We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great relaxing break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great relaxing break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is a few miles north of Shrewsbury which is only a ten miles drive. I would much prefer to be outside of the town centre and to have a nice countryside view.
An efficient check in at the hotel and we were allocated a superior twin room in the newer extension which was large, modern and clean. Breakfasts on both mornings were tasty with lots of choice.
The pool and spa are great. Only one gripe, it would be great if the hotel could put signs up to remind people to show before using the pool!!! Almost every person seen getting into the pool was bone dry. Not very hygienic.
Some were even coming straight from the sauna into the pool.
In summary a great stay and I would recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer extension for a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don90Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    575
    262
    106
    71
See reviews for
264
907
45
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good peacefull location in beautiful grounds.all was good except hotel restaurant staff mixed up the dinner reservation for 16 people and were quite rude when asked to change the arrangement. Also noted that the poor quality table wine was exactly the same as sold in the local ALDI 1 mile away but at 6 times the price! Beat that holiday Inn!

Strange to find that wifi was not available in the hotel. for one or two nights i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Chhose the bigger rooms overlooking rear gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyboy273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments as we appreciate all feedback. I will look into the points you raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

what a truly marvellous stay. The staff were first class and truly welcoming nothing was too much trouble, Our room number 20, was spacious and spotless.
Our breakfasts on both days of our stay were excellent, with such a marvellous choice including bresola, delicious chesses and locally made preserves, what a pity some other hoteliers do not follow this excellent standard.


Dinner too was excellent , each course was perfectly cooked and served in an elegant manner. Again our waiting staff were to be commended,and were genuinely keen to please, and it was evident that they had been professionally trained as befitting a 4 star hotel, and they clearly took pride on their good service

The exotic spa is a real must, not to be missed,
The views too of the elegant grounds and srroundimg countyside really enhanced our stay

If you feel that you deserve a treat, then this really is the hotel for you. We can't wait to book again

Room Tip: Ask for number 20 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I will of course pass on your lovely comments to the staff. It is always a pleasure to receive lovely comments from valued customers. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a junior suite in the new extension overlooking the garden and pond. The room was very big and modern . We had a afternoon in the spa which was very nice and relaxing. Only downside was only got checked in about 4pm as the room wasn't cleaned was provided with free drink whilst we waited though ! Bar is very expensive 9 pound for pint and glass of wine. Shrewsbury was a lovely town had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed with my 3 year old daughter and parents and enjoyed wonderful time in swimming pool. Had good meal in the bar, although quite expensive.
Family room was very spacious although i had requested that my parents be on the same floor as us. Apparently this wasn't possible.
Overall would recommend to others - think we were lucky to pay £54 for the room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louinthechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
The Staff and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been part of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
5.9 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
5.6 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
12.9 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.8 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price range (per night): $141 - $259
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing