We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Must' if you are Assos!”
Review of La Storica di Asso

La Storica di Asso
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Asso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$65
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Absolutely amazing food served by lovely people, I would highly recommend this place. Be warned, the portion sizes are very generous!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank djc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osteria L, Proprietario at La Storica di Asso, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019
Google Translation

Oh Mamma Mia :) Grazie Mille Carissima della Bella Recensione Speriamo di Rivederti ..un bacio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018

We booked this restaurant based on reviews here and also because our accommodation hosts recommended it also. Small, local authentic family restaurant in a very small non-touristy Italian town around 30mins from Como. The menu is in Italian but the waiters were great and explained all in English giving us recommendations. Also honestly telling us when we were ordering too much. Rightly so, as were well and truly stuffed with the 4 dishes we ordered. It was a lovely evening. The only thing I would question was the prices, the price of the menu was super expensive for a small family run trattoria/osteria. Same, if not more expensive than some of the places in Como and other tourist towns. I expect to pay for good food, but felt that it was a little overpriced. Perhaps as so popular these days. Other than that, a perfect evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Based on reading comments here, we made a booking. Call back was quickly after we hung up as it was busy. Our number was a foreign number, so it was good impression to start with. I like its setting a lot, which has a lot of items in harmony and it feels Italian. The service was very friendly and the whole evening was filled with jokes and laughter. I had Parma ham to start with and the bread went with it was hollow inside so it was a great base to present the delicious ham yet not heavy with flour to fill you up. And my tagliatelle was divine with mushroom and truffle sauce.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank Flying88_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Located in the back streets of Asso, this is a locals restaurant. No English menu, but the most friendly waiter who explains everything. Been to Venice, Pisa, Verona, Umbria, Tuscany... this was the best. Food, service and friendliness just as it should be. If you are within 20km then drive to visit.... highly recommended !

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank phil888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

From the moment you enter this restaurant it is a delight! The atmosphere and service is second to none and the waiters make you feel like you’re a family friend.
The menu is in Italian but it is translated for you. I’m not sure exactly what the names of the dishes were but they were all excellent to the point you eat so slowly and savour every mouthful because you don’t want it to end!

We had a beef tartare, meat with fried breads to start, lamb spaghetti and prawn, porcini and truffle tagliatelle and then fruit tart and lemon gelato.

We were upset that we only found this restaurant on our last night around Como, we would happily have eaten there every night!
You do need to book though, they are obviously very popular, and rightly so.

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank freckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Storica di Asso also viewed

 

Been to La Storica di Asso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.