We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Worst EVER!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We visited the hotel in June 2009. I made reservations through internet, got confirmation. requested pickup service from the airport, but for some reason never got response from hotel.
We traveled from Alaska, arrived after 2 days of travel. since we hadn't heard from the hotel about airport pickup, we found the shuttle and took it to the hotel. by the time we checked in we were exausted. then the reservations manager descended upon us creaming at us why we didn't take the cab that was waiting for us at the airport. He just started screaming at us, didn't even bother to ask why. I was very tired and frustrated by now, trying to explain to him that I had not received a response on my inquiry. He kept yelling at us that now the driver was waiting outside the hotel to get paid for his trip. I was very tempted to tell the reservations manager to shove it, but I felt sorry for the maltese driver who is just trying to make a living.
the taxi ride would have cost us about $34 one way, while the shuttle bus cost us half that for the round trip. The reservations manager should have made us aware of the options. I had a feeling he gets a commission for arranging the taxi.

when we got finally up to our room, the air conditioning wasn't working, neither was the fan. the maintenance man was the only friendly staff we met at the hotel the entire time we were there, the rest were either indifferent, or just plain rude. the room was spacious, overlooking the pool,clean, so was the balcony and the bath. this is probably the only part of our 10 day trip that was positive. We used the bath and balcony to clean and dry our dive gear.

there was no literature in the room explaining that a fee was required to use the safe and the refrigerator. No one advised us about the fact that you could buy minibar supplies for 12 Euros to get the refrigerator turned on for the entire stay, compared to have to pay for the more expensive refrigerator fee. We were annoyed that we had to pay for these services at all.

We had booked with half board, so when we went to dinner the first night we were turned back because we were wearing shorts - no one had advised us there was a dress code. After changing and entering the dining room, we observed several people who wore shorts and tank tops - we were very upset and felt discriminated against. My husband got his drink after he had finished his meal. My wine was low quality.
The food was the worst I have ever tasted anywhere. the resort should be ashamed to put something like it on a buffet, not to mention in a so-called 4 star resort. The vegetables were canned, the meat overcooked, the even commited the sacrilege of smothering mussels in lard! We had requested the 2nd seating for dinner - definitely a mistake, a lot of the dishes were empty and not being refilled, what was there was often cold. At breakfast, the coffee out of the machine was brown water if you got the machine to work, same applied to the juice machine - you either got sirup or water. We also observed unsanitary service practices in the dining room: a couple was seated at a table that was set for 4 and the extra silverware was left on the table. Once the couple left after dinner, the waitress took the silverware and put it back into their silverware drawer, including the napkin! She would have no idea if the guests may have used that flat ware or napkin.it makes you wonder what else is happening behind the scenes. When experiencing such disappointing culinary fare and restaurant practices - I found the dress code ludicrous.

the information in the room provided a hotel extension for laundry service. when we called it no one answered. My husband had to go to the front desk to find out how it works. We were told someone would pick it up (which they did) and it would be delivered the next day. We waited the next day and when the laundry did not appear the following day we called the front desk and got the snippy answer it wasn't delivered because we have to be in the room to receive it.
Because of our dive schedule, we spent very little time in the hotel - that was our only saving grace. If the dive shop hadn't been right outside the hotel (that's why we booked it in the first place), we would have looked into moving somewhere else. The dive shop by the way was great.
I noticed that the pool area is only cleaned once a week - gross! I didn't use the pool at all.
Make sure to check your bill at check-out. They tried to charge us for dinner although it was included in the package we had booked. it took over half an hour to get the bill fixed, and we were running late to get to the airport.
All together, the worst experience EVER! I have worked in the hotel industry for over 12 years and I cannot imagine how they can get away with running this resort like this. I can't see why anyone would ever return for another visit. This hotel and it's management are a disgrace for the industry.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AKGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    720
    474
    248
    229
See reviews for
576
908
176
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had a grand stay at the " Paradise Bay Hotel" in Jan for a week and i must say the hotel is very good . We went B/B and the food was varied and plentiful .The rooms are off a good size and unsuite . The bus stop is just out the front off the hotel and the service is good .There is a indoor pool that is a good size . Over all i would stay there again

Tom and Anne Belfast

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tok59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Yet another great stay for our Christmas holidays. Food was lovely on Christmas eve & Christmas day. The a la carte restaurant by the reception serves some lovely food. Loved the steak with the pepper sauce. Great indoor pool for the winter months.Will be back in 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Malta, a place we love and have been visiting for over 23 years. First time staying in Paradise Bay, however have stopped there many times for a drink whilst waiting for the Gozo Ferry which is only five minutes walk away.

We upgraded to a bay view room which faced south and the large balcony was perfect for catching the afternoon sun. The room was large and comfortable with iron/board, trouser press, two comfortable armchairs and table. Tea and coffee facilities were also provided, we took our own tea having read previous reports. The bathroom was spacious and cleaned daily. The only negative comment I can make is that the room and balcony were not swept at all during our visit nor was the ashtray emptied on the balcony table.
The food during breakfast and dinner was good although breakfast could have been hotter. There was a good choice, something for everyone. The pool area is large and has plenty of sun beds. The indoor pool was excellent, large and warm and both pool's water quality was checked daily.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful particularly in the restaurant.

The only downside to our week was the fact that on Thursday there was a Maltese wedding and guests began arriving the night before. The Maltese (wonderful as they are) are not the worlds quietest. Also there were two saints days on the Friday and Tuesday and the hotel filled up with more Maltese. All I can say is that if late night door slamming was an Olympic sport, the Maltese would get Gold every time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Recently back from a three week stay at this Hotel were I have stayed many times and i love it. Always a warm welcolme by staff who are very friendly and helpful. I am vegetarian and find that there is a good selection of dishes for me at meal times. Room was very spacious and cleaned everyday.Great location and although road works during this stay it did not take any longer to travel around the island than normal. New bus service has meant greater improvement in travel in that buses run later to/from the hotel than in the past. Yes it is an isolated position but that is one of the attractions for me. Pleased to have Monica and Cyril back this winter and thank them for there hard work and dedication to ensure that we had a variety of entertainment during the day and evening. Well deserves its 4 star rating. I look forward to my return there in March 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms either have a sea view or bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
5.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.4 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
4.2 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
2.2 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
3.3 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price range (per night): $80 - $263
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing