We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant night near Market Harborough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoke Albany B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“A pleasant night near Market Harborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent one night in Room 1 last Friday evening. The accommodation is in an adjacent stable type single storey block, attached to the pub. We were concerned that there would be noise at closing time, as the rooms are adjacent to the car park, but we did not hear anything and all was peaceful.
The room was tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and pleasant spacious bathroom. The shower was over the bath but decent. Nice toiletries were provided with good size towels. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room plus bottles of still and sparkling water.
We had dinner in the pub's restaurant which was nicely decorated - a mixed seafood/smoked salmon starter platter to share, then fish and chips and a duck noodle dish for mains. The food was nice if not amazing.
Breakfast which was available in the same restaurant area, was a little disappointing. There was a nice cold selection of juices, fruit, cereals etc to help ourselves from, and we ordered full English and a vegetarian English from the nice breakfast menu. These plates looked lovely when they came, but were a little let down by the cooking. The meat sausage was well done on the outside which would have been fine, but it was also really dried out on the inside, as if it had been under a heat lamp for 3 days. The scrambled egg was also an odd powdery texture, and the tomatoes were underdone - we like them to be cooked through and soft. So a bit of a let down although nicely presented. Tasty black pudding though.
Overall a nice stay and we enjoyed our short visit. WiFi is available in the rooms and in the pub. If you're a visitor to the area, we would also recommend a visit to the nearby Foxton Locks, which we enjoyed a walk around in the warm sunshine next morning.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
20
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2015

I was visiting a friend in the area and suggested I should stay the night so I could enjoy myself and I'm so glad that I did I had a room only basis what a beautiful room so clean spacious with a beautiful very comfortable bed and an amazing shower plentiful toiletries which included cotton pads and buds toothbrush and paste a razor with shaving foam shoeshine and sewing kit even disposable takeaway cups with lids if you wanted to take a hot drink with you the room includes a safe and an iron and ironing board I really was impressed with so much attention to detail and so much effort being put into the accommodation and the pub the food was also amazing in the restaurant too lovely staff and a lovely friendly couple that own the pub a job well done thank you again

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcguigancatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2015

Visiting on work, the soft glow from the windows of this perfect country pub makes you feel as though you're coming home (a rare feeling for a frequent business traveller). I really thought this pub was excellent value for money with friendly staff, good food and good beer. Brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2015

Twenty of us pre booked Sunday lunch from a specially prepared menu and we were not disappointed...all our meals were of excellent quality, served hot and without fuss. Lucinda and her team took good care of us and we had a wonderful time.

Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2015

Excellent food. Beers are kept perfectly. Wide variety of both wines and spirits. Bedrooms are very very comfortable. Large car park. Off the beaten track little hard to find but well worth the journey when you arrive.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1 to 3 if possible. The others look over another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Albany
5.8 km away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
7.4 km away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
7.7 km away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#2 of 6 in Corby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.9 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 1 Harborough Road, Stoke Albany LE16 8PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stoke Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Albany
Price range (per night): $131 - $180
Hotel Class:4 star — White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing