We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
121
71
11
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
71
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging bed walk into town junior suite fresh fruit self serve breakfast lower room visiting puerto morelos constant breeze single bed beach hotel small fridge peace and quiet every morning main building lot of seaweed hammocks cereal
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This is a perfect spot to stay in Puerto Morelos. It is just outside of town- a short walk or bicycle ride or if you prefer a 50 peso cab ride. It is located right on the water and there was always a pleasant breeze. The rooms are all air conditioned- a nice feature to enjoy after a day at the beach. With an incredible staff and management as well, this turned out to be a terrific 3 week stay! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antknee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in the junior suite. To be honest I felt an immediate disappointment when I saw the property.
The view on the beach looks at a working port which is ugly and noisy but from our room itself the view did improved.

The sunbeds on the beach had no cushions and the whole area looked tired and tatty.
Our room was the same.
I find it frustrating when simple things aren't taken care of.
With a little TLC and a lick of paint, new towels and bedding this could be a much better place to stay.

We had a loud cluncking noise that continued throughout the night in our first two nights.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and did try to sort out the noise but for two nights we did not sleep very well.
The air conditioning unit has a really bright light coming from the number of the temperature making the room light.
Sleeping was a problem.

The shower is water coming from a real shell which is a sweet design but doesn't make for a great shower.

The breakfast system was very good. You cook your own. There was plenty of fresh fruit and various breads and eggs to cook, there was a great choice.
This was the best part of the hotel.
The atmosphere at Sakol needs to be more cheerful. Breakfast is good but nobody talks.
It's all a bit depressing...sorry.

The local town is a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute walk. The town itself has a nice atmosphere and has many good places to eat.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank debsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakolPuertoMorelos, Manager at Rancho Sak-Ol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to review and give us your input. We wish you could have enjoyed your time here more, and we will take the things you’ve mentioned under consideration as we are a new administration always looking to improve. We’d also like to respond to some of your points here.

First of all, we are located in “Puerto Morelos.” “Puerto” literally means “port” in Spanish so we don’t believe it should not come as a surprise that there is a working port in the town. That said, except under rare circumstances, the port is only active (with ships loading and unloading) one day per week. Some of our guests even enjoy watching the ships come in and out on that day as the rest of the week there is not much movement along the beach (we are located in a secluded area where you will find few tourists on the beach other than our guests).

Our view, however, is not primarily of a port. Our view is primarily of a secluded beach as the port is located over 300 meters to our north. That said, we do feature pictures of the port prominently on our website — it’s actually the first picture in our gallery (both on our former website which was active when you reserved as well as on our newer website). We also make sure to include photos of the views of from each room so guests know what to expect. As you mentioned, the view from the Junior Suite is not of the port, and it is represented on our website and promotional photos very accurately.

As for the loud clunking noise, we wish we could have remedied the situation, but unfortunately, this was the first time this noise has ever been mentioned to us and we could not locate the source of the noise during your visit. We’ve had several guests visit the Junior Suite since your visit, and no one has mentioned the noise so far. In any case we will continue to investigate the issue.

Regarding the air conditioning, the remote control does have a button labeled “LED” that does disable the light on the system. We wish you would have brought this to our attention during you stay because we would have been able to remedy this situation very quickly and to have made your stay a little bit more pleasant.

We must also mention that the air conditioning in the Junior Suite is actually brand new. At the new time you reserved, air conditioning was actually not advertised as included in this room at all as it had no air conditioning, but as we are a new administration, we have been gradually making improvements to the facilities including installing or replacing air conditioners in all of our rooms. We also replaced all the cantina-style bathroom doors with full length doors in the fall as our guests requested more privacy.

The recommendations you make regarding towels and bedding are also on our list of upgrades (we actually purchased new towels and bedding for the Junior Suite prior to your visit and will look into if perhaps there was a mixup with our cleaning staff using older linens). Regarding the paint, the interior of the Junior Suite was repainted in November, and we are currently in the process of repainting our exterior, but unfortunately we have experienced some delays due to wind and rain.

As for the atmosphere at Sak-Ol needing to be more “cheerful” and your comment that “nobody talks”…our guests’ experience is going to be very dependent on the week they visit us and the steps they take themselves with regard to interacting with others. We receive guests from all over the world from different cultures. Some weeks guests make fast friends with each other, and other weeks guests prefer to keep to themselves. The design of Sak-Ol itself which includes a communal kitchen and palapa area encourages potential interaction between our guests (it’s very easy to start a conversation with another guest just by offering to share a beer or a serving of a meal you’ve cooked). However, as many of our guests are also more reserved, we, as staff, prefer to do let our guests find their own way rather overtly pushing our guests to interact. One of the main ideas of Sak-Ol (and one which we will continue to promote as a new administration) has been to let our guests make their vacation their own…whether that means spending time hanging around the palapa, chatting with other guests, and taking advantage of the space as a “home-away-from-home” or using the Rancho more us a homebase from which to explore the area.

Best regards,
Rancho Sak-Ol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Away from the mass-tourism, probably the only place along the coast, where you can eat breakfast alone without any tourist in front of the ocean! Very nice staff, good rooms, we absolutely loved it! Any time again!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mjgoali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week in Nov. the staff was excellent and the hotel was very nice, clean and relaxing. The beach was beautiful but bring water shoes if you want to go in the water (rocks). Better beaches are near. It was fun to borrow the bikes and ride into town. The breakfast was extensive and plentiful. All in all it was a great trip and I would definitely stay at RanchoSakOl again.
Loved loved loved the hammocks

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

...especially if you're avoiding the busy tourist life of Cancun and Playa de Carmen, Puerto Morelos is the right place for you! The town is small, charming, and welcoming.. Same can be said for Rancho Sak-Ol. It's small and clean and really close to the beach. You wake up to the sounds of the waves! The make-it-yourself breakfast is offered in a quaint little kitchen. Wonderful experience! A highlight: the swaying bed in some of the Pascal (it puts you out like a candle!)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenyaM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews