We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silversands, Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our seven day honeymoon vacation was wonderful! The concierge staff was exceptional with Fernanda and Eduardo explaining our vacation package as well as ensuring we take advantage of all amenities available to us-- including what the other Secrets resorts associated could offer us NOW while here. Food choices and quality were above expectations. Entertainment from the shows to daily activities provided a wide range of choice and good times.

Room Tip: you can't loose with ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,254 - 6,258 of 10,795 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous week here at SSS (11/30 - 12/7.) We used USA Transfers for our roundtrip transportation - they were great -- ready for us when we arrived, and exactly on time for our pick up. Will definately use them again.

Upon our arrival, we were escorted to the Preferred Club Lounge for our check in, as we are UVC members. We received our upgrade. We stayed in 4301 which was a third floor ocean view unit. The room was very large, and very clean with a great jacuzzi tub!

We were very happy with all of the food, if I had to pick a favorite restaurant, it would have to be Portofino.... it was sooooo good! (But they all were.... really!) And food is a pretty high priority for us... no matter how lovely a resort can be, if the food is iffy, then it ruins everything.... NOT the case here. If I had to make one suggestion, it would be the quality of the desserts.... for some reason, I just didn't like those... the cheesecake had a very odd flavor to it, as did the brownies. But, for what it's worth, my husband loved the cookies served at the CoCo cafe!

I thought the beach was just fine. No, we didn't swim in the ocean, but we rarely do anyways. The staff worked and worked and worked to get rid of the seaweed, and we thought they did an awesome job. The sand was nice and white and very soft. So great job to that crew!

There are so many swimming pools at this resort! We were a bit surprised though, at how brisk the infinity pool was! Wow -- quite shocking! We couldn't stay in very long. I think the only pool that was heated was the main activity pool - because although there were so many pools, hardly a soul was in them. So I think that could be an improvement. The hot tub could have been a bit warmer as well.

The staff were awesome. Really. From the Entertainment Crew to the bar staff, to the waiters and waitresses who ran constantly around the pool area and beach to get your drink orders... wow... they really work hard. Special thanks to Nery - who brought us our poolside drinks with a smile all of the time. And I am sorry that I did not catch the waitress's name who served us down on the beach - she wears glasses and has a fabulous attitude and smile!

If you get a chance - take the kitchen tour on Thursdays - the chef from Himitsu led the tour and he was pretty great! The shows in the evenings were ALL awesome as well.

Thanks also to the following: Pedro - World Cafe; Luis and Osman - SeaSide Grill; Karla, Olga, and our favorite bartender Josh - in the Preferred Club Lounge. Keep up the great work!!

The only negative people I encountered were the 2 UVC reps - Eduardo and David, which is really too bad, considering I am a UVC member. They were condescending and rude. :(

I think I covered everything. You won't be disappointed if you book here. Have fun and happy travels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear h40,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway at Secrets Silversands.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service as you said they really try hard to serve our guest’s. We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed all the food specially our Italian restaurant Portofino.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us and also for your feedback, both are very important for us.
We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our first trip to Mexico, we had a wonderful Sandals holiday in St Lucia last year and doubted this place could live up to that standard but it actually exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival we were greeted by William who, like all the staff, greeted us with a cheery "Hola" and promptly offered a refreshing towel and a cool drink . Check in was efficient and speedy and we were delighted with the comfort and standard of our room we were even offered a pillow menu.We were cossited and looked after by all the wonderful staff from Mercedes who ran back and forward on the beach all day keeping our glasses topped up to Rebecca in the dining room who always ensured we were ushered to our seats with the utmost efficiency and charm. All the restaurants were well maintained and clean, no dirty pots were left on the table and the quality and choice of food was second to none. If there was any slight disappointment it would be the sea bathing as it was rather rocky, the lads on the beach worked like trojans to keep the sand in immaculate order . Like Essex Foodzilla I would have to confirm that a visitor would be hard pressed indeed to find any fault with this wonderful holiday venue.

Room Tip: Depends upon what you are looking for, we were quoted a very expensive price for an upgrade to a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StokesleyMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear StokesleyMoy,

It is a pleasure to read through such a wonderful overview of your visit to Secrets Silversands. We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

Our primary goal is to exceed your expectations we are glad that you felt that way. We are also happy to know that you have enjoyed our warm staff’s attentive.

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments of our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just returned from our Secrets Silversands trip on the first week of December and had a great time. The resort was lovely, although there could be a few improvements. We liked that there were many different restaurants to choose from, but were not overly impressed with the food. Our least favorite was the japanese restaurant which was quite surprising since it was the only one that required a reservation. The food was just average to slightly above for most things. We had one unfortunate experience at Portofino, but the Matre D went above and beyond to make up for it and we were highly impressed.

The ocean was our least favorite of the many Cancun area resorts we have visited. Beach was great, but the ocean was very murky, lots of rocks and lots of seaweed. The staff tried their best to control the seaweed and keep it cleaned up, but there was a lot and it was everywhere in the water. Felt very much like being at the lake. Pools were great, but the ones that didn't receive sun most or all of the day were very cold. We had a swim up suite, but actually had to use the pool adjacent to our building because the water was so cold. Kinda made paying for the swim up suite pointless. Great wait staff that serviced the pools for drinks all day.

There are a lot of activities, so if you want to stay busy, there are many options from water aerobics, beach volleyball, bingo, nightly shows (be sure to see the Sensuality show), yoga and spanish lessons. There are also areas that are isolated from the action if you just want peace and quiet.

The spa was disappointing compared to other resorts we have been to. The pedicure I received was the worst I have gotten anywhere (states or resorts) and the massage was very average. They did not offer or tell me about the hydrotherapy area of the spa which was supposed to be included for my massage, but I never got to use. Robes were very short to the point that I had to wrap myself in a towel in addition to remain covered.

The staff in the entire resort was very polite and always willing to help with problems or issues. The resort is a bit off the beaten path, but only about 15 minutes away from the airport. We probably would not stay here again, mostly because of the beach/ocean, but would probably be perfectly fine for the average guest.

Room Tip: if you pay for a swim up suite, make sure you get one that has sun most of the day, which will vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indepmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Indepmojo,

Thank you for sharing your overview of your stay through this mean. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improve our service levels.

We are very glad that you liked our resort activities and service one of our specialities is to make your home away from home by making fun activities and providing you the best service in a tropical paradise. We also regret to know you felt that way about our food; our Unlimited Luxury concept and our Professionals Chefs make sure that everything is perfect.

We truly hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just come back from a great vacation at Secrets Silversands. This is our second stay at the Secrets and again we were not disppointed: the property is beautiful and well maintained, rooms large and clean, and the restaurants... it felt like we were on a date at a fine dining restaurant every night during our stay. Most of all, service was "excellente" :) Starting with great service from the atttentive and polite Natalio and Alberto, who always smiles at the World cafe, always ready to help Omar in the main lobby, halarious and accomodating Osman in the Seaside Grill, Estephanie for the great horseshoe games at the beach, to the little invisible cleaning ladies who left rose pattels and little turtes made out of towels on our beds. They are all so wonderful! Thank you to all for a great holiday!

Room Tip: We have chosen Preffered Club just to get the better room. Our room was incredible: Oceanfront room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktoria_Dwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
27.5 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,736 reviews
8.2 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,039 reviews
1.9 km away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.7 km away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
16.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $313 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya/Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing