We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved this place”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went for a few days R & R and that is exactly what I got at Ratanui Lodge. A warm welcome from Steve, cup of tea and truffles, fresh flowers and a personalised card welcoming me in my room. A lovely comfortable bed, good shower and very quiet rooms apart from the wonderful early morning bird song, bliss. Beautiful gardens with a small pool and spa pool which I enjoyed on my arrival.
Steve and Pete are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble, in fact it's no trouble at all, they love it. I dined in the restaurant one evening and had a wonderful evening with great food and service. I cannot fault this place or the hosts in any way and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room, they all face outwards to the garden and are themed differently but to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tavuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pete and his team have a wonderful lodge. We stayed there for the a long weekend and loved it! Perfect rooms, fresh flowers from the garden, beautiful gardens and excellent ideas from Pete! I would highly recommend visiting! Thanks Pete!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a little gem in Takaka district. The host, Steve, is amazingly attentive without being overbearing. The setting is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully furnished and the restaurant was very good too. Had a very enjoyable Labour weekend and anniversary here. We even got an Anniversary card in our room and the restaurant menu was personalised too. The attention to detail makes you feel very special. Would gladly go back and recommend to anyone who could do with a relaxing break and being spoilt.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greiggarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome, amazing food, superb service. What more can we say. This lodge only has 10 rooms and as a result the service is simply outstanding - personal handwritten welcome notes await you in your room, but from the moment you check in you feel the warmth of the welcome. Steve is the ultimate front of house guy while Pete is the superb chef behind the scenes.

The atmosphere the entire weekend was warm & welcoming - the lovely log burner set the mood as it was wet & cold outside, then add to that divine cocktails, beautiful food & great company. It was a beautiful venue for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we will definitely return.

Thanks Steve & Pete for an amazing weekend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheryle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Ratanui is a truly fabulous place to stay. We were warmly welcomed by Steve and shown our room which was beautifully appointed with everything you could wish for - huge bathroom with very effective shower and heater , heater in the bedroom, TV and fridge and lovely seating area under the window. The property is just across the road from the beach which is spectacular. The Lodge has lovely gardens with an outside pool and spa. There is a very nice spacious lounge area where cocktails are served prior to dinner. We would highly recommend dinner. Steve, Peter and team create a lovely atmosphere and superb dinner. Breakfast was a buffet or you could have cooked. A perfect place to unwind but within easy distance of Takaka and area and all its attractions. Golden Bay is a beautiful region and well worth a visit. We will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
13.6 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
360 reviews
18.9 km away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
182 reviews
21.2 km away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
28 reviews
25.2 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
426 reviews
0.7 km away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range: $248 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing