We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Driving down the California coast we were thankful this place had cabins available as they are the last place before the winding road if it is dark this is a place to stay for sure very clean and friendly staff

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

As with many others, driving from the North it was about 40 miles until finally coming across this little gem. I was thankful there was a room. And it was awesome to wake up, open the door and see the ocean across the street. (It was very dark when we arrived.)

It is an ages property so you can't expect 5-star perfection. But for a coastal stop it was old school PCH at its best.

I enjoy this type of stop as it gives you a little taste of the past, the way things were before the cookie cutter hotels started to pop up everywhere.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, so ask for an end room if they have one available to avoid noise on both sides. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lanamamaomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This property's unique location and scenic views don't come cheap. It is clean but has very basic rooms without televisions and dated bathrooms .Travelers beware that if you are stuck in this big Sur area on highway one it is going to cost you an arm and a leg for everything you touch.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were driving down the Highway 1 and had been driving a while. It was dark and we had no cell service to check any reviews on the place or to see how far it was until the next hotel..... Its a good job we stopped as it would have been a while. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms, it was clean and a nice pleasant place to stay. The staff were kind and polite. It was certainly a relaxing experience. The only reason I've refrained from giving this a higher star, is they know how to charge. I think we paid out $300 all together for the room, supper and a breakfast and that was before we paid fuel. Still, if its the only place for miles, I suppose they know people will pay it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped on our way northbound to Monterey for a quick coffee break and stretch our legs. Its a very pretty and quaint spot on the route but I don't recommend that you plan to refuel here unless it is absolutely necessary as the fuel was $7 a gallon!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank ADXBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
47.9 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,162 reviews
47.4 km away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
53.5 km away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
50.8 km away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
555 reviews
51.8 km away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing