We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
24
29
3
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
29
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flush toilets sand dollar beach running water would stay here again the big sur coast each morning fire pit hosts sites drought highway camping sinks restrooms trees california ocean
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We head here for a long weekend at least 3 times a year. Campground is open with sloping sites, its dry camping with flush toilets and water available. Great spot for stargazing at night. Kids love it as there is a beautiful beach right across the street, Sand Dollar, and some hiking close by. Reserve early as it fills up fast even during the winter.

Stayed: February 2018
3  Thank kazmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Really friendly, helpful and enthusiastic hosts made staying here extra special. It's a beautiful campground with great facilities and as private as you want it to be. Really enjoyed being here. There are toilets allocated to each space and tap with water, great fire pits and BBQ pit, all situated in a the stunning state park. Hard to find fault.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kailayates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This campground is on the online reservation system, so plan ahead or hope to get lucky. I did get lucky, snagged 2 nights with no reservation, and it was one of the best campground experiences I have had in years.

Large campsites, with tables and bbq's and firepits. Flush toilet bathrooms, although no running water sinks in bathrooms there are outside faucets in several locations around the campground. No showers... but you an swim in the ocean instead!

Easy walk to day use picnic area with trail down to a lovely beach, as well as walking path along the top of the bluffs overlooking the ocean, just across Highway 1 from the campground. Amazing sunrise and sunset location, with owls hooting in the trees at night and a wonderful night sky.

Very affordable, forest service campgrounds are half the price of state campgrounds, they're great. Campground hosts were amazing, friendly helpful, wonderful people.

I would stay here again for sure, highly recommend it for others.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed three nights at Plaskett Campground mid-September. The wife-and-husband host team was fantastic. We discovered that a campground host really can make such a big impact!

Throughout our stay, the grounds were incredibly clean (bathrooms included) and well maintained. Our hosts checked in and made sure we had everything we needed, and after our stay they gave us the courage we needed to make the scary drive back home seem doable (Naciemento Road. Terrifying).

The campground itself seems like a great place for families. First of all, it's very quiet (unlike party campgrounds. Pfiefer Big Sir I'm looking at you). It's not too large, but it has enough space for kids to run around. It's set back just behind highway 1, across the hwy from a fantastic beach. Beach access is fairly easy too: it's just a short walk down a slightly declined dirt path and then a couple flights of stairs.

The campground has real flushing toilets but no showers. Not a dealbreaker. Also, the bathroom sinks near our site were not working. We encountered some raccoons (actually they encountered us) but that's typical in Big Sur.

I'll definitely be coming back to Plaskett Campground. Thank you for the great stay, kind hosts!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at Plaskett Creek Campground over the Labor Day holiday and We had the luck to meet Miranda and Bobby McGhee as the camp Hosts, and they are awesome! We have camped at Plaskett for past 30 years and they are the best hosts we have come across! , They are friendly, helpful, knowledgable, they keep the place really clean which is hard to do in the woods! They were able to fit us in on a walk-up basis even though we had to move from site to site for just one nite, we where happy to have a spot! They have tons of wood for purchase as well. They always had a smile on their faces, they are living the dream and they helped up do that too! We will definitely be back, hopefully not on Nacimento Road though!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsDenton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews