We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cosy Cottage!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Slaley, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Venture56...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Cosy Cottage!”
Reviewed 25 January 2022 for a stay in January 2022
1
person found this review helpful

Set in a perfect, quiet location, Moorgair is a really lovely cottage. It has everything you need, without a lot of clutter, and is extremely cosy and comfortable. A lot of thought has gone in to making this a great place to stay, whether you are couples, or a family with all the extras you might need. It is incredibly clean - and looks like it's just come on the holiday market!
The host, Gordon, was so helpful and nice to communicate with, from the initial enquiry and booking, and definately whilst we were there. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: January 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren C
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 10 November 2021 for a stay in November 2021

Such a great spot, we loved Northumberland and Moorgair was a great home base while explored all the beautiful spots close by.

Date of stay: November 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra C
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 10 November 2021 for a stay in October 2021

This was the 3rd time we’d stayed in Gordon’s gorgeous cottage, and yet again it didn’t disappoint. A clean, cosy home from home, Gordon keeps it pristine. It’s a perfect base to relax and recharge and forget about life for a while. Hexham is a beautiful place to walk, eat and shop, even as we did take part in the Tyne Green parkrun! Slaley community pub is a real gem too and just a brisk walk or short drive away, Sunday lunch is a must and a great way to start your holiday at Moorgair.
Already booked up for stay number 4.

Date of stay: October 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HenBlaidd
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, tranquil, beautiful”
Reviewed 27 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021

I can only reiterate what has gone before - fantastically presented cottage in a stunning location. Gordon and Catherine are attentive without being overbearing and will help out in any way they can - just knock and they will be there! This was our second stay and (needless to say) it will not be our last. In fact, we have already booked next year!

Date of stay: August 2021
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
641rubic
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely well-equipped cottage in beautiful tranquil location”
Reviewed 22 June 2021 for a stay in June 2021
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I spent a week at Moorgair in June 21. The cottage is a delightful place to stay, the owners have achieved a good balance between modern functionality, e.g. the well-equipped fitted kitchen and bathroom, and more traditional furnishings although not old-fashioned. We appreciated the many touches that make a big difference like tissues in every room; plenty of spare bags for the rubbish bins; plenty of hand-gel and other Covid-safe supplies; large duvets; good quality towels, linen, fixtures and fittings; attractive ornaments without cluttering the place.
I slept in the twin room and as I walked in after a long hot drive it was a great pleasure to see the soft pastel harmonious colours. There was plenty of room to store my clothes, the bed was very comfortable and I appreciated that the quilt cover was a double or king, certainly bigger than a single so none of the usual problems of it falling off or me waking up with a cold back. The sound proofing seemed good as when my friend stayed up to watch TV I couldn’t hear it.
Moorgair is in a beautiful tranquil rural location, surrounded by fields and trees. The cottage itself is private with it’s own garden and outdoor furniture. I believe the owners operate a working farm so there are cattle, sheep and other animals in the fields from time to time – nice for a townie. It is well placed for visiting many of the charming villages, towns and cities in the North East as well as attractions such as Hadrian’s Wall and for walking.
The owner lives next door and as other reviews have remarked was always polite and very helpful but never intrusive.
It was a delight to stay at Moorgair. My friend and I consider ourselves fortunate to have found it and would be very pleased to recommend it.
Thank you for providing such a lovely place and for being such nice hosts.

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.