We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sandcastle(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Units(Pohara)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
269
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furnitureattention to detailabel tasmangolden baynew zealandcourse dinnerwonderful serviceacross the roadnothing is too much troubleset menuable tasman national parkfine diningcup of teawelcome drinkfresh flowersperfect stayamazing food
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Pete and his team have a wonderful lodge. We stayed there for the a long weekend and loved it! Perfect rooms, fresh flowers from the garden, beautiful gardens and excellent ideas from Pete! I would highly recommend visiting! Thanks Pete!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a little gem in Takaka district. The host, Steve, is amazingly attentive without being overbearing. The setting is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully furnished and the restaurant was very good too. Had a very enjoyable Labour weekend and anniversary here. We even got an Anniversary card in our room and the restaurant menu was personalised too. The attention to detail makes you feel very special. Would gladly go back and recommend to anyone who could do with a relaxing break and being spoilt.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greiggarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome, amazing food, superb service. What more can we say. This lodge only has 10 rooms and as a result the service is simply outstanding - personal handwritten welcome notes await you in your room, but from the moment you check in you feel the warmth of the welcome. Steve is the ultimate front of house guy while Pete is the superb chef behind the scenes.

The atmosphere the entire weekend was warm & welcoming - the lovely log burner set the mood as it was wet & cold outside, then add to that divine cocktails, beautiful food & great company. It was a beautiful venue for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we will definitely return.

Thanks Steve & Pete for an amazing weekend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheryle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Ratanui is a truly fabulous place to stay. We were warmly welcomed by Steve and shown our room which was beautifully appointed with everything you could wish for - huge bathroom with very effective shower and heater , heater in the bedroom, TV and fridge and lovely seating area under the window. The property is just across the road from the beach which is spectacular. The Lodge has lovely gardens with an outside pool and spa. There is a very nice spacious lounge area where cocktails are served prior to dinner. We would highly recommend dinner. Steve, Peter and team create a lovely atmosphere and superb dinner. Breakfast was a buffet or you could have cooked. A perfect place to unwind but within easy distance of Takaka and area and all its attractions. Golden Bay is a beautiful region and well worth a visit. We will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

On our fourth trip to New Zealand, we also visited Abel Tasman National Park, and the Ratanui Lodge is an excellent place to visit the region
Only regret : why didn't we go there on our previous trips !!??

Room Tip: Very nice and calm rooms, the sea is just across the road,fantastic dinner Steve is a fantastic host !!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mamapewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews