We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit”
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Price range: US$8 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bulls Head is the perfect place for a relaxing drink, meal or get away in the peak district. We pride ourselves on serving fresh homemade food sourced from local suppliers and outstanding service in beautiful surroundings. We offer a fantastic range of draught lagers, bottled ciders, real ales and a fine selection of wines and gins.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having just moved to the area we were keen to try the restaurant we had heard such good things about. We were not disappointed I must say. The duck liver parfait was beautiful and the chicken in bun was equally nice. We went on a Tuesday when they only do the bar menu so gives us another excuse to visit again for the full a la care menu..
I do have one complaint though, it’s going to cost me a fortune if you keep up this level of standard….
Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 490StephenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First weekend of reopening since government restrictions and we took advantage of booking Sunday lunch at this local hostelry. The restaurant was busy with many families and couples but the service was efficient and friendly. Staff were observing strict hygiene protocols during service and were frequently gelling their hands and all wore masks.
The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Overall a wonderful and reassuring first trip out for over a year.
Thank you to Chef Patron Mark Aisthorpe and his wonderful staff for a most enjoyable and tasty meal.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Leadminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took too long between courses even appreciating it's all cooked fresh. Lemon sole main was so small! The tart with it was the size of a £2 coin and it was what they served as a canapé earlier, two asparagus spears finished the fish. It was not piping hot but we had waited so long we were to hungry to complain.
The cheese board was really good and presentation lovely.
We had white then red wine and when we asked for new glasses we were ignored so we had to use the white ones.
They charged for food we did not have and we waited 30 mins for the new bill.
Feel let down with what should have been a really nice meal according to the reviews on their website.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Jaykee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my husband visited tonight for our first date night in over 8 months.

We did travel 30 minutes to get there and weren’t disappointed with our food.
Our dishes were wonderful and staff where really very friendly all be it you could see there still a little nervous with being back and work.

Service was a little slow and you can see there are teething issues with serving but staff are just getting back on there feet after such a long time off due to the pandemic.

People do need to be understanding of this before wanting to complain about service being slow.

We really did enjoy ourselves and will be sure to visit again in the future.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 906kirstif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two Sunday dinners with pork for takeout today were excellent. Very tasty and the gravy is divine thats why we like a pot each .
Will be coming to.dine inside very soon

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank judes1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again soon.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.