We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Accipicchia(Portonovo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Carpinella(Portonovo)(Great Value!)
US$146
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Emilia(Portonovo)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
97
107
75
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
107
75
25
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Good breakfast, Concierge An. Atencious staff. Very Good cost / Benefits. Near Beach and Good sea View.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfabiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is in an excellent position in the centre of the Riviera Del Conero. Rooms are clean and comfortable with the family rooms being of a nice size, however rooms witout balconies are small and face staight onto the side of the mountain making them dull and clostraphobic. The staff are always attentive and whilst breakfast is just a small continental buffet, it can be eaten outside in the courtyard and the cappuccinos are to die for. The pool area has been virtually deserted every time we have visited and it feels as though you have your own private pool and bar. Overall the location and staff are excellent, the rooms and decore are clean but nothing special, the pool is lovely but the hotel, like many in Italy is pricey. Definately eat out at the local fish restaurants on the beach, Anna's and Marcello's are especially good or for a cheaper option head up the mountain to Rosso Conero or inland 20 minutes to the best of all Il Gallo Bianco near Offagna.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mogul_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Because the Greek ferries were on strike again, we found ourselves stranded in Ancona for two days. Following the advice of a very helpful young man at the ANEK booking office we drove out to Portonovo and stumbled across the Excelsior Hotel La Fonte. This proved to be a fortunate find as the setting and location is wonderful. Helpful staff soon had us settled into a clean, cool and nicely funished room. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained with tennis courts and pool on offer. A short walk through woods to the beach is well worth the effort. By day the bars offer simple refreshment but at night tables and chairs are brought out onto the sands and a wealth of seafood dishes are available in a most beautiful setting. OK not part of the plan on our drive to Crete but if I drove that route again I would have no hesitation in a couple of days stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Been in La Fonte in July 2009 for three nights for a Wedding. The reception was held at the more prestigious Fortino Napoleonico, which is 200 yards away. For this reason we chose the Hotel La Fonte and we were satisfied.
The beatiful beach of Portonovo ia also very close so you can walk to the beach avoiding to use the car (which is very convenient given at 10 AM there is no parking available anymore).
The hotel is good, it has a nice garden, a pool with a pool bar, tennis and it's inserted in a very green area.
The room are pretty average and can be noisy as the hotel is close to a small road (we had to change our room). Service is good only because people are helpful but is more close to a family ran hotel than to the 4 star hotel (that is what you are being charged for).
All in all it was a good experience, but considering we paid 200 Eur per night (already discounted for the Wedding) and considering there are quite a number of "agriturismo" very nice and cheap in the area you might consider the option.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. The hotel is small, but the rooms are clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. However, the bathroom was not brilliant, the shower tended to flood the bathroom floor. When we first arrived at the pool we thought it was nice and shaded with trees and a small bar. However, by the afternoon it was crowded with families from a nearby campsite. We drove to a nearby beach for the rest of the holiday. The restaurant in the hotel was closed in the evening but we could book into the restaurant of the sister hotel (Hotel Napoleana) which was absolutely amazing. We had a table overlooking the sea, wonderful fresh food, and reasonably priced. We went to this restaurant twice but wish we had gone more times! The Excelsior hotel is in a good location, a short walk from some lovely restaurants on the beach. Overall we had a nice relaxing break and I would always recommend Italy as it is the best for food and people!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews