We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad - Things you should definitely know!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 June 2010

So, we are in our 30s and stayed in this resort for 11 days with our 4 year old son. There were definite highlights of the trip, but be warned about some pretty big downsides as well. Depending on what's important to you, some of these could be deal breakers. I'll try to be brief and start with the up-sides.
1. The Kids Club is awesome and the staff was great. My son wanted to go there EVERY day and would have if we'd let him.
2. The beach is great, close to the pool, clean and has plenty of palapas and chairs. You can take out a kayak on your own or someone from the staff will take you on the Hobie Cat Sailboat. We each loved it, but bring $5 because there is a bowl out that says they work mostly for tips...
3. The pool was beautiful with lots of seating - great temp, clean (most of the time but see the downsides too.)
4. The poolside entertainment was really, really great. Entertainment in general was iffy, but they organized fun volleyball games, poolside games, and other things that kept you entertained. I did the water aerobics almost every day and it actually was a great little workout.
5. The beach bar is a gen and the best kept secret - check it out for a lively time. Our son met lots of kids down there and they played in the sand while the parents socialized under the starts. This was a highlight.
6. The staff is very friendly and courteous. They try hard and some do a great job of anticipating your needs. Everyone is hustling.
7. The doctor was awesome, but how do I know that??? See the downsides.....

I can't classify the food as a total upside or downside. You only get to eat at La Marina ONE time, so really you are limited to 3 restaurants for dinners. While the menus do techinically change every night in two of the restaurants, be warned that the BASIS of the foods is the same throughout. Shrimp with Garlic for Mediterranean night, Shrimp with pesto for Italian Night, and then the Mexican restaurant serves Shrimp in two ways also....fundamentally they are the same dish and you will see this kind of patterning in the menu planning so they can conserve their waste. The bottom line is, if variety is important to you, then this is not the place for you. Most of the food we ate was delicious because we like to eat "clean." If your food taste leans you more toward burgers, dogs, fries, pizza, you WILL be disappointed. So, this is a a good segue into the downsides because I did get full-blown food poinsoning on this trip....

1, The one meal we had at La Marina made be sicker than sick....not just Montezuma's, but the kind where you think you are going to die until the doctor shows. Two shots and three prescriptions later, I only lost two days of my vacation. The culprit is that the food safety at the place was sketchy and inconsistent in some ways. I saw a chef handle raw hamburger meat, wipe his hands on a dry towel, and move on to serving people food off the grill. Not good.

2, Platinum Club does not offer much value unless the resort is really busy. The "sushi bar" is not a bar at all, but two platters of sushi that are brought in and placed in the Plat Club room at 4:00 PM where they sit (and sit) unrefrigerated. It was tasteless and mostly cream cheese...when we were brave enough to try it...

3. Our room lacked basic amenities such as an ice bucket, silverware, and a corkscrew, which took an hour for the staff to deliver after we called.

4. Plat Club service is super-inconsistent as well. We only got the newspaper half the time, aromatherapy is so weak that if you are not in the room within 30 minutes of it being placed, you won't enjoy it at all. They forgot to give us our beach bag and sometimes forgot our evening turn down service. Not horrible because they had a nice bar of tequila and premium liquor in the club room, but you have to weigh it out based on the extra cost. We decided that in the slower seasons it is NOT worth the money. During busier times when you need to reserve palapas and reservatiopns in the restaurants are hard to obtain, then maybe.

5. There is a definite downside to the lobby entertainment. The live music does not play for very long and they don't play at all during the poolside entertainment which is a bit controlling. In the resort's efforts to direct traffic toward the entertainment outside, they take away your choices. If you don't feel like sitting outside in the heat with the mosquitos that night, then you will sit in silence in the lobby bar until the band can come back. They don't even pipe in music on some nights. Rather dull and you will see lots of bored, younger couples. If you like to really party and want a variety of entertainment that goes later into the evening - this is NOT the place for you.

6. Bring the bug spray!!! Don not forget, these mosquitos are ankle biters of the worst kind!!

7. In the middle of the week, the pool bar had some kind of back up that overflowed into the pool and the pool's filtration system couldn't get clean for over a day and a half. It was definitely unsanitary (large pools of yellowish brown muck gathering in some areas) but they did not close it. In the US, they probably would have had to. We did not get in, but the beach is nice, so we made the most of it.

I guess I'll close by reiterating that you should really know what you like before you go and consider if this place is a good fit. It wasn't terrible...I would go back if the price was right, but I wouldn't do Plat Club again. And I would not stay for as long because of the lack of variety. Our experience proves true to the inconsistency you will see among the reviews...some days were great and some were bad. Good luck!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberMayHRCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your preference and also for your nice comments and your feedback.
We regret that you got sick the last two days of your stay, in our resort we always offer fresh food with the best quality and the best ingredients but the most important is the food preparation with all the hygiene standards and I would like to comment to you and to all our past and future guests that we never recycle food in our buffets and restaurants.
We are here at your service anytime and thank you for commenting that you will visit us again in a future in this your hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,362 - 5,366 of 6,838 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

We used Best Day airport transfer, the trip was about 15 or 20 minutes, there was only one other couple in the van with us. The driver was knowlegable about the town and and gave good advice and tips. Check in was a breaze, It took maybe 5 minutes, but we also were the only one checking in during that time, we arrive at apporx. 4pm. We were approched about the timeshare but put an end to it before she finshed and was never bother again. The room was spacious and clean. We had a junior suite in bulding 19. We heard the birds late at night and they were loud, but we were never awaken by them. We live in a urban area in St. Louis so we are acustom to hearing noise outside the window. I think if you are from a rural area where it is very quite, you might have a problem with the birds. We never had a problem finding chairs at the pools or the beach, not sure how full the hotel was when we were there though. There were a few spots on the beach were it was rocky, but most spots were fine. I think it is the perfect size too to big or too small. Just big enough where you don't feel crowded, but small enough were we saw some of the same people again and "friendship" formed. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They worked very hard to keep the grounds clean and maintained. The buffet resturants were better than average, we didn't eat at the specialty ones. We used the kids club one day and it was great to get some adult time alone. They have a daily list of activites for the kids so you can pick and chose which you want your kids to attend and all you have to do is sign them in and out. The nightly show they have are good also, the fire show was amazing!! The is a list of activities that take place aroung the resort that is posted by the elevators and they updated it daily. We attempted to walking into town down the beach, but the gate at the end of the beach in town was close when were went so we had to walk back, we met someone on the way back that showed us a short cut though a condo that was on the beach to get us to the main road, anyway it took us an hour or better to finally get into town. We were so tired that after shopping we took a taxi back to the hotel it cost 80 pesos for three of us. The next time we took the collectivo bus that stops right outside the hotel gate and it cost 6 pesos per person and the ride was only about 5 mins.
Overall I would book this hotel again, if just for the service and scenery!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2010

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice and happy vacation in this your resort.
Thank you also for the nice pictures and for all your positive comments that make us to work harder for provide a quality service.
It will be a pleasure to see you again in a near future in this your resort amigos:)
Hasta pronto amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at El Cid. This resort is perfectly sized and staffed. We have stayed at a RIU and an Iberostar. Both of these resorts were enjoyable, but we found El Cid to be superior to both!
When we first arrived, there was an Oriental couple at the check-in desk complaining. This of course made me think,"Great, this is going to be a long week." However, upon hearing there complaint, which was rediculous, and seeing how the young man at the front desk was able to quitely handle the manner, I was quickly reassured.
The food was not the greatest, as is all Mexican resort food, however we will admit that it was the best resort food that we've experienced.
Our room was very nice with an ocean view, it was in building twelve...so we didn't get much bother from the dreaded birds.
THE POOL!!!!!! The pool is without a doubt a blast and a strong asset to this resort. I'm 25 and try to act my age, but had a difficult time being a mature adult...the pool is GREAT!
The strongest asset to the resort is its staff. The employees are the hardest working people that I've seen. There's undoubtedly a bad stigma that we carry about the Mexican community here in the U.S.A., but the staff at El Cid put alot of American workers to shame. We happened to hear a time share salesman tell another couple that the staff makes between 80 and 120 pesos per day, which we all know is roughly $8-$12 U.S.D. per day. WOW!!!!
Listen, i'ma very conservative person and do not like to give tips unless they are earned...These people deserve every tip that is given them and much more!!
Obviously, my wife and i were very impressed by the El Cid resort. I cannot help but give this resort 5 STARS!!
Anyone that might be disturbed by someone's petty review...please do not hesitate to send me an email I will answer your concerns as honestly as possible!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awccwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Dear Guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your awesome review and for choosing our resort.
We are so glad that you and your wife had a nice and relaxed vacation in this your resort.
Thank you also for your nice comments regarding to the food but mainly thank you very much for complimenting our hard working staff for their efforts to satisfy to our guests in every manner that they can.
It will be a privilege to serve you and your wife again in a near future in this your resort.
Muchas gracias y buena suerte!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at El Cid Marina from May 8-15th in a two bedroom suite. Overall, this is a great resort for family and kids. It is a small resort so it is easy walk to get around. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly. We loved the amenities the resort offered and kids (two 5 year old twin boys) had a fabulous time both in the pool and the kids' club.

Room - The room is the largest we ever stayed in our life. There were two decent sized bedrooms, three bathrooms, a large living room, dining and kitchen area. There were two fridge with water, soft drinks filled up each day. All the two bedroom suites in this resort have ocean view so that is a great feature. There is a sitting area outside of all three rooms (bedrooms and living room) and directly to the beach.

Food - food overall is decent although we got tired of eating all you can eat style three times a day. Well, you just have to control yourself. There are three specialty restaurant: Mediterranean is our favorite, food is prepared in the top quality and everything is comparable to the fancy restaurant in the states. Seafood one food is good however it was too hot inside, there is no AC or fan. It was almost unbearable to us to have the wine and eat there. Mexican one is just average. You will find many more better Mexican restaurants in the states. We were a little surprised that Mexican food doesn't taste that great in this resort since we were in Mexico. The last one is the buffet restaurant. Food is decent for the first few days, it does get old when you eat there everyday for breakfast and lunch because many dishes are repeated. Specialty restaurants are only served for dinner.

Service/Amenities - great pool and bars. Kids love the pool. There is a big pool and a kiddy pool. The big pool is only 3 feet deep so even non-swimmer can play in it too. There are several bars in the resort, very friendly bartenders. The resort also offers free bike riding around the resort and kayaking/sailing boat. We did the bike tour from 4-5PM to Puerto Morelos and it was a lot of fun. We saw other people on the kayak and sail boat and they are all free to guests. The beach area is very nice and clean. Resort crew cleaned the beach every morning. The kids club onsite is free to guests from 9am-9pm with different activities scheduled daily. My boys loved to stay there several hours a day. They did swimming, beach sports, art crafts, singing/dancing....

Cons - The biggest complain we had was the loud noise from the room AC and the ceiling fan. The AC is very loud even the fan is set to low and the ceiling fan makes noise every turn. I couldn't sleep through the whole night for the entire 7 days stay. We didn't have the bird noise in our #15 building.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulus_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear friends from California:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice vacation in this your resort.
We will immediatly check the room that you were in to fix the air conditioning and the celling fan.
I would like to comment that we are working on the instalation of the A/C in our Marina restaurant and it will be ready in a few months.
Thank you again for your nice review and for your feedback, it will be a pleasure to serve you and your family again in a near future.
Muchisisimas gracias amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Traveled with two small kids and found the one-bedroom suite to be entirely adequate...roomy, modern, and very clean. The pool was the highlight here! Super clean, very large, nice kiddie pool, plus a waterslide and "cliff" jump. Beautiful grounds with a smaller resort feel.

The kids club was a big hit with our 4 yr old. Great staff....friendly and engaging. Lots of good ideas for them to do.

Biggest complaint was the food and wait staff. Ate at all the restaurants..reservation and buffet, and never once had anything that can truly be described as "tasty." Filling, but really needed improvement.

The beach is very nice, good for kids.

One really nice feature was the roving photographer from whom you could purchase candid shots of the family at the end of the day. Definitely recommend!

Overall a nice, quiet vacation for families, especially those with small kids.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MominMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear friends from Mexico:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your nice comments and for your past stay in this your hotel.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice and quality time with us.
Since last December some of our menus already changed we look forward for your opinion in your next visit.
Thank you for sharing your review in this site and for your feedback that is like solid gold for us.
Esperamos verlos nuevamente muy pronto:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.8 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,247 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
935 reviews
6.1 km away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#14 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
11,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
12,823 reviews
5.6 km away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,586 reviews
36.5 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $282 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing