We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
32
50
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
50
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbeautiful placethe main roadwifipunaelvillagehoursworlddrivecampoendsurroundingsguidekmfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Clean, friendly and well appointed hosteria in the middle of the indescribably beautiful place of la puna. Basic but plentiful food with good wine list, huge comfortable rooms. Be prepared for no electricity before 530pm and after midnight- a tiny inconvenience to be able to access one of the most awe inspiring places on the planet- a geologist's and photographer's dream location.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vcooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hosteria is well located for day trips in the Puna such as Campo Piedras Pomez, Laguna Blanca or Volcan Galan. It is also a relatively comfortable yet simple place to stay in this area with clean rooms (with private bath) and a plain common room / restaurant. Nonetheless, even taking location, remoteness and logistics of the place into account, it is very poor value for money. New prices (as of 01/2014) at 150$/room/night were far too high and are in no relation to comparable accommodation in the Puna we know. We simply felt a bit ripped off there. Dinner menu in the restaurant was of mixed quality (one night it was good, the other night poor) and is not included in the price. The hotel rooms had electricity between 6pm and midnight so that energy is saved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What an absolute find this place is, complete isolation in the most stunning setting. Its 170K off the main road and realistically the only option unless you have 4WD is to go back the same way. The road itself is worth the journey with endless photo stops but El Penon is the gem at the end of the trip, the road does have its challenges but we managed fine in a Chevrolet Corsa. This is a very harsh landscape with quite literally out of the world scenery, you must do the excursions, this is the reason you make the trip. A minimum of 2 nights is required. The lodge fits in with the surroundings and once inside you are guaranteed a warm welcome. We visited in August, it was bitterly cold outside but our rooms were warm and individually heated with log burners and had double glazing to keep the icy wind out. The food is simple, wholesome and delicious and there seemed to be a never ending supply of wonderful cakes, its a fixed menu that I am sure would appeal to everyone. One minor suggestion would be to dim the lights in the dining room at night, this would make it much cosier and I think they have trouble keeping red wine at a decent temperature as it was always very very cold. We took the full day trip to the pumice desert, oh my goodness I have never seen anything like it and we had it to ourselves, not another soul for miles. The staff do everything to ensure you have a good stay, limited English and we had no problems making ourselves understoodNo mobile signal and intermittent wifi and you may have to wait for the water to heat up for a shower but believe me these are minor inconveniences, without a doubt the whole El Penon experience was on of the highlights of our Argentinian experience. And if you are visiting Salta this place is owned by the same family as Finca Valentina which is equally wonderful. Thanks to all the fabulous staff for making our stay so memorable, I really hope this place isn't spoilt by tourism in the future but I think its accessibility will always protect it. GO GO GO.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

When you reach a place in the middle of a desert, and there is nothing, but really nothing, in kms and kms, and you are at 4000 m over the sea level, you are incredibly happy to find this place, with a wonderful ambiance, very nice rooms and showers, and a comfortable living room with a fire... Room standards are very high; But because you are in the middle of nothing, electricity is only available in the afternoon till midnight or so. No wifi (at least it did not work for months, they said) and something similar happens with hot water. This does not diminish the charm of the place. But because the prizes are relatively high for local standards, one would expect a bit more from cooking and breakfast. Because there is nothing around you have to eat there. Cooking could be a bit more sophisticated and elaborated in order to fit with the general ambiance....Also offering coca tea as a courtesy upon arrival would be a good measure to fight the "soroche" the altitude sickness you will probably get at these heights...

Room Tip: Reserve in advance; few rooms available
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drohnlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosteriaElPenon, General Manager at Hosteria De Altura El Penon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your useful Tips. I inform you that after 1 month (only 1 month) without Internet Connection, the Wi Fi now works perfectly and the connection is again fully operative. As you wrote the Hotel is far away from everything, the Personal has instruction to offer a tea or a mate of local Herbs (not coca leaves since coca leaves growth in Bolivia quite far away from El Penon...) to all Guests at their arrival. We will check that this important attention will be strictly followed. I inform you that we have now add other 250 lts of hot water, taking the over capacity of the Hotel to 700 lts. Finally just a small detail: you are right there is no electricity in the Hotel and in the Village during morning and afternoon up to 5 pm, but in the living/dining room there is light, electricity and wi fi, produced by our Hotel batteries. Thanks again for your mail. Ciao fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The architect who designed this hotel did not keep into consideration the climate: the roof of both rooms and restaurant is VERY high therefore notwithstanding the central heating if you go there during the cold season you will freeze! Otherwise you will have a nice time since the hotel is conveniently located in the middle of nowhere but not far from main attractions (pumice desert, flamingo lagoon).
The dinner is basic but nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lacicalamaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews