We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
371
152
52
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
152
52
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night seafood enjoyed our stay beautiful hotel lovely experience special property direct access to the sea special treat rocky beach rocks napoleon fortress terrace wines ancona forest
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile


Forte napoleione
This old fort was refurbished to an hotel. Very fancy vey high level. Is worth to look on booking or TripAdvisor deals. But do it. Is a one time experience. Service is excellent. Rooms are very nice and the ambient fantastic. Privet beach parking and garden. Pets are allowed as well!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank stevenmG6565FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Fortino Napoleonico is located in one of Conero's most beautiful spots.
It is an old fort built in 1811, retains many original features and has a lot of character.
The staff both in the hotel and restaurant are friendly, polite and courteous.
Our suite was spacious and nicely decorated.
The food at the restaurant was delicious and original.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pantelireis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Overall, we would've mostly enjoyed our stay here had it not been spoiled by an incident at the end. Located on a headland at sea level, the hotel is secluded but not as isolated as some reviews indicate. There is a campsite next door and a few bars and restaurants on the shingle beach the other side. Rooms are spacious with good bathrooms, but being an old fort means you can feel a bit too enclosed. There's a garden and terrace area, but no interior public space like a lounge. No pool but you can swim in the sea - except it's a bit choppier than the beaches as headlands are exposed. Our main disappointment was the lack of sympathy shown when we became ill with food poisoning on the last night, and since we'd been there 3 nights on a dinner B+B package, it is likely they were to blame. All the food is fish (ok, we like it) but I'd now say don't eat the raw swordfish - huge portion - like we both did and both got ill. Marinating doesn't kill bacteria, just slows them until they warm up in your gut. Sushi is tiny amounts, which I've eaten before and was ok. But I was ill for literally weeks, ruining the rest of our holiday and according to my GP that's likely bacterial, not viral as the hotel claimed. They kicked us out our room, nowhere to lie down, just a hard chair outside a few yards from the only public loo there.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, no views, all ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

With friends we went to Portonovo for one night and decided to stay at Fortino Napoleonico. This was an excellent choice. Staff both at the recepetion and the wine bar were friendly and very competent, real professionals. The room were fine and the service as expected. The location is special and we appreciated a lot. A very nice breakfast and the direct access to the sea is a special asset. And in addiiton ot that, we got a really good price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucasZinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Wonderful hotel, food was excellent, comfortable room, beautiful surroundings and very quiet. Loved every minute of our stay at Fortino Napoleonico. Would recommend to bring swimming shoes next time to be able to go for a swim in the sea

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank marzenaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews