We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel La Fonte
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portonovo
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed on a B and B basis as we were visiting friends. The breakfast was buffet style and suited everyone. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and English was spoken by mos, although we were the only English people there. The pool was beautiful and there were plenty of sun beds. It is only a short, flat walk to the beach, which is very scenic. I particularly liked walking past the small lake to see the turtles and dragonflies. You will probably need a car to visit the Marche sights as there aren't any easy ways of getting around otherwise.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank N0llid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I spent 10 days travelling around Italy, and this hotel was by far the most spectacular.

It is set against the most beautiful backdrop of mountains, with the ocean just a short walk away.

The staff were friendly, rooms clean and furbished with airconditioning and balconies overlooking the terraces and mountains.

We lounged by the most beautiful pool while sipping on cocktails.

The nearby beaches are fantastic and the restaurants great.

I will definitely return to this hotel - only for much longer next time.

A must-visit!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ané-Carien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Helpful service and good breakfast . But the room , 222, was very noisy , roadside and some kind of generator directly outside the window working all the time. Irritating! On the positive side, beach just 5 minutes walk and conero bus linea 94 stops just 50 meters from the hotel, final destination Portonovo baia.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Nice environment great location old type of rooms friendly staff large meeting room right place to make meetings as the terrace is next to the meeting room to get fresh air And beach is so close you can walk.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank Bino Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosanna R, Direttore at Excelsior Hotel La Fonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Thank you Mr Bino for your reviews. Hoping to count you among our guests and in our beautiful Bay of Portonovo, we send our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

we found ourselves with an extra day in Ancona without any accommodation booked. Found this hotel on last minute bookings had no real idea what it was going to be like so thought we would give it a try.
Initially it was like being a faulty towers episode with a receptionist that spoke no English, a hotel room that had the smallest shower I have ever seen let alone used and I could hear my neighbours talking for most of the night.
The beach was nice and handy only a few minuets walk
Loved the swimming pool and lounge chairs, but make sure you get you ticket at reception for your swim cap and towel prior to going to the pool otherwise it can be a very long conversation to explain the situation.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portonovo
0.4 km away
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
#1 of 4 in Portonovo
477 reviews
9.2 km away
SeePort Hotel
SeePort Hotel
#3 of 18 in Ancona
444 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#2 of 4 in Portonovo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#3 of 4 in Portonovo
243 reviews
7.5 km away
Grand Hotel Passetto
Grand Hotel Passetto
#8 of 18 in Ancona
344 reviews
9.4 km away
Grand Hotel Palace Ancona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel La Fonte

Address: Via Poggio, 160, 60129 Portonovo, Ancona, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Ancona > Portonovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portonovo
Price Range: $129 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Hotel La Fonte 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Excelsior La Fonte Ancona hotel anconaIN PORTONOVO, A BEAUTIFUL 4 STARS HOTEL Inside Portonovo's bay, in the magnificient green of Conero's Natural Park where the mountain descend gradually into the sea, like a beatiful jewel perform with his white mediterranean style the Excelsior Hotel La Fonte. Open terraces with falls of flowers and beautiful waterworks reminding the origin of this beautiful place are the most natural "welcome" to our guests. An oasis of quite near the beach suitable for your holidays or to celebrate the most important days of your life and where meetings and congresses became more profitable thank to a really pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel La Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing