We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
US$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
US$263
US$178
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$474
US$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$615
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$576
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes Suites(Puerto Morelos)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$621
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,296)
Filter reviews
7,296 results
Traveller rating
3,553
2,431
821
291
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,553
2,431
821
291
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum clubmurphy bedcliff jumpinfinity pooltime shareplatinum servicebedroom suitekids clubconvention centerwater shoesboogie boardsitalian restaurantfamily vacationfire showmain poolmain buffetswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 7,296 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017

This was our first all inclusive resort and we had a great time. The staff were always friendly and the service was excellent!

We were required to take a timeshare presentation. Our representative, Dana was not at all good. She wasted a lot of time with her personal, mindless chit chat. She had us walking from the breakfast, back upstairs to her office, then backtracking across the resort to the display suite, then back upstairs again to the office, in the heat, even though I requested that we minimize the walking. Our appointment was for 8:30 and we arrived on time. We were told it would be 90 min. It was nearly 11:30 when we finally got out of there! They brought out 3 more sales people to pressure us into buying. We were not at all impressed with the condescending, time wasting, unprofessional, high pressured approach of the sales team. This was a very bad start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disappointed to hear our property tour and the meeting with our Sales team led you to have such a bad taste. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Our Management Team has been notified to prevent this unfortunate situation from happening in the future. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Just ended a 7 days here with my wife and 3 Children under ten. Booked through Costco travel. We do about 6 vacations a year similar to this (Some with Children, some without). Overall, satisfied with El Cid.

Hotel
2 stars and 5 stars - It all depends which part of the property you stay in. We initially stayed in the family suites on the old part for the first two days. What a dump. Small, dated, dirty, uncomfortable beds. We then upgraded to a suite in the new part with an ocean view. 5 stars. New, high end, huge balcony, private hot tub, very roomy.

Staff
4 out of 5 stars. All very helpful. Wait staff in bars/restaurants was great. I've been to other resorts that seem to go that extra mile of trying to pamper you, they didnt really have that here. However everyone was friendly and reliable for the most part.

Resort
5 out of 5 stars. Great pools, activities, plenty of bars, ocean views, etc. Very satifisfied

Spa
5 out of 5 stars. Did Hdyrotherapy and couples massage on beach. Can't recommend enough.

Food

1 out of 5 stars. Never came back from an all inclusive without gaining weight. Some of the formal restaurants were average. The buffetts, horrid. Selection is good, but quality is really really lacking.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars. Great place for couples, kids, family. Just make sure you stay at the new part and aren't prepared for great food and you will have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer part
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear guest
It is very kind of you to share your comments with us. Thank you for your visit and for your preference as well as for the kind words you gave to our staff, facilities and your overall stay. On the other hand, we would like to tell you that all your comments are appreciated as an opportunity to improve on the details and offer an even better service. We would love to have the opportunity to receive you again to offer again, the time of your life.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

There were no blue water beaches at the resort. The beach location needs cleaning of rocks and seeweed. I saw white sand beaches everywhere in Cancun but not in front of the resort. I don't know if that's is fixable..

Room Tip: Bugs in the room even after spray.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rommelvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear guest
First of all, I would like to thank you for your review, and for your preference. We are currently working very hard removing rocks from the beach, and cleaning from seaweed twice a day, in order to keep the beach clean and comfortable for our guests. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to have the pleasure to serve you and your family again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The staff, food and entertainment was amazing. I went with my three sisters and we had an absolute blast. They had just opened up the Market eating area, which was a huge hit with almost everyone we talked to. The food was continuously being replaced, keeping it fresh. The service/staff was great, always so friendly and helpful. I felt that the staff were very welcoming and we looked forward to seeing them everyday. There was always something to keep us busy, and the entertainment was inclusive of all ages. Kayaks, boogie boards and sail boats were easily assessable and free of charge. Another advantage to the location of this hotel is the proximity to the marina which offers multiple tours including a catamaran snorkel tour which we took part in and really enjoyed. There is also swimming with the dolphins at the marina which you can watch or pay to join in. We recommend bringing water shoes as the beach is fairly rocky however it was still beautiful to go out and enjoy the ocean. One complaint would be the wifi cost. It was cheaper for us to pay our phone companies and get a plan than to buy wifi from them for even a couple days. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to return! Thank you to all the staff at Marina El Cid for making our stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: Do not pay for the upgrade if they offer you when you check in.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Kayla,
How nice is to read that you had a great stay with the company of your sisters, and that our entertainment staff did a great job offering choices for everyone! It is also wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our recently opened Mercado de Dolores, which is a great experience with lots of tasty choices. Finally, we are glad to read that you had a memorable stay, because that is our main goal.
Hope to see you soon at this, your home El Cid.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Just arrived back from this great resort! There were 9 family members in my group including 2 kids ages 9 & 10. I am giving this place a solid 4.5 out of 5 overall. Nothing really went wrong with our stay, but there was some things that made us say hmmmmm....

First off, I wanna thank some of the staff there that made our stay extra special there. The entertainment staff was fantastic. They encouraged guests to participate in games, water aerobics, and other numerous activities. Special shout out to Augustine, Sergio (RONALDOOOOO), & Diana who always went out of there way to make guests happy! The wait staff and bartenders around the pool were working extra hard as well. Shout out to Oscar, our favourite pool server, Vincente at the pool bar and Oscar the bartender at the hut. Finally Enrique (Mexican Tom Cruise) at the bar in the main buffet was always serving up the tastiest concoctions. Bravo amigo!

We booked the king junior suite with Murphy bed and they located us on the 4th floor in building 19 across from the family pool with the large rock that guests could jump off or slide down. Our room was great and had a beautiful view of the ocean from the balcony. If you decide decide to stay on this side of the resort, make sure you request a room from the 3rd floor and up to get ocean views. Anything below that is garden view. The room was large with the king bed and a queen size Murphy bed. The bathroom had a large stand up shower. The room has a safe, small bar fridge with Superior beer, Tecate beer, coke, coke light, sprite, and tonic water, a 32” Flat screen tv and lots of closet space. All buildings had elevators.

We booked the Mediterranean and Italian restaurant. Both were good. Servings were adequate. The buffet/mall restaurant was nice as well. Great atmosphere, but food was repetitive at times. The buffet at the pool side was excellent with lots of variety daily for lunch. The buffet breakfast by the lobby was great as well. The food was excellent all week long from all the restaurants with a variety to suit all taste buds.

Service overall was good. We had a minor issue with the safe and tv that were dealt with by maintenance quickly. Front desk was informative and accommodating. My sister and her family were upgraded to the same room we had for no extra charge.

The spa here had a great deal available. For $150USD my wife received 50 mins hydrotherapy, 50 mins deep tissue massage and a 25 min facial. She said she had a great experience there and would recommend it to anyone. One of the masseuses will offer the deal while your sitting at the pool side. My wife usually pays $100-$120 for half that at other resorts.

Things that made us go hmmm.... was the same complaint everyone else had with this resort. The wifi was $15USD per day per device or $60USD for 7 days. No free wifi in the lobby or anywhere for that matter. We travel quite a bit and never came across another resort with this issue. All other resorts we’ve been to have wifi free in the lobby and/or cost was significantly cheaper. We are in 2017, I mean you get free wifi in malls and restaurants and anywhere nowadays. Cancun is pretty Americanized. Get with the times El CID!! I know we are on vacation but for us people that require work or family to keep in contact would be nice.

Secondly, our group of 9 had the hardest time tryin to convince the wait staff/ hostess to place tables and chairs together at the buffet restaurants to accommodate our group to sit together for meals. They would not budge. They had these long tables with benches in the buffet that we sat at when they were available but if they weren’t well then forget it, we were sitting at 3 different tables. Lol!

Lastly, the beach was sub par at best. They did a fantastic job of cleaning the seaweed daily off the shoreline. There wasn’t enough palapas and loungers to go around and they were trying to clear the rock off the beach/ shoreline everyday. Not sure why they were trying to clear the rock, as soon as you went 2 feet into the water you were stepping on coral. So bring water shoes. That’s a battle they’ll be fighting for years.

So all in all, what makes this place great is the food, the staff and pools of plenty. Stay away from the timeshare peeps, enjoy the pool with the large rock, lots of excursions to try even though we’ve done them all and tip the staff cause they bust there butts 6 days a week with one day off to make your experience great. Would we come back.... for sure! It was our first time booking with El CID Resorts and it won’t be the last. The value is there for what you get. We’ve stayed at worse resorts for a lot more money. This resort just needs some polishing in certain areas but don’t hesitate to book here!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank 11Cervezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan B, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid, I would like to thank you for your kind review, and for recognizing the friendliness and quality service provide by our staff, which is one of our main assets. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our facilities, and all the details you mention such as the great time your wife had at the Spa. Thank you also for mentioning those details where we can improve to provide an even better service and experience. I will share your comments and greetings with our staff, especially Agustin, Diana, Sergio, Vicente, Oscar and Enrique. It is great to learn that this won’t be your last visit to El Cid, so see you soon!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews