We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Yelf's Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
    US$101
    US$91
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 25% below average rates

    The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Royal Esplanade Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
    US$95
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    US$88
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 12% below average rates

    The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Ivy Hall(Wootton)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (400)
    Filter reviews
    400 results
    Traveller rating
    271
    79
    22
    17
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    271
    79
    22
    17
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbay lodgehot tubpremier lodgetesco expressbedroom lodgeboard gameswashing up liquidfantastic lodgewine coolerwasher dryershingle beachisle of wighton arrivalprivate beachmain bathroomwelcome packdecking area
    Filter
    Updating list...
    32 - 37 of 400 reviews
    Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

    A week at Woodside Bay Retreat was so peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful lodges and surroundings and regular visits from the red squirells for the nuts that can be purchased at reception. Plenty of birds as well. Only fault was that lodge 83 has an oak tree growing over the lodge and if you have the skylights open in the bathrooms etc debris from the tree falls into the sinks and baths. Also restricts the sun on the veranda.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank Pat B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    wooodsidebay, Front Office Manager at Woodside Coastal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and were pleased to hear that you managed to see the red squirrels. We hope that you return in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 June 2018

    We came back to this site hoping for another lovely week but what a shame. This time there were large drunk and rowdy groups on several nights partying very loudly into the early hours. Such a shame as it could be really lovely here. We rang reception but there's no one on at night and when you call the out of hours number they say they'll come in 20 minutes as they're not on site. We felt sorry for the families with little children particularly although no one wants to lie in bed listening to people effing and blinding, shouting and screaming. It's really put us off coming back.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    1  Thank Maria V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    wooodsidebay, Front Office Manager at Woodside Coastal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were sorry to hear that you encountered noise issues whilst here. Because of the nature of our site it is very rare that we have any noise complaints, however any issues like this our on call team will always come out.We do hope that you return in the future to what is usually a very quiet relaxed park.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 June 2018

    What a lovely relaxing retreat.
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave.
    Staff were very friendly , parking outside our lodge and very quiet.
    Easy to tour if you should wish to.
    Would definitely like to return.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank Judy D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    wooodsidebay, Front Office Manager at Woodside Coastal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed tour stay so much.
    We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

    What a great time we had at Woodside Coastal Retreat, a great central location near to ferries from both Fishbourne and East Cowes. Our family spent 4 nights in Lodge 77 which was a 4 bedroom premier lodge with a hot tub, with distant views across the Solent.

    We had 2 ensuite bathrooms in addition to a main bathroom which included a full size bath. Beds were very comfortable and lodge fully equipped with hairdryer, iron / board and washer dryer. Kitchen had everything you needed, large Smeg fridge freezer and dishwasher which was useful.

    Surrounded by trees and natural wildlife including red squirrels, it was a place of calmness and serenity which was appreciated by all. The lodge was well equipped, very comfortable for a family of eight. We also explored the beach which was accessible from the lower end of the site. The bar and restaurant on-site were welcome additions with a small gym and spa offering a range of treatments also available. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and informative.

    The local Wootton high street has easy access to a large Tesco express supermarket and a range of takeaways including fish & chips, Indian and Chinese.

    There are no on-site facilities like play areas as such for entertaining youngsters, but we understood this before booking and fully accepted this.

    We needed to visit reception after check-in to obtain further towels for our party as only two had been provided. We also didn’t have any towel robes which I understand are supposed to have been provided.

    Some areas of the lodge looked as if they needed a good deep clean but generally not too bad.

    These lodges are fairly expensive and having booked a premier quality lodge I would have expected to be given early access to the lodge. 4pm is the standard arrival time which I think is too late specifically for parties paying for a premier lodge. I would suggest 2pm for premier lodges. Check out is strictly 10am.

    Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Woodside Coastal Retreat. A relaxing venue to re-charge your batteries in high quality accommodation.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    Thank sgh1975
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    wooodsidebay, Front Office Manager at Woodside Coastal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely informative review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities of the lodge and that you got to see the red squirrels. Your comments regarding an earlier check in will be passed on. We look forward to seeing you back soon at Woodside.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2018

    Beautiful setting, staff lovely and friendly especially Caren on reception , Lodges very comfortable and clean , we booked for a week but extended for a further 2 days , moved lodges which we were still really happy with , the only downside and why such a low score is because after moving to the 2nd lodge and on the last night we noticed rats running across the foot paths between the lodges , I understand it is a country side setting but rats are unacceptable. And this has put us off returning in September..

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    1  Thank Christian A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    wooodsidebay, Front Office Manager at Woodside Coastal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and was pleased to hear that you loved the surroundings and our staff .

    As you mentioned we are located in woods & surrounded by wildlife which include our famous red squirrels.

    We take all feedback seriously and can assure you we have a pest control scheme in place & have reported accordingly your concern of a sighting.

    We do hope you do return & enjoy future stays with us.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews