We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant night near Market Harborough”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoke Albany B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent one night in Room 1 last Friday evening. The accommodation is in an adjacent stable type single storey block, attached to the pub. We were concerned that there would be noise at closing time, as the rooms are adjacent to the car park, but we did not hear anything and all was peaceful.
The room was tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and pleasant spacious bathroom. The shower was over the bath but decent. Nice toiletries were provided with good size towels. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room plus bottles of still and sparkling water.
We had dinner in the pub's restaurant which was nicely decorated - a mixed seafood/smoked salmon starter platter to share, then fish and chips and a duck noodle dish for mains. The food was nice if not amazing.
Breakfast which was available in the same restaurant area, was a little disappointing. There was a nice cold selection of juices, fruit, cereals etc to help ourselves from, and we ordered full English and a vegetarian English from the nice breakfast menu. These plates looked lovely when they came, but were a little let down by the cooking. The meat sausage was well done on the outside which would have been fine, but it was also really dried out on the inside, as if it had been under a heat lamp for 3 days. The scrambled egg was also an odd powdery texture, and the tomatoes were underdone - we like them to be cooked through and soft. So a bit of a let down although nicely presented. Tasty black pudding though.
Overall a nice stay and we enjoyed our short visit. WiFi is available in the rooms and in the pub. If you're a visitor to the area, we would also recommend a visit to the nearby Foxton Locks, which we enjoyed a walk around in the warm sunshine next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2015

I was visiting a friend in the area and suggested I should stay the night so I could enjoy myself and I'm so glad that I did I had a room only basis what a beautiful room so clean spacious with a beautiful very comfortable bed and an amazing shower plentiful toiletries which included cotton pads and buds toothbrush and paste a razor with shaving foam shoeshine and sewing kit even disposable takeaway cups with lids if you wanted to take a hot drink with you the room includes a safe and an iron and ironing board I really was impressed with so much attention to detail and so much effort being put into the accommodation and the pub the food was also amazing in the restaurant too lovely staff and a lovely friendly couple that own the pub a job well done thank you again

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcguigancatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Visiting on work, the soft glow from the windows of this perfect country pub makes you feel as though you're coming home (a rare feeling for a frequent business traveller). I really thought this pub was excellent value for money with friendly staff, good food and good beer. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Twenty of us pre booked Sunday lunch from a specially prepared menu and we were not disappointed...all our meals were of excellent quality, served hot and without fuss. Lucinda and her team took good care of us and we had a wonderful time.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Tess58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Excellent food. Beers are kept perfectly. Wide variety of both wines and spirits. Bedrooms are very very comfortable. Large car park. Off the beaten track little hard to find but well worth the journey when you arrive.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1 to 3 if possible. The others look over another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 1 Harborough Road, Stoke Albany LE16 8PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stoke Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Albany
Price Range: $141 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing