We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food w good souvenirs ”

Byrkjedalstunet Lys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lysstøperiet er et sted rikt på opplevelse. Lokalene er særegne, der første del av lysstøperiet bærer preg av at det engang har vært et gammelt ysteri. I lysstøperiet finner en et stort utvalg av egenproduserte lys i alle fasonger og farger i tillegg til spennende interiørartikler, suvenirer, trevarer, ullvarer, steiner og mineraler, kortreist mat fra lokale småskalaprodusenter, julevarer og mye mer.
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Fun place to go. Clean. Nice rest rooms. Found the cheapest sweaters here than anywhere else we've been. High quality souvenirs.

Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrkjedalstunet-as, Kundeansvarlig at Byrkjedalstunet Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback.
// Henrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sour cream"
in 2 reviews
"rest rooms"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 2 reviews
"candles"
in 5 reviews
"jam"
in 2 reviews
"factory"
in 4 reviews
"sheep"
in 2 reviews
"goats"
in 2 reviews
"cave"
in 2 reviews
"stavanger"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2015

Found this little place coming from Stavanger. Its a great stop before tackling the local water falls and hiking trails. It has a cool candle shop and a really nice restaurant with water fresh from the well. There''s also a cave restaurant and some small traditional norwegian build chalets to stay in if you fancy it. Definitely check this place out if you hire a car!

Thank Obstencible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrkjedalstunet-as, Kundeansvarlig at Byrkjedalstunet Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback.
// Henrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

What a wonderful shop and café/restaurant. The shop was our first stop as unfortunately it was near closing time. I could have spent half a day in that shop! It's full of beautiful things. In the little time I had, I bought a beautiful Norwegian jumper, candles, etc! After this we went into the restaurant and enjoyed a delicious home cooked meal.
When leaving make sure you visit GLOPPEDALSURA, just up the road - it consists of an avalanche of boulders.

Thank susistocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrkjedalstunet-as, Kundeansvarlig at Byrkjedalstunet Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback.
// Henrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Crowded but nice, a rich variety of things to buy in the shop and very good coffee. Nice place but not so easy to find a parking space, maybe because we went there on a sunday in the autumn-vacation in Norway..

Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrkjedalstunet-as, Kundeansvarlig at Byrkjedalstunet Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback.
// Henrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We started out in Stavanger and headed out of town on E39. We turned east on 45 toward Oltedal. The drive was beautiful and the weather was gorgeous! We detoured to Frafjord to see the camps. It was a worthwhile stop (bathroom break). The scenery was like being in a movie.....just so picturess ! We than headed to Manafossen Falls. It said 1/2 hour climb to the top which is very steep. Don't attempt this on a rainy day! It was well worth the climb. The waterfalls were breathtaking! It took us an hour and 10 minutes up and down with time to catch our breath and pictures. We headed towards Byrkjedal to have lunch at Byrkjedalstunet. The stop provided a very good plate and delicious ice cream. The store seemed to go on forever with lots of treasures to look at. Back on 503 towards Vikesa. We stumbled upon Magma Geopark. It was a nice surprise.....very interesting. I should mention the roads were narrow (almost one lane) and no other cars. It was again gorgeous scenery! We headed back north on E39. Our last stop before home was Figgio factory. This was the only disappointment of the day! They wanted 500 knk for a tour and we found nothing exciting in the store we had to have! We felt it was all very over priced. We could get the same in Ikea for a lot less! We ended back in Stavanger after an 7 hour trip. We highly recommend this drive if you have the time.

2  Thank neverhome_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrkjedalstunet-as, Kundeansvarlig at Byrkjedalstunet Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback.
// Henrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byrkjedalstunet Lys also viewed

Gjesdal Municipality, Rogaland
Gjesdal Municipality, Rogaland
 
Frafjord, Gjesdal Municipality
Forsand Municipality, Rogaland
 

Been to Byrkjedalstunet Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing