We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp(Mabula Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Wild & Free(Mabula Private Game Reserve)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
316
277
96
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
277
96
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgethe reserveself cateringearly morningtime sharelunch and dinnersunset hillsafari guidemorning drivesouth africatennis courtswonderful experiencefood was greatwild animalsbuffet stylewide varietyhis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Excellent welcoming service, game drive was great, TV quality in rooms was poor, the Management could not change the Bar TV channels to a big sport game that was on. The staff at the pool hardly cleaned our table.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jacob891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear jacob891 -
Thank you for posting your review of Mabula Game Lodge. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and at the same time we appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you felt we could improve - we'll certainly be looking into those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

A great getaway in the bush offering good food, great safari experiences and I would highly recommend the horse back safari as the ranger heading the safari will share bush-lore knowledge from grasses to trees to animals. Worth every penny and great value for money.
I would advise pre-booking spa treatments as if a conference is occurring this may be fully booked and you will not be able to take advantage of a relaxing massage as was the case with us.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DanielEndeavours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear ulricdaniel -
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge, and for the helpful advice for future travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mabula soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sunethill, unit 45. The unit has a beautiful view, located central between main lodge and Modjaji where most activities happen. The unit was well equipped and we didnt find anything missing. The night drive was good, MK showed is nocturnal animals. The morning drive with Japie was great, he made an effort to find elephant, although we didnt but we saw hippo, rhino with baby and cheetas. The guy on the radio going on and on and on about sighting protocol was just rediculous, really have regular meetings and train staff, but not when guests can hear the radio and you expect the ranger to answer. The family acticities arranged for the 1st and 2nd was ok, whrn a person facilitates an activity they must be a peoples person, they need to love what they do and not only be there because its on the schedule. Other than the above, we found it a very pleasurable stay, the lodge was well maintained and the staff was all friendly. Thank you

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank MelaniGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear MelaniGM -
Thank you for posting your detailed review of your family weekend at Mabula. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your experience, and at the same time we appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you felt we could improve - we'll definitely be looking at those!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable. The food in the dining room (buffet) was very good. But the best part was the safari's every morning and evening. It was exciting and breathtakingly beautiful. We saw zebras, giraffes, lions, hippos, elephants and rhinos. And many others and the birds were beautiful too. I would definitely recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Not sure that there is a bad room here.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debinvabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Debinvabeach -
Thank you for sharing your awesome Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular the game drives. We're honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We visited Mabula last weekend. The lodge feels "run-down" and the rooms are very average. No bath. No bar fridge. Extension cables running from the plug point into the roof? Food quality was poor and we saw very little game. Spa was fully booked on our arrival - 14:00 on Friday..

Room Tip: No preference - all rooms seem to be similar.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wicusp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear wicusp2017 -
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mabula Game Lodge and for flagging up these maintenance issues - we really appreciate your constructive feedback and we would like to apologise that your experience fell short of the standards we pride ourselves on. All the points you have raised are being addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews