We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Gallery of Australia
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience National Gallery of Australia
Reviews (3,334)
Filter reviews
3,334 results
Traveller rating
2,124
915
218
53
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,124
915
218
53
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue poles sculpture garden national gallery australian art pollock modern art audio tour permanent collection on display great exhibition worth a visit few hours gift shop couple of hours free entry great place to visit visiting canberra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,334 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This stunning Gallery is the best place to take a walk through history, admiring beautiful masterpieces from the past four hundred years. Van Gogh, Cezanne, and Monet on walls beside Gainsborough, Turner and Dutch masters from the 17th century. What an impressive collection from London’s National Gallery.
My only negative comment is the fact that a couple of hundred elderly people had to shiver in the cold outside until exactly 10am when the doors opened. Surely staff could let us in a bit earlier, as they were all there at ~9.45am.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent exhibition and extremely popular. Some of the great works from the National Gallery London.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank gazrglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved the Botticelli to Van Gogh exhibition ... so many well known and wonderful paintings ... so much fascinating information to read...the whole experience was intense, but uplifting. Staff were very helpful and we appreciated the effective DYI locker system for storing our jackets, scarves etc. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Saw the current exhibition- Botticelli to Van Gogh and was AMAZING . Have seen other exhibitions in the past and all great. The best is apart from the paid exhibitions there is so much else to see in the Gallery that is free. Well worth taking a few hours to wander through- and don't forget to take a walk outside by the lake- amazing outside sculptures that I am sure many miss.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank julief459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our tickets on line for the Van Gogh and Botticelli exhibition which excellent with many favourite paintings from the National Gallery London. Going during the week is ideal to stop the queue .
The downside was the cafe as it was under a tent and the there was no variety of food.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank teresa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews