We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #5 of 7 Somoto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There's cockroaches falling from the roof in the middle of the night, only to land on your pillow with no covers, the sheets are clearly used since there's other peoples hair in it, there's moths all over the ground. The shower is a drain that wets you, that's about it. It's the worst hotel. I slept for an hour because I spent the rest of the night dodging the flying cockroaches.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit952000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall the actual hotel isn't too bad. The room is sufficient and comfortable if you can get it for the reduced price. We first went to Hotel Panamericano as this was recommended to us however $12 US p/p was out of our price range so we went to Hotel Colonial. After showing us a room the guys at reception told us the price of $20 US for the room but then asked us if we were going to do a canyon tour as they could discount the room to $12 US if we booked the tour through them. We hadn't seen any other accommodation options in town so decided we would stay here. While filling out our details the receptionists were asking which tour we wanted and when we asked if we could think about it they stated that we needed decide right away as we were getting a discounted rate for the room on the proviso that we booked a tour through them. It felt quite forced but the prices quoted for the tour were comparable to those we had seen elsewhere. The tour itself was quite disappointing as it was not as long as we had paid for (see my review for Somoto Canyon) but the hotel reception and management did not want to assist us when we raised our concerns over not getting what we paid for - they told us it was a problem with the guide however we had paid them and not the guide directly. There was a couple on our tour who also stayed at this hotel for the discounted rate however they organised the tour themselves using the reception telephone and paid $10 US less p/p. If staying at this hotel and booking a tour, make sure it is clear exactly what you are paying for and that everyone on your tour is doing the same number of hours you have paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fancy looking but very dirty and pricey place. The sheets on the bed were smelly and obviously not washed. As we wanted to get fresh ones, there were no available clean sheets in the whole hotel! So we demanded to change the room - what a shock that the sheets were used in every single room... The receptionist refused to call the owner or give us the money back. We slept on our towels. When we demanded our money back in the morning the owner of the place just said that the sheets are clean and no refund is possible.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

good location and large room but that is where the positives stop

hassled about canyon tours before we had even checked in
room smelt strongly of bleach but bathroom needed a good scrub, lice crawling everywhere in tiles etc and ground in dirt on shower, sink, shelves. Didn't feel comfortable putting anything down on surfaces
bed uncomfortable,could feel every spring, sheets didn't fit bed so had to sleep in sleeping bag liners
people knocking loudly on each other's doors several times during the night - 2am, 5am, plus shouting a few times through the night
breakfast included was ok
bar area was vast and drinks supposedly on offer but no one in it and no staff to be found
we negotiated a lower rate than they initially asked for which is it's only saving grace for us!

Try Hotel el Portal del Angel. We went for a drink and food next door and hotel looked much better than Colonial

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Hotel Colonial was a pleasant place to stay considering there aren't many places available in Somoto. The staff was very friendly and extra-helpful. The room is small but clean enough. One thing though, the breakfast is not great at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Media cuadra al Sur del reloj, junto al Parque Central, Somoto, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Madriz Department > Somoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somoto
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing