We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
90
21
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
21
5
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Very surprising place! Beautiful, clean, with character, comfortable, and we could not being better received! They take good care of the details. We loved it! Nice castle to visit close to the hotel also.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulci100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place was a very nice surprise. In a small town, down through a narrow street, a sort of hidden jewel. A very interesting architectural project combined with high quality service. I was in two different rooms, they are all different and playing with the contrast between old and new parts. The old stone walls has been cleaned and are like a sculpture in each room. My only regret was not having the possibility to stay longer. But there will be new occasions.
The dinner was great too, locally produced ecological wine, and a very special grappa with ice-cream as dessert.
It is a kind of guarantee when you are in Italy... if a place is a kind of hidden or a little difficult to find, if there are almost no signs, but still you have too book in advance to get a place. Then you are in the right place.

Room Tip: Ask and tell what kind of room you ar e looking for. They are all different.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoSvevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Before we rate this accommodation it is important to understand our demographics, we are an Australian married couple in our early 50's who have been travelling around the UK and Europe for the last three months. We have have stayed at many hotels, B&B's and other forms of accommodation during this time and whilst there were others that we would rate slightly higher, this is one of the most unique and special places we've ever stayed at but it may not be to everyone's taste.

The exterior is a stone and wooden traditional dwelling for the area built in 1779 and the interior is an ultra modern building within a building. They are still adding some final touches and plan to open a spa facility in the basement in due course. It is located in a small village on the side of a hill in Jayer, Saint Marcel in the very beautiful Aosta Valley. The rooms are large, clean and very unique. I would highly recommed this place as it is like staying in a snow cave in the desert...very unexpected and out of the norm. There is a lot to see and do in the area and a vehicle is a must. A large undercover/underground car park is available on site. Getting there is a little interesting and your GPS will probably send you around the narrow streets in circles, so just follow the brown signs towards the picnic grounds and keep an eye out for the Le Coffret sign down a steep and narrow driveway. Our hosts were amazing although English was limited but not an issue. We arrived on a Monday evening and all the local restaurants were closed so Diego rang around to find out who was open, drove us to the restaurant, waited until our take away was ready and then brought us back all free of charge. Their son Olivier has a much better grasp of the English language and gave us valuable information on places of interest and spent a great deal of time helping us plan our activities. They booked restaurants for us and nothing was too much trouble.

It is a great place and well worth the effort. Give Newton a pat for us if you visit.

Great job guys...

Room Tip: They're all good. Can be a little dark in the rooms. It may not be to everyone's taste but to me it was unique and well worth it. The hosts also make this place a great place to stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMmidlifecrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This is a small BB hotel on the mountain side, rather difficult to find even with GPS. The room and bathroom design is very interesting, the old stone wall combined with modern enteriour which results a special atmosphere, this is the most attractive feature of the hotel.The only downside is the room being dark. There is no aircondition and the nights were very warm for us. Breakfast was ok, the hosts are very friendly and helpful, though not easy to communicate with them as they do not speak English. Room price a bit high.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Diego and Flaviana made our stay at Le Coffret beyond wonderful. They welcomed us with a warm hospitality rarely offered anywhere. Besides designing the coolest Chambre D'Hote with a juxtaposition of old, antique stone walls against modern and sleek design furnishings, they prepared us a home made meal like no other....Thank you, thank you, thank you. It will never be forgotten.

Room Tip: Pick the one with the old stone fireplace on the second floor......gives it rich character.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews