We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BlueBay Beach Club(San Agustin)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos Amazonas(Playa del Ingles)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beverly Park Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$355
US$174
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bohemia Suites & Spa(Playa del Ingles)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Dorotea(Playa del Ingles)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$543
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
156
224
127
40
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
224
127
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fananimation teampool baroutdoor stageblock cself serviceitalian nightfree busmini fridgesunbed situationchicken nuggetsbusy hotelfizzy drinkshot dogsshopping centreno air conditioningthemed nights
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Arrived back yesterday from Gran canaria. Our stay at the Dunas Mirador was a mostly pleasant one on the positive side the overall hotel cleanliness is good, the room we stayed in was comfortable and clean, the room was cleaned daily maintaining the standard. There was no air conditioning in the room which was needed however there is a ceiling fan at least although not the best but better than nothing.

The restaurant food was varied although yes a little repetitive but considering this hotel caters for a wide range of palets it does a good job. I do not eat everything and can be a little fussy however I always found something to eat. The food areas are clean the chefs do a good job of keeping the food replenished continually
.
The waiting staff do a good job of keeping the tables clear. The negative for the restaurant is the staff could do with being a little more friendly although there are a couple of the staff who did acknowledge us and appeared to be happy in their jobs. On the whole the rest do not with one older lady completely ignoring us when we would thank her for clearing the table. I know this is a tough job however if all of the staff appeared happier in their jobs it would add to the atmosphere of the restaurant.

The pool area is nice the sunbed situation can be a little tricky as it can be busy with a lot of them gone quite early. The pool side bar staff do a good job and are friendly to the guests.

The evening entertainment - there are not enough tables and chairs with some guests having to sit on sunbeds. The animation team do work hard and yes the entertainment is not for everyone but they all appear to be happy and enjoy their jobs putting a 100% into everything they put on their selves. The only thing I noticed with the animation team is when they are putting on the entertainment their selves they ensure the guests know what is going on however when there were external entertainers coming in they did not introduce the acts which meant they would start suddenly often taking a while for the guest to realise it had started. I feel this could be improved for the benefit of the external entertainers.

Overall we had a pleasant and relaxing time although this place is not the best for non smokers such as us unfortunately there is a lot of smokers here which impacted on us particularly in the evenings there is no where to go to get away from smokers in the bar we would have to leave our clothes on the balcony overnight to air our clothes to get the smoke smell off. The other problem was while having breakfast one morning we were sitting by the open window in the restaurant there were smokers sitting outside very close with the smoke smell coming inside this was not nice at all.
The hotel could benefit from looking into designated areas where guess are asked not to smoke as this does heavily impact on other guests who do not smoke.

An issue we encountered was a late check out option we were told we would need to go to reception on the morning of our last day which we did. When we got there there was one guy in front of us the man who he spoke to checked to see if he could get a late check out by looking and asking his room number. We spoke to a young girl who did not ask us our room number or even look but quite sternly told us we could not get a late check out as they needed the room she came across as a little rude and unhelpful. We were then told to look at the book on reception for our pick up time then we can get a 45 minute slot in a courtesy room for a shower. This is a downside as we were not leaving until very late our flight was at midnight.

The hotel is good value for money, it appears to cater for people of all abilities.
unfortunately we have said we will not go back to this Dunas hotel because of the smoking issue. Perhaps the company can look at their smoking policy as it really does impact on non smokers holiday experience at this location which is a shame.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor have good access with a lift or stairs
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelamcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear angelamcwilliams
thank you very much for this detailed comment on tripadvisor. We are thankful to read that you had a good stay in general and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms and the work of our staff in the restaurant. We will of course take note of all the mentioned points to improve our services and we apologize for the inconveniences due to the non-existance of a smoking area. We will take note of this point to improve and we would be happy to welcoming you in the future so you can enjoy an even better stay at our hotel.
We wish you all the best & hope you had a relaxed flight back!
Ivanka Kathrin Klatt
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

this was the worst holiday we have ever had..apart from the bar staff and entertainment team I would not use this hotel...food and choice are very poor quality..pool and bar areas are the dirtiest ever seen...chefs very rarely wear gloves when handling food...greet and meet staff on door of resteraunt wouldn't know you were there as she didn't ever look up from her mobile... if you suffer from asthema be warned no aircon rooms just a poor quality ceiling fan with the heat you find it hard to breathe...pool staff very rude and either speak no English or refuse to...the pool area is so overcrowded it cant cope with the amount of people around it,,,people sit from 0630 onwards for the mad rush for sunbeds when it opens at 8...this is a poor hotel not worth the money....spend your hard earned money on a different hotel...yumbo a near by complex of bars food places and shops was the only saving grace...enjoy gran canaria somewhere different...

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salliegilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear saliiegilchrist

we regret very much the negative impression about our hotel. We work hard for our guest satisfaction and do our best, we are sorry it has not been possible to do it with you. Our menues change daily and weekly to try to meet the taste of our varied clientele. Hotel is advertised without airco. We take note of your criticism to improve and deepky apologize for all inconveniences.
Best regards
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I visited here between 8/9/17-15/9/16....I arrived on my own at 9.15pm as my flight was delayed for a hour.

There was only 1 person on at the reception desk, so I had to wait while she checked in the people in front of me.

Anyway after checking in, the receptionist said the restaurant shuts at 10pm (in other words, if you want something to eat you better hurry up)! So I managed to find my room with no guidance or help from anyone, put my things in my room & had to rush back to the restaurant to have something to eat!!

No air con in the room (which I knew) there was a fan on the ceiling which wasn’t much use, in this day & age I don’t know why the hotel doesn’t invest in air con.

The food was nice in the restaurant, very varied & something for everyone, there is a pool bar also if you prefer fast food snacks.

The bar shuts at 11pm, so everyone gets loads of drinks before last orders. Smokers paradise it was, seemed like everyone smoked except me!! Smoking around the pool & during the evening entertainment it was bad as the tables were full of the smokers.

Not enough table & chairs either, I wasn’t bothered as I weren’t interested in the evening entertainment.

I enjoyed my stay, weather was lovely, visited the sand dunes via the free bus from the hotel & did a boat trip & sunset trip organised by Thomson.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sharoncaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Sharoncaspar
thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in general and that you had a great time on the island. We are sorry for the inconveniences due to the smoking issue. We will take note of this mentioned points to improve our services. We hope you had a safe flight back and we would be glad to welcoming you again in the future!
Kind regards
Ivanka Kathrin Klatt Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I will start with the good bits as there isn't much to say the pools are good especially the heated one and the little pirate ship at the back of the hotel. The rooms are clean and modern. The hotel is situated right next to a very busy motorway away from everything, you have to get a taxi if you want to go anywhere unless you like a half hour walk, and the hotel is not next to the water park as Thomas cook advertise it but you can get a free bus from the hotel, the food really is awful we went as a family of 6 including 2 children and not one of us liked it and we are not fussy eaters we go all inclusive all the time but this food was very repetitive and tasteless, Be prepared for a long wait if you want toast in the morning as there is only one toaster in the hotel of this size! Then there is the sun bed situation you have to be up at 7am an waiting with the crowds to get any chance of getting one then practically sitting on each other's knees they are that tightly packed together. The evening entertainment isn't much good either it's not professional it's all done by the animation team that rehearse what they are doing that night in the day time, an you can't get a seat to watch it anyway so it's back on the sun beds in the evening. Below par for an all inclusive hotel and we won't be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Sir/Madam
we regret very much to acknowledge your negative opinion about our hotel.
We would like to have fixed your complaints during your staying, and feel sorry not having the chance to do so. AS to the food, our menus vary daily and weekly and entartainment team do a very hard work for our guests satisfaction.
We apologize for inconveniences and will take note of your comments to improve.
Regards
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We are at this resort now and by no means are we fussy.
Rooms are good people are friendly.
This is bellow par for a all inclusive, The food is limited!
Really bland and little choice!
The beer is ok, "I'm not a big drinker" the cocktail and spirits are pre mixed so there like pop!

I just think that if you are paying a premium to go all inclusive then at least the drink or food be ok.
Especially the food!

I would not come here again!
It's better to get somewhere different maybe room only because it's relatively cheap to eat out!

Poor turn out from this hotel


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Andrew

we would be happy to fix your problems in the hotel, would you please come and see us at Guest Realtions or Reception?

Thank you and regards

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews