We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Colonial hotel in the centre of Somoto town, great trip too!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #5 of 7 Somoto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed at this old colonial hotel in Somoto for 2 nights. It was great fun, the people were very friend and accommodating and we booked our overnight Somoto canyon tour via this hotel as well, which was awesome. The price of the hotel is good and breakfast was included. We checked in at 1 am, which was no problem which was so nice. Overall, great stay, pretty hostel with nice garden and I can recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JuantjeQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three night. Very pleasant stay. Free breakfast is really well prepared. Also booked my Caynon Tour here. Was very well arranged. Had a very good time at Hotel Colonial. This place suits all audiences.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SuitKees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Good location, but that's all that was good about this place.

Poor rooms, we changed 3 of them until we got to stay in a decent one, the water in the bathroom wasn't working at all, we couldn't even go to the toilet, nor taking a shower.

Fortunately, we only had to spend there one night, as we were there only for the Somoto canyon trip.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adina Valentina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I traveled to Somoto for the first time and our group originally reserved this hotel. Upon arrival our group leader told us that everything except for the upcoming lunch was canceled and that we would stay in another hotel due to the substandard of Hotel Colonial. The rooms were dirty, there were no toiletries, the towels had not been changed nor had some of the sheets been laundered. Luckily we changed hotels. Unfortunately the lunch that we still ate at the hotel was still planned. Aside from the gutter system flooding the restaurant floors we, a group of 20 people ate food that was under cooked and RAW. 8 people had raw chicken and had to ask for another plate. The waiter did not apologize and the owner never came out to apologize. This had to be the most disgusting meal I have had in my entire life and it was not a good start to my first visit to Somoto.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank lombardomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There's cockroaches falling from the roof in the middle of the night, only to land on your pillow with no covers, the sheets are clearly used since there's other peoples hair in it, there's moths all over the ground. The shower is a drain that wets you, that's about it. It's the worst hotel. I slept for an hour because I spent the rest of the night dodging the flying cockroaches.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit952000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Media cuadra al Sur del reloj, junto al Parque Central, Somoto, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Madriz Department > Somoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somoto
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing