We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in a great hidden location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Slaley, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sab57Derb...
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a great hidden location”
Reviewed 1 September 2020 for a stay in August 2020

The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable. Great care had been taken to follow the Covid guidelines.

The owner lives next door and is extremely helpful , but as others have said - not intrusive.

We are frequent visitors to Northumberland and usually stay near the coast. However the scenery close to the farm is outstanding and a drive up to Allenheads is highly recommended. The cottage is also close to Hexham and Corbridge for shopping and cafes. Our grandchildren enjoyed the great play park at the Derwent Reservoir visitor centre.

We also saw red squirrels - a first for us.

A great week and a great find.

Date of stay: August 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide3613...
1 review
“lovely place for a holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2020 for a stay in August 2020

Moorgair is a lovely spot for a family holiday to discover Hexham and surrounding areas. The accommodation is great for a family. It is quiet and tranquil. Lots of local places to see and visit. We highly recommend Moorgair for your holiday booking.

Date of stay: August 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark p
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Country Cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

My partner and I had a wonderful week based here a 15 minutes drive from Hexham. Glorious setting adjacent to a farm. Lots of wildlife to see including bats and hares. The cottage was very clean on arrival and the owner provided additional sanitisers. The cottage is very well equipped and has a good sized bathroom with a bath/shower. The kitchen area is small but well laid out. I think this place is ideal for two adults plus two children. Would be a little cramped for more than two adults. You can walk to the local pub in 20 minutes and it has a restaurant attached. Close to enough attractions to make it an ideal base for exploring This part of Northumbria.
Great host who was helpful but not intrusive. We hope to return in the future.

Date of stay: July 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect peace and quiet”
Reviewed 19 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

Just returned from a week's stay at Moorgair Cottage. It was exactly what we needed. It is in a peaceful and very pretty spot but within easy driving distance to Hexham and other nearby attractions (Corbridge Roman remains and Dilston Physic garden both open and definitely worth a visit). We just wanted somewhere to relax and to enjoy some walks and little trips out. This place was perfect. Despite Covid19, the cottage is very well equipped and had everything we needed, (the kitchen is tiny but I managed to cook a roast dinner in it no problem!). The cottage was also spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The owner, Gordon, and his Partner Catherine were lovely - very helpful and even offered the opportunity to meet the resident alpacas on our last day which was a real treat. We also enjoyed a day out to High Force waterfall (actually the Low Force waterfall that you see on the walk to High Force is prettier). Overall, a really enjoyable and relaxing week and excellent value for money.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meander57...
2 reviews
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 14 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

Picture this. Trapped at home for months on end, at the mercy of circumstance. Having no luck securing a property anywhere and having given up hope. Then, a well timed phone call from Gordon saves the day. Needless to say, we as a family had a terrific time at Moorgair cottage. A tranquil abode in a serene and dramatic landscape. A happy place in a very unique part of England, with its own distinct identity. I think it's fair to say we will return.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.