We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$975
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Sur Lodge(Big Sur)
US$309
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$3,250
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lucia Lodge(Big Sur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
19
45
22
30
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
45
22
30
50
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

As with many others, driving from the North it was about 40 miles until finally coming across this little gem. I was thankful there was a room. And it was awesome to wake up, open the door and see the ocean across the street. (It was very dark when we arrived.)

It is an ages property so you can't expect 5-star perfection. But for a coastal stop it was old school PCH at its best.

I enjoy this type of stop as it gives you a little taste of the past, the way things were before the cookie cutter hotels started to pop up everywhere.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, so ask for an end room if they have one available to avoid noise on both sides. We had room 5, best one.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lanamamaomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This property's unique location and scenic views don't come cheap. It is clean but has very basic rooms without televisions and dated bathrooms .Travelers beware that if you are stuck in this big Sur area on highway one it is going to cost you an arm and a leg for everything you touch.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were driving down the Highway 1 and had been driving a while. It was dark and we had no cell service to check any reviews on the place or to see how far it was until the next hotel..... Its a good job we stopped as it would have been a while. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms, it was clean and a nice pleasant place to stay. The staff were kind and polite. It was certainly a relaxing experience. The only reason I've refrained from giving this a higher star, is they know how to charge. I think we paid out $300 all together for the room, supper and a breakfast and that was before we paid fuel. Still, if its the only place for miles, I suppose they know people will pay it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped on our way northbound to Monterey for a quick coffee break and stretch our legs. Its a very pretty and quaint spot on the route but I don't recommend that you plan to refuel here unless it is absolutely necessary as the fuel was $7 a gallon!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank ADXBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The site includes about a dozen of cottages , a small store, a gas station and a restaurant. The cottages we stayed in were clean, with basic furniture. The kitchens were inconsistent across cottages. For example, one had s large fridge but no stove. Plates and silverware were scarce. Several of the cottages have beautiful ocean view. The WiFi provided is extremely weak to nonexistent.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews