We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$270
travelup.comUS$281
Trip.comUS$293
FindHotelUS$301
Agoda.comUS$270
EtripUS$301
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,930)
Filter reviews
3,930 results
Traveller rating
2,602
903
274
107
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,602
903
274
107
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bar wet room half board infinity pool gran canaria shuttle bus breakfast and dinner the hotel offers buffet style maspalomas beach winter sun each evening winter break salad sand dunes sheraton floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 3,930 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

We were after some winter sun, and the southern side of Gran Canaria has it. We found this by accept, and the initial draw was (1) there a choice of walks - including around the golf course (not that we’re golfers), and (2) this place offered serenity. It exceeded our expectations.

When we arrived we realised that despite it being spread out over 12 floors, they are broken up into three tiers, so there isn’t a huge concrete building. Each tier feels distinctive and all have their own pools. We counted 7 or 8 including plunge pools, and they make the pools a relaxing feature in each area. Our favourite was the sunset infinity pool on top of the hill with 360’ views, and a great place to watch the sunset (or catch a sunrise).

Our bedroom on 7th floor opened out to a terrace that led to another pool. The room was well laid out, with a curtain screening the bathroom area, which had twin sinks, a separate toilet (behind its own door ) and a wet room with rain shower and bath … and a window onto the bedroom. The bed was huge and comfortable. There was no iron in the room but they provided one on request.

The food was really good overall, (but a bit limited for vegetarians and probably fairly hopeless for vegans). The buffet breakfast included free-flow Cava (rose or white), and a good choice of continental pastries, meats, cheeses, yoghurt and dried fruits, and cooked options including crepes made to order. There was also a smoothie bar - again made to order.

We opted for half board, and again the food was excellent. Chefs cooked meat, fish, and stir fry to order. Each night has a different theme, eg Spanish, Asian, fish etc. The salads were varied and really enjoyable. If you had room for dessert, then a small plateful of various pastries and different sorbets were also good. House wines were reasonably priced and went down well.

The S Club bar is cozy-to-mid sized and was meant to have live entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday, but we discovered that continued on Sunday and Monday too. The musicians were talented and normally consisted of either a solo singer or a singer and guitarist. The DJ night was a bit hit and miss, but the rest gave the place an enjoyable ambience.

We did do a walk around one golf course, which brings a whole load of green into what is typically a very dry and arid landscape. We planned more … but found the different pool areas created unexpected variety that kept us glued to our books in the sun. We did hire a car for a day - easily done with the car delivered to the hotel.

The *real* delight about this place are the staff. They go above and beyond and clearly have latitude from the management to resolve issues proactively using their own initiative. (That’s so refreshing!) We found them friendly, attentive and the ones we spoke to really enjoyed working there - and it showed.

This is a great place if you want to avoid the crowds on the sea front. You really don’t need to be a golfer to enjoy this place.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve-Ruth-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satocan Hoteles, Atención al cliente/recepción at Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2021

Dear Steve-Ruth-P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review regarding your recent stay at Salobre Hotel Resort and Serenity.

We are very happy to receive this magnificent score from you, which permits us to know that you enjoyed very much your days while staying with us. Every single comment about our facilities and services are great, and your final paragraph talking about our staff make us feel really proud, we will keep working to fulfill all your wishes in your next stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Arturo Montenegro
Guest Relations Department Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Hotel
The hotel is more than 15 years old and it was definitely one of the most beautiful hotels on the island one day. Although the owners try to keep it at the same level, it isn’t as it is used to be. Old elevators take forever, rooms have old carpeted floors and cutlery in the restaurant has lost its gloss like 10 years ago. But it is very clean everywhere and the design of the hotel is still beautiful which makes up for its age. The territory is big and beautiful, everyone can find a quiet place to relax. Golf area is very big and beautiful as well, although only one course is working. We were not playing golf so it was not relevant for us, but golfers were quite happy. One note: the hotel has several levels with a lot of stairs. You have to take 2 elevators when going to level 5-11. Also, the pools are not accessible for strollers and wheelchairs, there are no ramps and the elevator don’t go to this area.

Restaurant/Bar
Food in the hotel is not at the level of 5* hotel and is on a lower level of „satisfactory“. Main restaurant has a very poor quality buffet. The food looks and tastes as if it is prepared out of cheapest deep frozen packages. 80% is junk food. All dishes are made with a use of a lot of oil of an average quality (you can taste it everywhere). There are almost no salad options, no dressings available (only mayo based sauces). It seems that people working in a kitchen are not professional cooks. The fish was often overcooked and meat undercooked (chicken raw inside), side dishes with a lack of spices and all looking the same sad color. Actually I suspect that all food is not freshly prepared but is being only warmed up.
The presentation of food is poor as well: the food is simply put into dishes on a big table and even description is sometimes missing. Even salt and pepper as well as oil and balsamic are packed into single use mini packs like the ones which you get at a gas station (same for ketchup, honey, jam, etc). There are almost no fresh vegetables served and the ones which are available don’t taste at all (tomatoes are not ripe). The fruits are served unpeeled and uncut, not very practical if you want to put some in you morning musli and the available fruit salad is made of watermelon only. It really feels like the hotel tries to save money. On top of that they have closed one part of the restaurant and people had to queue and wait for a free table.
Pool restaurant also has an average food: my Cesar salad came with a dressing which you can buy at the next supermarket. Wine was not good although expensive. Cocktails at the bar taste as if diluted with water and are served without any decoration. It feels like hospitality is missing completely. All in all it is a no go for a 5* hotel to have this kind of food and drinks.

Service
Very nice personnel, helpful and friendly. Reception was very supportive, waiters and bartenders in the restaurants were fast, friendly and helpful, and room service was very good.

Spa/Fitness
Nice spa area with beautiful view. However, it only has few saunas. Fitness is relatively small, there are cardio options like treadmill and stepper and some small weights, but not enough to do a body building program.

General
All in all it was a OK vacation. Too expensive for its level. Food was a disappointment. I don’t advise you to book AI or half board as well as include spa for the whole stay. There are several cities close to the hotel where you can get better food, but you will need a car or taxi. As for the spa, you will not use it every day, so just book single entries when you are there.

Room tip: Don’t book AI or half board. Don’t include SPA into your stay. Be aware of a lot of stairs in a hotel and confusing connection between floor
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank agunda_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satocan Hoteles, Atención al cliente/recepción at Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2021

Dear agunda_sch,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay with us and your feedback.

Regarding our facilities, the hotel is always under a renovation program that allows us to improve different areas like pools, gym and restaurants. There are also several elevators in our hotel that connects every single building and allow our guest to move around. Due to the pandemic, waiting times for a lift are increased because our guest can not share the same lift except if they are members of the same family.

Food is one of our main concerns. Monodosis are compulsory, once again due to the covid situation, our guest shouldn't share oil or salt recipients. We hope that soon we can make it like before the covid-19. Also, when one of our guest decide to eat meat or fish, our show cooking give them the option to choose how much cooked they want their food to be. Most of our food is our own production, there are several cook working in our kitchens.

Finally, we would have liked to know your feedback during your stay, we always want to help our guest and improve their experiences with us.

Kind regards,

Arturo Montenegro
Guest Relations Department Salobre Hotel*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

Stayed at salobre hotel in October for 2 weeks and it was so relaxing and enjoyable in many different aspects. We have stayed here before in 2018 and loved it then too. Although it was just getting up and running after the pandemic all the staff still went above and beyond to make our stay just right.

I do, however, think that they're wasn't quite enough staff to accomodate the larger volume of people we seen towards the end of second week, but in saying that, the staff that were there were fantastic.

The breakfast and dinner were absolutely superb, again big shout out to the chefs. Plenty of different options on the evening and all cooked in front of you to the way you like it. The crepes and omelettes at breakfast were always a winner. Of an evening, I must mention Antonio, he was so welcoming and friendly and made incredible steak and seafood options throughout our stay, absolutely lovely guy!

Going for cocktails in the S club is definitely a must, Jesus is an absolute artist in mixology and Silvia was so polite and would always go that extra mile for us, never leaving us thirsty! She also worked in pool bars during the day and would, again be ever so welcoming when she seen us.

The reception staff were exceptional, Beatrice was, again very friendly and helpful, we both had minor health issues whilst away and she did everything she could to get us on the mend, we really appreciated that!

Of an evening, the only thing I can say that slightly spoiled our experience was that sometimes service was a bit slow. It sometimes took a while to be served drinks, through no ones fault other than the simple fact, I don't think there were quite enough staff. Same with the S club, at times, there were no waiters so it would just be one guy doing the orders and making the drinks which slowed down the process. Like I say, when there were waiters this was much improved!

Overall, another fantastic stay at Salobre, which, we hope one day to return to. I think the only setbacks were, at times, the service which i'm sure will be improved as they fully open after the pandemic. Thanks to all the members of staff, in particular, Silvia, Beatrice, Antonio and Jesus, for making our stay so incredible.

Highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachmay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satocan Hoteles, Atención al cliente/recepción at Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2021

Dear Rachmay22,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for trusting us once again and write this complete review.

We are delighted to read such as positives comments about our staff, and for sure we will share your words with Silvia, Beatrice, Antonio and Jesus. We are always trying our best to fulfill all our guest's wishes and we feel very proud seeing how much you appreciate.

Regarding your suggestions, we are grateful for them and we will use them to improve our services.

We would love to see you the next time again with us.

Kind regards,

Arturo Montenegro
Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2021

Excellent from arrival to departure. After being closed for 1 and 1/2 years due to the dreaded virus the hotel has returned to its previous standards. Staff are helpful, the hotel is clean, the rooms are great, the food is amazing and above all, everything is un rushed. Even when full, the hotel has an air of space, you can find a space at one of the several pools, and never seems busy.

Room tip: Rooms over looking the golf course have best views
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golferalan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satocan Hoteles, Atención al cliente/recepción at Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear Golferalan1,

First of all, we are more than glad to see you again in Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity.

It's great to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very happy to see how much you apreciate the effort that we make everyday to keep being at our previous standards. Thanks for all your lovely comments about our facilities and services.

We can't wait to see you once again.

Kind regards,

Arturo Montenegro
Guest Relations Department Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

First and foremost the staff were amazing. Always wanting to help even when busy and loved hearing some of their stories. The rooms and balcony were very nice and facilities very good.
The breakfast was my favourite meal of the day with a great selection. Dinner was also good with different cuisines. Lunch at the pool bar needs improving, not staff fault just the selection is poor.
Pools were lovely, but the children pool and playground needs a big improvement. So much space to make the pool bigger as well as the playground.
In the week was lovely and peaceful, but the weekend all of a sudden double the amount of people, beware of day passes.

Room tip: Busiest times are the weekends. The hotel gives out day passes for pool and spa. If you want lunch by the pool arrive earlier as the spanish tend to eat lunch late.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jamest388
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satocan Hoteles, Atención al cliente/recepción at Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear jamest388,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your last holidays.

This amazing review let us know how beautiful your experience with us have been. We are delighted to read your comments about our facilities and food and we will take your suggestions seriously in order to improve our services. Finally, thank you very much for your comments regarding our staff, that makes us feel very proud.

We would like to see you very soon staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Arturo Montenegro
Relaciones Públicas Salobre Hotel Resort & Serenity*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews