We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
7
8
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
8
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

we had a booking for two nights but left after the first. the hotel does not deserve more than one star. the rooms are very stuffy and there is a lot of noise from the traffic and the rooms upstairs. the area is very dark outside at night and there are a lot of shady characters lurking around the reception. the WIFI is always down. when you sit at the
reception, you can hear the noises people make in their bathrooms. The restaurant manager however was very kind and helpful, and made the stay more bearable. While the glacier view was the saving grace, the place is a dump.

however all the hotels here are of the same caliber. if you are staying in sonamarg,
might as well opt for the camping site.

Its a crying shame that such a gorgeous place with beautiful glacier views and such bracing weather has such awful accommodation options. Even our travel agent recommended that we do not stay in sonamarg overnight, but we did not listen.\

Now we know.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deepa_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Me, my husband and 3 cousins stayed in this hotel From 13 May 2016 to 15 May 2016. We had a two night stay in Sonmarg and it turned out to be an amazing experience. the hotel has very nice staff always ready to help. The rooms are not luxurious but provide sufficient comfort, electric heated bed work perfectly for nights with temperature as low as -3 degree when we stayed there.
Owner Mr. ashfaq is very very helpful, organised our day tour taxis perfectly and made sure we as his guest are served with best of all.
Since sonmarg does'nt have supplies of its own, we were offered best of what could be done at 8000ft of height.
We got to meet Gulshan Grover and Rahul dev as they were staying in the same hotel for a moovie shoot.
wi-fi is available in lobby and works well, but since BSNL and airtell are only 2 networks working in sonmarg, continious internet facility is not in hands of the Owners, still they tried best.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

This is one of the good places to stay at while at Sonamarg. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed a lot. The rooms are spacious and very well furnished. It is centrally heated with 24 hrs hot water. The view from the rooms is good. The staff is courteous and prompt in service. We had MAP and the food served was tasty. They even allowed us to use their kitchen to prepare food of our choice.

This hotel is also favoured by filmstars. During our visit, Gulsan Grover, Rahul Dev, Farida Jalal and few Malaysian actors were also staying there, shooting for the movie 'I am not a terrorist'

This hotel is owned by the SHO, who himself is very polite and looks after the comfort of the guests

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

This place is amazing to stay. I had last stayed in Sonamarg nearly a decade before and did not had many choice but the way this hotel has come up is appreciable.

The comfort level is such what a traveller needs. The food too is delicious.

Evening or day one can sit in the lawn and relax.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam_Fra_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We, a family of 4, visited Sonamarg from July 9 to 12, 2015 and stayed at this hotel. We had picked up this hotel based on internet search and booked two rooms directly. We found this hotel to be very good which was not expected in a small place like Sonamarg. The ambience was very appealing, the staff was courteous and helpful, the rooms were clean and cosy. The rooms given to us had a fantastic view of glacier and mountains. The restaurant served us hygienic and well prepared dinner and breakfast, especially the non-vegetarian dishes were very good. The person serving our table was very prompt and attentive. As the rooms were cold in the night, the hotel staff provided us with electric blankets. We had two clear days at Sonamarg and the weather was good. We spent a day visiting Thajiwas Glacier & Baltal and on the second day had an adventurous drive to Zero Point, Drass and
Kargil War Memorial.

However, the check-in process was not very smooth as the Reception Desk could not connect up with the payment already made as advance. One of the room initially given to us had lot of noise coming from kitchen exhaust, but the staff promptly managed to change it. Somehow, the WiFi signal was not strong enough in the rooms to be of any use. I wish that the hotel staff check the amenities in the room thoroughly before the visitors arrive - for example, in one of the rooms the switch of electric kettle had to be kept pressed manually to remain on and in another room, it gave electric shock on touching. Also, the seat cover in one of the washroom was not secured properly. Rates charged by taxi for local sight seeings, although facilitated by the hotel, were exorbitant - may be hotel can help their customers better in this regard.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and it contributed significantly to the success of our exclusive trip to Sonamarg.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKBabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews