We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at the grand”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Stayed here for 1 week at the end of June.
Many good things have been said about this hotel & I agree with all of it, there wasn't a lot that you could fault at all.
Check in was quick, room was good & everything worked.
The balcony was large enough for 2 chairs, a table, and 2 sun loungers.
The breakfast/waiting/bar staff were all well presented, pleasant to talk to and did their jobs quickly & efficiently.
Breakfast was a bit of everything, which included salads, better than most hotels.
Reception staff booked us on a boat trip in about 1 minute when we asked & didn't charge us for it.
Bar & mini bar prices were quite reasonable for a hotel (€3 for half litre of local beer).
They do a BBQ buffet 3 times a week on the roof & we ate there twice. Big table full of cold stuff & salads, table with a choice of hot food & a table full of puddings. As much as you like for €22, well presented & nice to eat.
The underground garage access was so steep and curved it frightened the life out of my wife, but I loved it.
The part that we were in, room 406, immediately above the reception, has a centralised A/C system with the compressors/condensors in the underground garage. These fed a chilled water ringmain which fed the room fancoil units, instead of the "normal" split A/C units that you usually get in hotels. This made the cooling fan very quiet, in fact it was so quiet you couldn't hear it when you had it on low speed. The engineers among you will know what I'm on about. I don't know what the part of the hotel overlooking the pool had.
One morning we were sitting having breakfast when a large black BMW with a police escort pulled up outside & a well dressed lady got out & came into the hotel. As most of the staff were looking at her, I asked who it was. The president of Malta no less.
Anyway, lovely hotel, great to stay, & if we come back to Gozo, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Well done guys.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, the view of the harbour is brilliant. 4th floor is the same level as the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darsetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel, as can be seen from your comments on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for this, as well as the extensive information all around. We also appreciate your feedback on our service & staff, which is very encouraging ... knowing that we are on the right track.

While hoping that you choose the Grand Hotel again, we remain at your assistance.

kind regards,
Anna Refalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2015

great place to stay,staff are really friendly and helpful ,the scenery you get from the hotel is amazing i would recommend this hotel room tip be sure to book a superior or standard romm with a balcony to totally enjoy the view ,, gozo is beautiful

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Lilpops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest,

We thank you for leaving your positive comments of the Grand Hotel on Trip Advisor.

the Standard Sea View & Superior Sea View rooms all come with balcony. Lower rates are also available for the basic Inland rooms, which normally come with a window.

We can see that you had a good time with us and we look forward to be of assistance again.

yours sincerely,
Anna Refalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed here for 1 week before a week's stay on Malta.

This hotel was easy to get to from the ferry, our check-in was smooth and easy with friendly, helpful staff.
The rooms were nice, spacious and clean.
My only problem (and this is a personal one) I didn't like the al la carte meal option. I am a fussy eater and on two occasions I didn't like what was on the menu so we went out for dinner. The roof terrace BBQ's were amazing.

The pool area is a little small but by the time you get back from exploring this amazing island, there were always a few sun loungers to relax on.

I would like to come back to this hotel but maybe on a B&B option, you can book and pay for the BBQ's whilst you are in resort.

Thank you Grand Hotel for a great stay

Room Tip: Book a sea view room. interior rooms do not have a balcony seem very dark and can get very stuffy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Libra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest,

While thanking you for leaving your comments of the hotel on trip advisor, we appreciate your extensive feedback, which is also being looked into.

It is in the hotel's future plan to extend the pool area for more loungers to be available. The hotel also offers courtesy service to the beaches during the summer months, mainly Ramla & Hondoq Bay.

We look forward to be of assistance again in the near future.

yours sincerely,
Anna Refalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Finally found a restaurant on Gozo that serves Thai food....... The restaurant is a separate room off of the main dining room in the Grand Hotel in Mgarr, and I was the only person ding there, however the main dining room was packed, so I chose to eat on my own..... I was really looking forward to a spicy Tom Yum soup, but there were no soups on the menu, so I opted for the beef in spicy salad to start, which was bought to me by a thai looking chef...... it was delicious and also very spicy as expected.... I followed with a green curry and rice and a coffee to finish. all for €25 a glass of wine included. excellent, still hankering for the Tom Yum though!

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest,

We thank you for leaving your comments of our Thai Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

we are glad that you enjoyed the meal, and we are also passing on your comments to our Chef.

While hoping to be of service again, we remain.

your sincerely,
Anna Refalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

From time to time we stay here for one or two nights and a few months ago my 86 year old mother came to Gozo in a wheelchair. We had a few guests at the hotel and they were great with our chopping and changing. All handled with a professional and courteous manner. The staff was really accommodating. They always go the extra mile for example we left a toiletries bag and they posted it to London for us. The rooms with seaviews are large and spacious and have wonderful views over the Gozo channel.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_atoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We are glad that the Grand Hotel met with your requirements, while thanking you for leaving your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We augur that we will be again of service.

yours sincerely
Anna Refalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
8.4 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
11.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.5 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
723 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
835 reviews
21.3 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: $70 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing