We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusioned beyond recognition”
Review of Samsara

Samsara
Ranked #23 of 701 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$37
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A different way to enjoy in Maspalomas. International cuisine for share with oriental flavors. Intimate and original surrounded by nature in the south of Gran Canaria.
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

Ate a late dinner at Samsara as a group of 9 people. Concept at restaurant is dishes large enough to share. So we had a hard time coordinating what to buy. As food arrived it turned out some dishes were bigger than others. Rice were a little sparse, we had to ask for more. In fact, I am not sure that everybody got enough to eat. Food was really tasty, however. Price medium range. Service random and rare, but we got through it all.

Thank Benjamin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Hi Benjamin O

We know than on a first visit our offer is a bit surprising. Anyway we try to help as much as we can and we always explain than for a table of 9 people is recomended to order twice portions for share, not only 1. Anyway we recomend it, and you always decide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 252 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2014

Our last night in gran canaria so we came here, my husband was sceptical at first but overal he enjoyed it food was good and would go again people did get a table but advise to book

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pauline042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Hi pauline042

Thanks a lot for your words, I hope to offer you our work on your next visit to Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

In order to qualify for an "outstanding" review a restaurant needs to score heavily in three areas. Ambience,Staff quality and Food quality. In all three areas Samsara is outstanding.
Ambience. The moment you walk into this place it takes your breath away. You really do believe that you are being transported into the Far East with all the wonderful artefacts on display.
Staff. They are wonderful and could not be more attentive and helpful in their explanation of the menu. Where else would you be told not to have a starter each, but share one, and the same is said of the main course.(The consequence of this is that our two meals here were the most reasonable we ate in our week to Maspalomas.)
Food. You could not say that the menu is the most extensive that you would find but WOW the tastes were incredible. The presentation on the plates/bowls was truly amazing and where did they get the crockery that they use.
An outstanding restaurant which we visited on two occasions BUT please book because they are always fully booked notwithstanding the fact that many tables are empty if you just call in !!!!
" I love Cardiff" !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RaisdaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi RaisdaleCardiff

Really thanks a lot for your words. It's really nice to find people than enjoy our work.
From Maspalomas to Cardiff with love :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014 via mobile

A fabulous restaurant tucked away in gran canaria, the food and service was marvellous I will recommend to anyone to go .

Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi robert k

Really thanks a lot for your words and for find us :)
We hope to offer you again our work in your next visit to Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

We came on a Sunday night after all the great below reviews and we were very keen to try it out. We walked through this beautiful venue around 9_pm and find a nice waiter which kindly asked the manager if we could sit down. The manager question then was..."when are you leaving the island?" I said "tomorrow" he replied "sorry we are fully booked then"and turned away. Wow! God knows why! I counted 3 tables full and the fourth one was paying the bill We came back for an after dinner drink. I can only recommend this place by the lovely atmosphere and relaxing ambience. The rest remain a question mark.

4  Thank Valerio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi Valerio A

Yes I know, there's some people who prefer to spend his time writing bad reviews than calling to do a booking.

This is specially "funny" when you discover our restaurant on TA and you know perfectly than most of our bad reviews are because we are usually fully booked...

I'll try to explain dear Valerio than we couldn't offer you a table empty but booked for another customer (in your country the restaurants do that?).

Anyway dear Valerio, you can do with your time what you prefer. If you find more interesteng to write bad reviews than to have a dinner, then you have choosen the right one.

Have a nice holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samsara also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing