We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
45
111
60
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
111
60
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on arrival nearby shops great hotel life guards bed apartment rooms are clean outdoor pool air con fatima balcony portugal sunbeds toaster receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in July 2017 for a week. We are 27/28 year old couple and we visit monte gordo as my partners sister lives in the nearby town, Vila real.
We had high expectations of the hotel as it has been advertised as a 4*.
Our first impression of the hotel was that it was clean and in a good location with a short walk to nearby shops and the beach.
The room was immaculate and newly refurbished however quite pokey but absolutely fine for the two of us.
Rooms are equipped with a mini fridge and air con and the towels are changed daily if you require it. The pool and seating areas are kept extremely clean and there is a good amount of sun loungers and umbrellas. We always managed to get a spot around the pool during the day.
We were a bit disappointed that we had to wait until 2 o clock to check in but that is to be expected and was partly our fault for not checking it out before we arrived.
Both mine and my partners honest opinion is that it just scraped into the 4* category. We felt that the hotel lacked in character, atmosphere and unique touches that you often find in a good 4* hotel, especially at night. Although there is a bar it is hardly ever used and rarely manned unless you pop your head round for one of the waitresses to help. There isn't any entertainment and the hotel lacks the community/friendly environment you expect at night time on holiday. No one seems to sit outside in the communal seating areas and we spent a lot of our time out and about or sat on the balcony.
The food was fine, breakfast was tinned hot dog sausages, fried and scrambled egg, mushrooms and beans. There was however a good selection of other continental options.
The staff are very friendly and work extremely hard and as said previously the hotel was very clean.
In conclusion I don't think we would return to the hotel as our mutual feeling was that it was nothing very special and lacked any special care or detail by the management however if you are looking for a clean and comfortable night stay and not stopping for the hotel and facilities it offers it would be perfect for you.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rachelaharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Had seen this apartment/hotel when we were here last year and decided if we came back we would like to stay here. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very central to shops restaurants and beach. The staff were excellent. Very friendly and efficient. Any request we had was seen to immediately. We stayed in a one bed apartment which was roomy and clean and had all the facilities needed. The pool area was cleaned on a regular basis.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Stayed in Alba one bed roomed apartment May 21st to 28th. Was very satisfied with the apartment and standard of hygiene in the hotel. It is located between the town and beach. Fatima the receptionist was very friendly and so helpful ..always interested in how we spent our day and full of information on bus times etc. nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be back next year. Monte Gordo is a quiet town --not much night life but has the best beach in Portugal well staffed with life guards and sun beds..even supplying all aids for the infirm. No Stags or Hens.....not suited to the young but perfect for the over 50's. Some lovely restaurants and quiet bars and coffee shops. The Alba is in the ideal location for beach, town and bus terminal. Looking forward to my return.

Room tip: overlooking the pool also gives you a good view of the town and tree lined street
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is 4 star in everything but nature. The rooms are clean and well kept and the building itself and associated amenities (pool etc) are modern and well kept (although cleanliness of the balcony table was poor).

However, it's like staying in a self catering apartment block which is just manned on a 24 hour basis. Don't ask for any of the services offered - e.g.for the wash and iron I was told to come back the next day with no timescales offered, as "they had people checking in that day".

As for the response on a quite serious leg injury, I was told not to trust the local doctors and that I'd be better off in my own country - a number was scribbled down for us to make an appointment in Villa Real and we were wished luck.

And don't ask for a coffee at the unmanned bar even though it's supposed to be open. You are only inconveniencing the staff.

This place is not 4 star service, not even close. We were friendly and open but the response was anything but.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesE2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is located a stones throw away from the beach, there are a few restaurants and coffee shops nearby, although, nothing to write home about, you would probably have to drive to the nearest town (vila real de santo António) to have a nice meal in a restaurant that matches your expectations. It is nice that it is so close to the border with Spain as it makes for a nice day tour to the land of "nuestros hermanos" where the tapas are to die for.

As for the hotel facilities, it is very clean and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated, although, you do have to pay for every spa service individually, e.g. To use the sauna it is 6€ per person for 15 minutes???
And all other spa services like, pool, steam room, etc, are paid separately for a restricted time limit (this is not disclosed as such in the hotel description and feels like a trap when you get there).

I decided to not use the spa facilities at all as I felt cheated, but that did not take away from the lovely time I spent in this property.

The hotel restaurant could probably do with more services other than just breakfast, there is no lunch, dinner or room service available...

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Samir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews