We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just yummy icecream ”

Daintree Ice Cream Company
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Diwan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Description: Ice cream like you've never had before! We specialise in tropical fruit gelato and sorbet made on site with fruit grown in our own orchard. Try our famous 'sample cup' which features 4 delicious flavours that change daily and is guaranteed to include something you've never tried before. We also offer a free “Self Guided Orchard Walk" so visitors can learn about and see the fruit they are eating. This interpretive activity helps connect people with their food and allows them to follow its journey from field to cup. Disclaimer: We do not sell ordinary flavours (e.g vanilla) - we are all about helping visitors explore the weird and wonderful world of exotic fruit ice cream! Gluten/dairy free and vegan options available.
Restaurant details
Description: Ice cream like you've never had before! We specialise in tropical fruit gelato and sorbet made on site with fruit grown in our own orchard. Try our famous 'sample cup' which features 4 delicious flavours that change daily and is guaranteed to include something you've never tried before. We also offer a free “Self Guided Orchard Walk" so visitors can learn about and see the fruit they are eating. This interpretive activity helps connect people with their food and allows them to follow its journey from field to cup. Disclaimer: We do not sell ordinary flavours (e.g vanilla) - we are all about helping visitors explore the weird and wonderful world of exotic fruit ice cream! Gluten/dairy free and vegan options available.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and i really enjoyed the exceptionally tasty icecream. It was wonderful to try exotic flavours we had not ever heard of . We particularly enjoyed wondering around the orchard while we ate our icecream looking at all the different trees. There is also a lot of information about the different fruits which is fascinating.

Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem250, Sales and Marketing at Daintree Ice Cream Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Janet,
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed wandering the orchard as well as the ice cream.
Warm regards
Narelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

Really good ice cream with flavors we never heard of. Don't miss a stroll through the orchard so that you can see what all the fruits look like.

Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem250, Sales and Marketing at Daintree Ice Cream Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we do love to hear when a visitor tastes tropical fruit ice cream they have never heard of, let alone tried in just the fruit form. Especially when they also say it is amazing!
Regards
Narelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

It was a fun stop after exploring and hiking the Daintree Rainforest all day. The ice cream place is right off the main road and easy to find.

The Daintree ice cream is all natural, home made and delicious. And while their brochure lists many different ice creams, there is only four to choose from on a given day. It depends what fruit is in season. Our family loves ice cream and found it to be some of the best tasting in the world.

The location is stunningly beautiful and picturesque! There are tables to sit and eat the ice cream in the garden area and orchards.

We walked around the orchard to see the very large variety of fruit trees. It was interesting too see all the different types of trees. We were surprised to see our favorite dragon fruit came from a cactus. There is a map to follow.

A very unique and beautiful stop to have mouth watering ice cream.

We wanted to order more to eat but were too full!

Thank pcacossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem250, Sales and Marketing at Daintree Ice Cream Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, our Signature 4 Flavour Cup and taking a wander of the farm. We are especially pleased to read you had the opportunity to see one of your favourite fruits growing.
FYI if you need another fix of Daintree Ice Cream, take home tubs are available at the Wavelength shop at The Reef Marina in Port Douglas
Regards
Narelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

After a long day of driving I was looking forward to a nice break. The area was beautifully landscaped with easy parking and the fruit trees were interesting to see. However when it came time to order ice cream, it was disappointing that there was no choice. On offer is a small tub of four flavours of the day for $7.50 (cash only) and despite only wanting one flavour and one scoop, it was all four or nothing. On the day I visited it was coconut, passionfruit (with seeds), wattle seed and black sapote.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem250, Sales and Marketing at Daintree Ice Cream Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Carolyn,
We are sorry our Signature 4 Flavour Cup was a bit too much for you but would like to note we do offer homemade sorbet and gelato sticks for those with smaller appetites.
We also are not offended if people choose to share a Signature Cup, however as I have found with my husband, sometimes someone gets the raw end of that deal!
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Regards
Narelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We found this tropical orchard /Ice creamery last week when we were in Daintree Forrest., OMG flavours are out of this world!! Never in my life I thought I will like tropical ice cream until I tried it . Please even if you are not sure just try & I guarantee you will fall in love with it

1  Thank nishirehana1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem250, Sales and Marketing at Daintree Ice Cream Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

I love this review! You are our favourite type of visitor, someone who is not sure but jumps right in and has the time of their life. Thank you so much for sharing your visit with us.
Regards
Narelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree Ice Cream Company also viewed

Daintree, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Ice Cream Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing