We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,508)
Filter reviews
4,508 results
Traveller rating
2,451
1,506
379
113
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,451
1,506
379
113
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews purple bar asian restaurant infinity pool atlantico restaurant el patio atlantic restaurant gran canaria all inclusive hotel self service plenty of sunbeds branded drinks evening entertainment main buffet plenty of choice sand dunes sea front great holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 4,508 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2019

We’ve just returned from RIU Gran Canaria following a 10 night stay for our honeymoon. Upon check in, we were advised they’d kindly upgraded our room! We were handed our keys and our luggage was brought to our room within a few minutes. Our room was spotless and I believe all the rooms have minibars too. They’re restocked every other day, Coke, Sprite, Fanta, Amstel and large bottles of water are provided.

We didn’t struggle during our stay to find sun loungers. We didn’t have to get up at the crack of dawn to “reserve” loungers, we just put our towels down when we went for breakfast. We spent most of our stay around the infinity pool which did get busy by around 9:00/10:00 so you’d struggle to get loungers after that but there were always plenty around the main pool.

There are several restaurants on site, Atlantico, El Patio, Las Dunas and Kaori. The food in all restaurants was good but a little repetitive. We dined in Kaori one evening, lots of choice and delicious food. There’s also Pepe’s food which is the snack bar by the main pool but options are quite limited.

There are a few bars, Liquid, Purple and Cocktail. All serve the same drinks and branded alcohol. The cocktails we ok, some better than others. I found it unusual that ice creams weren’t available. I’ve not stayed in an all inclusive before which doesn't have a selection of ice creams available from bars.

The entertainment outside by the Cocktail bar was singers each night which were ok. I think there was also entertainment inside however we didn’t go so can’t comment. The location of the hotel is great with bars, shops and beaches a short walk away.

The hotel itself, grounds and facilities were very clean and well maintained. The hotel is huge and has beautiful grounds with lots of plants and greenery. All staff were all very polite and friendly and work very hard.

We enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank DGre_01_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

There were 6 off us on holiday, some of them had stayed previously, hotel, food and staff were excellent wold recommend this hotel. The swimming pools were cleaned nightly and there were plenty of bars to get a drink at and not like most Spanish holidays where you get local alcoholic beverage at this hotel you get known brands which are available in the U.K.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
5  Thank PMK99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Gran Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Dear PMK99999,

Thank you for your five-star rating! It's our genuine pleasure to have made your stay absolutely perfect.

We're proud to employ fantastic staff who treat our guests with the kindness and respect they deserve! We'll be sure to share your comment with them as they always show a big smile.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit. Perhaps you would like become a member of the Riu Class loyalty program. It is free and you will be rewarded for your loyalty as well enjoy exclusive benefits.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed here as a family of three with my 7 year old daughter. The hotel was clean, very modern and the grounds were highly maintained. All staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Easy to check in but we were the only people staying here from our coach. Our luggage was taken to our room whilst the facilities were explained and shown on the map. You will be given a voucher to obtain towels for the pool. Once you have your towels you can change them daily to fresh, clean ones which was great. The hotel complex is huge but we found it easy to navigate. There were two children’s pools with ample sunbeds and parasols. Some of the parasols were broken and could do with replacing. There is an adult only area with an infinity pool which we did not use much due to our daughter and the fact the water was rather cold.

The main pool in the centre of the complex was large and the water was a lovely temperature. We wondered whether it might be heated and this was the only pool you could use inflatables and balls etc. There was another pool round the corner which was a bit quieter and deeper. The main pool was noisy with music and various activities but you could escape this area if you wanted by using the other pool. We really enjoyed our time by the pool and could always find a sunbed. Some people did leave their towels on sunbeds for a long time which was annoying. We have stayed at other hotels where staff have removed these to allow others to use them and this would be a good idea here.

We ate at the main buffet restaurant ‘Las Dunas’ due to the variety and the times of opening suited our pattern.  Some of the food was cold at times which was disappointing. We ate mostly at the Italian station which had some fantastic meals. The ice cream was fantastic with a variety of flavours  and not just the regular flavours. The salted caramel was my favourite and my daughter liked the chocolate fountain.  It was busy and loud in there but we did stay there in August and the hotel was full. We never had to wait long for a table and there was anti-bacterial gel on the way in but this had run out at times and needs checking more frequently. We do not drink alcohol so are unable to review this. There were other restaurants you could book 24 hours in advance but the times did not suit our routine so we didn’t use these. There was a snack bar open from lunch time to 18:30 everyday and various drinks stations all around. You could pretty much eat all day!

My daughter loved the kids club and went every morning at her request. There were different themes everyday and three clubs dependant on the child’s age. They also had an afternoon session and kids disco in the early evening. The shows started at 21:45 and were suitable for the kids too. Some were better than others and we enjoyed the ones that were similar to the Circus. If you didn’t fancy the show you could sit outside in the bar area and listen to live music. There was also a nice walk along the sea front to the local shops through the gate of the hotel. Not sure about mosquitos as we used repellent and were lucky enough to not get bitten.  

Our room was quite small for a 4* and would be a tight squeeze if you had more than one child. The beds were two singles pushed together which was disappointing again for a 4* hotel. There was plenty of space for the clothes, a fridge with drinks, tea and coffee facilities and a TV. The drinks were replaced every two days. We were missed one day but we informed reception and the drinks were replenished very promptly. We also requested more towels and pillows which were delivered to the room promptly. The bathroom was very modern with a large shower cubicle and glass sliding door to the room. No problems with water supply.

There was a gym and spa area but we did not use the spa as children under 16 were not allowed. My husband used the gym which was ok if you want to do a cardio workout but not so good for strength training as there were no free weights. Due to this he only went once.

There were excursions available via the Tui reps in reception but we didn’t go on any. There were a mix of nationalities mainly Spanish and German.

All in all we had a great holiday and would return. The only thing we were really disappointed with was that there were no ice lollies/cones. We have been to other all inclusive hotels which have had these available and included. Thanks for a great holiday!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank 68gemmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

Great family resort, excellent entertainment, good food, clean well maintained rooms, professional service, we stayed in a private pool room which had views of the ocean the only downside to these rooms is that the public promenade was the other side of the hedge which led to some members of the public stoping and staring, would happily recommend the resort,

Date of stay: October 2018
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lostyeti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Just returned from a lovely two weeks here.
Could not fault anything The hotel was spotless and the staff couldn't .do enough for you.
one small negative, thought the speciality restaurants might have been waiter service but was buffet service.
If you couldn't get something to your taste in the restaurant there was something far wrong.
As usual where a resort is predominantly occupied by Germans loungers were "reserved" very early in the morning! having said this, there was no need to do this as there were hundreds of beds throughout the complex.
Would not hesitate in booking this hotel again. We even received a bottle of sparkling wine in our room for my husband's birthday!

Date of stay: September 2019
5  Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Gran Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear Jessie,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing Riu Hotels & Resorts! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us! It is always our main goal to archive customer satisfaction, so we always strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful memories.

Please rest assure that will share your comment with our team as they will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you.

It is a pleasure for us to find you want to visit us again! Maybe you would like to apply for the free membership of the Riu Class loyalty program and enjoy exclusive benefits.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews