We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fresh, home cooked Italian food!”
Review of La Storica di Asso

La Storica di Asso
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Asso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$65
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 May 2017

My husband & I dined here for our 1st wedding anniversary after finding other reviews on Trip Advisor. We were staying in Nesso, so it was a good 45 minute drive, but was worth it. The drive took us in land, where we were able to enjoy other scenery other than the lake.

When we arrived we didn't know what to expect from the outside view, which is more or less a door in the side of a wall, however, inside was lovely. It had it's own style, which was a little of everything, & worked on every level. The owner, who was also the chef came to us & helped to translate the menu, we speak little Italian. My husband is a veggie, & he was able to tell us about the meat free dishes.

Both our meals were amazing. My husband having cheese to start & homemade fresh pasta with red wine sauce, I had duck to start & steak with a stilton sauce. All the food was amazing, it was fresh, homemade where it could be & delicious. We opted for a white wine, which again was very good.

Over all, it was a fabulous experience, wonderful food, with great personal service. The atmosphere was romantic, cosy, & personal. We couldn't recommend this restaurant enough, & encourage a visit during your stay around Lake Como.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank milly_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016

Pleasant setting in 'historic' building and town. Home-made pasta and desserts and excellent meat. Relaxed service. Family firm.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trekillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing environment! Fantastic food! Very polite staff!
Great pasta!! Had a great time with family!
Certainly a place to enjoy!!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 970anar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Dinner with friends - Italians and Belgians and I'm Swedish. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, the atmosphere and the friendly staff. We all had a selection of 9 anti pastis. Do not order main course after this! We were so full we had to leave most of the last dishes. The taste, the combinations, the quality and the presentation - top mark! I wish I had a restaurant like that at home!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank gunillah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Whilst staying in Bellagio we searched for the best Italian food experience we could find. We found La Storica di Asso on Tripadvisor in Asso, a small town about 30 minutes drive from Bellagio.

This was one of the best food experiences we have ever had. The restaurant is run by a few co-owners who all ooze passion for their food, wine and good service.

We had the set menu for EUR 45 each which included: a bottle and a half of red wine, a huge starter - 8 plates of different dishes shared between two, a t-bone steak main with potatoes, a desert of our choice from 8 different home made options, desert wine, espresso, limonchello and a pot of sweets. We could barely walk home!

The food was excellent but more importantly the service by the co-owners is exceptional. Eat here if you want an experience you will never forget and go with an empty stomach.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark24s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Storica di Asso also viewed

 

Been to La Storica di Asso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.