We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best self catering we've been to? Quite...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Slaley, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

GABRutlan...
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best self catering we've been to? Quite probably”
Reviewed 24 October 2022 for a stay in October 2022
1
person found this review helpful

Moorgair is the cosiest, cleanest and best equipped holiday cottage we've been to, and we've been to quite a few over the years. It is equipped with good quality appliances, the finish of the decor is immaculate and is spotlessly clean (okay, I admit it. I did run my finger across the top of the door frame- no dust at all) - there has been a lot of attention to detail to get this place spot-on. Gordon, the owner is friendly and approachable and lives next door, so is easily on hand should there be a problem, but on the other hand he is in no way obtrusive.

The cottage is on a quiet country lane, but the local attractions are within easy reach. Even on the one day of our visit when the weather was just too dismal to venture out, we were quite comfortable and content to just sit and chat; even though there is an excellent range of books, games and dvds to explore.

All in all we had a wonderful week at Moorgair - thank you Gordon (and Dory, Bentley and the alpacas)

Date of stay: October 2022
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture56...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Cosy Cottage!”
Reviewed 25 January 2022 for a stay in January 2022
1
person found this review helpful

Set in a perfect, quiet location, Moorgair is a really lovely cottage. It has everything you need, without a lot of clutter, and is extremely cosy and comfortable. A lot of thought has gone in to making this a great place to stay, whether you are couples, or a family with all the extras you might need. It is incredibly clean - and looks like it's just come on the holiday market!
The host, Gordon, was so helpful and nice to communicate with, from the initial enquiry and booking, and definately whilst we were there. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: January 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren C
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 10 November 2021 for a stay in November 2021

Such a great spot, we loved Northumberland and Moorgair was a great home base while explored all the beautiful spots close by.

Date of stay: November 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra C
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 10 November 2021 for a stay in October 2021

This was the 3rd time we’d stayed in Gordon’s gorgeous cottage, and yet again it didn’t disappoint. A clean, cosy home from home, Gordon keeps it pristine. It’s a perfect base to relax and recharge and forget about life for a while. Hexham is a beautiful place to walk, eat and shop, even as we did take part in the Tyne Green parkrun! Slaley community pub is a real gem too and just a brisk walk or short drive away, Sunday lunch is a must and a great way to start your holiday at Moorgair.
Already booked up for stay number 4.

Date of stay: October 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HenBlaidd
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, tranquil, beautiful”
Reviewed 27 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021

I can only reiterate what has gone before - fantastically presented cottage in a stunning location. Gordon and Catherine are attentive without being overbearing and will help out in any way they can - just knock and they will be there! This was our second stay and (needless to say) it will not be our last. In fact, we have already booked next year!

Date of stay: August 2021
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.