona Castle is not in any way a "run of the mill" hotel. We felt like we were staying in someone's home, which is exactly what we were doing. The owners live on site, and they and their staff could not have been be more hospitable, helpful, and caring.
From the warm welcome at the steps on our arrival, to the bowl of fruit, personal letter of introduction and home made biscuits with the tea tray, to advice on travelling in the local area, and how accomodating they were about breakfast times, and checking out, nothing was too much trouble.

Staying here is truly an experience. We stayed in the green room, which has a private balcony, enormous en suite bathroom and massive, comfortable bed.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked to order, with juices and cereal available to help yourself to. This hotel does not provide an evening meal service, unless by request of the guests, but there are plenty of local eateries along the coast, all of which can be reached by Uber or your own car.

For those who are looking for something different, and within a walk of an infamous "Z" parkrun, (Zandvlei) this could be for you. It's not a "premier inn" it's staying in someone's home and is an experience in itself.

Room tip: Any of the rooms would be amazing.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

I just want to give a big thank to David and Michael for being wonderful hosts and for making us fee right at home.
My favourite part of our stay at Colona Castle was our beautiful spacious penthouse suite with just the most breathtaking view of the mountain, lake and ocean.
The breakfast was also amazing.
Thank you so much for making our stay memorable.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarmiaL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've stayed at many 5 star hotels on trips around the world. Of course they're all nice, but the experience is inevitably the same, so it's hard to remember their details. But Colona Castle is different and I will remember it's little details for a long time to come. I see one reviewer suggested that the place needs stripping out and bringing into the 21st century. What a bizarre notion! In fact that would be the antithesis of what I think the owners have tried to achieve. And, to be honest, what anyone with a bit of taste and world experience would value greatly. To be frank, apart from the modern conveniences of life, the 21st century is somewhat overrated. Who wants cookie-cutter, modern day, plastic establishments where one's memories of the places blur into unintersting mush? I prefer a place with personality and story, one I can remember for arresting details. That I got at Colona Castle - from the physical space, to the location, to the connection with the owners. I loved the old world charm - it's like stepping back in time to a glorious period (but with all the modern conveniences we have come to depend on). The room we stayed in was grand - high vaulted ceilings with beautiful beams, fine marble, exquisite attention to small details, fantastic views. The location is superb - the rough physical beauty of the mountain and lake, right on the doorstep of Muizenberg without having to contend with the hustle and bustle of the place, and just around the corner from charismatic Kalk Bay (without contending with the tourists). It's a great location for launching off in so many directions with different agendas. The real jewel though - and this one gets so rarely - is interacting with the owners. If you're just wanting some advice on where to go, what do, and how to book it - that they will do for you easily, but the real magic is hearing their stories about travels through Africa. Or get them to tell you about the house - it makes you feel part of a storied history of a grand old dame in Cape Town. The best places around the world are like that - the house has a life of its own, every piece in the house has a story of its own, and the owners are the engaging custodians of it all, generous with their time and with their stories. Good luck with finding that in an average modern, generic, uninteresting hotel with modern glitz and Ikea-inspired decor that you'll never remember. For me, Colona Castle is my kind of place and I'll be coming back.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnthonyF2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Tony
Thank you so much for your detailed and wonderful review. It was such a pleasure hosting you, and showing you our special haven. You definitely captured the enchanting spirit of Colona Castle and we hope to see you again soon. Wishing you the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We visit Cape Town annually, and what a find Colona Castle is.
From the moment you arrive in this tranquil setting, with sweeping views over False Bay, to the warm welcome by your host Nicole, onto the the very luxurious bedrooms, where every need is taken care of, comfort and opulence personified.
We spent 5 delightful days there, breakfasts were outstanding and information on local cuisine and attractions were well sourced and never disappointing.
We will be back time and time again, and recommend this gem highly

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thailandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Pam
Thank you very much for visiting Colona Castle. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon
Wishing you a great Easter week-end

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews