We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Enjoyable stay, room was fantastic. Gym and restaurant on the premises. Service by reception, upon arrival, was excellent; was given a map upon arrival and shown where the supermarkets, shops etc. were, and how to get there. Also very helpful with providing information i.e. bus timetable for bus to airport etc. Housekeeping did a very good job. Location is fantastic, very close to attractions, Canberra Centre, Casino, Hellenic Club and many coffee shops, bars and restaurants. Bus stop right outside property, which makes it easy to catch tour bus to see attractions, i.e. Parliament House, The Mint, Museums etc, and bus stop for bus to airport only five minute walk. Was well looked after.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiP425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Many thanks for your review and positive comments about Mantra on Northbourne. I can assure you that we will be sharing the review with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    572
    276
    85
    57
See reviews for
388
331
80
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in this Mantra twice in the last two years. I love Mantra, and generally choose to stay with them when I travel domestically. Mantra Northbourne is great in terms of its location. It's within walking distance to Canberra Centre, and quite a few nice eat-out about. But the rooms are a bit dated, and quite up to the standard I was after. I was there last year for the Paris Arts exhibition and this year for the Renaissance exhibition. Booked one-bedroom both times, and the difference from last year to this year is obvious. There is nothing hugely wrong about it, but it just looks a bit dull and may require a face lift.
About reservation: Despite the fact that I like Mantra, I hate their reservation centre. Very unhelpful, and the cancellation policy is hidious. I always booked through booking.com or wotif.com and get much better deals.
About car park: I think maybe Canberra is quieter during the weekend than weekdays. We never had issues with getting a car park. It is first come first served. And I always wonder whether we'll still get parking on return every time we drive out. hmm...
Breakfast: very average. sausage and baked beans, scramble eggs, bacons. It's all right if you are too lazy to walk 2 mins to McDonald's next door. Much better value there I would say.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOONSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Many thanks for your review, your feedback is certainly appreciated along with your positive comments about the Mantra brand. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and turn a good experience into a great one.

Kind regards,
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw, australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

don't know how this hotel gets a 4 star rating with this kind of parking arrangement. when i arrived about 8 pm on a Saturday night (prebooked and pre-paid) I was (un)helpfully told by the receptionist that there was no parking available as it had all been taken by guests attending a function in the restaurant.I would have to drive around the back streets of canberra at night, a woman on my own, and find a spot somewhere.
When i pointed out I hadn't been to canberra before she (un)helpfully waved her hand in the direction of the back of the hotel, not even a street map was offered. I ended up driving around for quite some time as the street parking was all full, and ended up somewhere 2 blocks away and had to make my way back in the dark. I was terrified. The recepionist also (un)helpfully told me the function guests would probably be gone by 11pm so I could go and get my car then and return it to the carpark! I'd noticed similar comments about lack of parking from other reviewers but didn't appreciate how bad it was. I guess if they can get their $12 for each space several times in a day management is happy but it is hopeless for overnight guests. Lugging bags for two blocks in the night, and thank goodness it wasn't raining, never again.

Yes the rooms are dated, it's noisy, bathroom mouldy, at least no fire alarms for us. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Many thanks for your review as we do certainly appreciate feedback, both positive and constructive. Although disppointing to hear of your experience, I would like to speak with you personally about it, as although our car park can get full at peak times, this particular weekend was an extreme one, with the Multi Cultural festival being held in the city centre. This in turn caused serious parking issues around the city fringes, however, we are certainly making improvements on how we communicate this going forward.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It was a spur of the moment decision to visit Canberra for the weekend(cricket washout).
We stopped at the Canberra Information Centre and ask if they have any accommodation specials. They booked us into the Mantra at 1030 (very good rate plus an upgrade) and we were in the room by 1100.
The Mantra is very close to all the city attractions and shops.
There fitness centre and pool are OK for a quick workout.
We didn't need to eat all day after the great breakfast.
We are looking forward to returning next month.

Room Tip: Drop into the Canberra Information Centre and ask if they have any accommodation specials. Bus stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevebargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments and taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodation and facilities here at Mantra on Northbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

we recently took a trip to the ACT Canberra and forgot how quiet it was especially on the week end ,very clean and welcoming place ,looked at Parliment house and surrounds , tent city leaves wondering what all the fuss is about but thats only me. Went to dinner at a fabulous Italian restuarant called Belle Avista in Belconnen ,traditional food at reasonable price . Got lost returning home ,if i had kept going the wrong way would have ended up in Melbourne not Sydney. For a good week end try it

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in Canberra and enjopyed your stay with us at the Mantra on Northbourne!
We hope to welcome you back when you're next in Canberra!

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,245 reviews
0.3 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,570 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.3 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): $131 - $338
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing