We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service ”

Wellington Hotel Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here whilst travelling the Northumberland area. Been to many chef and brewers as we often use Tesco vouchers.

When we sat down I told them we were using Tesco vouchers and from then in the service was terrible. The restaurants was quiet so don’t understand why It took so long for somebody to come and take our order. The food came quite quickly however we were going to order deserts but it took so long for someone to take our plates away we didn’t have time.

As the restaurant was so quiet i can only think we had this service because we were using Tesco vouchers. Never had this before in and chef and brewer the service has always been good.

The food however was very nice.

Thank ManchesterMegmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Im sorry that the service you received wasn't up to our usual standards. Unfortunately we had some maintainence issues which impacted our ability to give our usual high level of service. However I am glad you enjoyed your meal and can assure you that in no way was your expierence impaced by the fact you were paying with Tesco vouchers as this is not a cost to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

I gave my e-mail address some time ago and took advantage of a discount offer received as a result. We had rump steaks that were cooked as we asked, the chips were fresh and crispy. We kept away from the toilet area where there is an unpleasant smell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We have an ongoing problem with drainage from time to time and i can only apologise for this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We had been put off going back to the Wellington due to recent negative reviews. However we received an offer and an emailadvising that it was under new management. So we went for dinner this week. We were given a very warm welcome and great attention during our meal. The food was delicious and we stayed for dessert. Would definitely recommend a visit. Well done to the new management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Staff were friendly, new management seem faultless. Nothing was a problem, our visit was brilliant both food and drinks were sublime will definitely be back for the next family birthday!

Thank Ren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley review. We look forwatd to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here on mother's day with my family and although we didn't book a table the lovely mangeress managed to squeeze us in despite clearly being very busy! Our Sunday lunch was lovely and despite being rushed off their feet the service was very efficient! Everyone had a smile on their face and nothing was too much trouble! I personally like a nice glass of wine but my husband loved the great range of local ales. We will most definatly be returning, thank you all for a lovely mothers day

Thank Stacey-dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Wellington Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing